This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Trying to build kde-baseapps over kdelibs Frameworks on QT5

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
Hi.

I am trying to build kde-baseapps after building kde frameworks sucessfuly over QT 5. I install extra-cmake-modules as well as Cmake 2.8.9.

This is on a Kubuntu 12.10 system.

Is this an issue with extra-cmake-modules, or is there someother dependancy I need to build?

Thanks!

This is the error I get:
Code: Select all
CMake Warning at /opt/share/cmake/modules/FindKDE4Internal.cmake:405 (find_package):
  By not providing "FindQt5Transitional.cmake" in CMAKE_MODULE_PATH this
  project has asked CMake to find a package configuration file provided by
  "Qt5Transitional", but CMake did not find one.

  Could not find a package configuration file provided by "Qt5Transitional"
  with any of the following names:

    Qt5TransitionalConfig.cmake
    qt5transitional-config.cmake

  Add the installation prefix of "Qt5Transitional" to CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH or
  set "Qt5Transitional_DIR" to a directory containing one of the above files.
  If "Qt5Transitional" provides a separate development package or SDK, be
  sure it has been installed.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /opt/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindKDE4.cmake:95 (FIND_PACKAGE)
  CMakeLists.txt:9 (find_package)


-- Found Perl: /usr/bin/perl (found version "5.14.2")
-- KDE4 not found, because Qt4 was not found
-- Found Strigi: /usr/lib/libstreams.so
-- Found ZLIB: /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libz.so (found version "1.2.7")
-- Looking for getpeereid
-- Looking for getpeereid - not found
-- Looking for statvfs
-- Looking for statvfs - found
CMake Error at lib/konq/favicons/CMakeLists.txt:3 (qt4_add_dbus_adaptor):
  Unknown CMake command "qt4_add_dbus_adaptor".


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
make: *** No rule to make target `install'.  Stop.
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
Any ideas? I can't find much on qt4_add_dbus_adaptor or Qt5TransitionalConfig.cmake
User avatar
šumski
Registered Member
Posts
106
Karma
1
OS
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
šumski wrote:Did you followed instructions here?
http://community.kde.org/Frameworks/Building


kdelibs Frameworks builds. I'm trying to build kde-baseapps around it now, and I get that error.
User avatar
ivan
KDE Developer
Posts
918
Karma
14
OS
As far as I know, baseapps are not (like most of other parts of kde sc) ported to frameworks 5.

KF5 is an ongoing effort. Guessing that porting of non-libs parts of kde will begin much later - when the main work in KF5 is finished.


Image
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
ivan wrote:As far as I know, baseapps are not (like most of other parts of kde sc) ported to frameworks 5.

KF5 is an ongoing effort. Guessing that porting of non-libs parts of kde will begin much later - when the main work in KF5 is finished.


Ah. so it isn't source compatible... or it's not providing the correct .cmake files yet.
Well I guess I'll wait it out then. Thanks.
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
I don't know if I should open a new thread for this, but are there any apps right now that are ported to just kdelibs frameworks? The tests that come with kdelibs are all that works. (some of them)
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Unfortunately there are only the applications in kde-runtime which could be ported. I think there is a seperate frameworks branch for that work.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
bcooksley wrote:Unfortunately there are only the applications in kde-runtime which could be ported. I think there is a seperate frameworks branch for that work.


Hm... I checked for a frameworks branch in the web git browser in kde-baseapps...

but I did find http://www.kdab.com/porting-from-qt-4-to-qt-5/

what branches is he using?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
I suspect this is unpublished work, based upon automated scripts. Unfortunately there is no other way to know other than by contacting Stephen.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
I got a reply. He said he is using the standard git repos... So I did some more tinkering, and got the compile much further on kde-baseapps.

But now it gets to a point where
/srcbuild/kde-baseapps/lib/konq/favicons/favicons.cpp:44:1: error: control reaches end of non-void function [-Werror=return-type]
cc1plus: some warnings being treated as errors

is there a way I can switch it to treat warnings as warnings?
User avatar
šumski
Registered Member
Posts
106
Karma
1
OS
How did you do it? As for your current issue, try export this as flags:
"-Wno-error"
http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/Warning-Options.html
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
šumski wrote:How did you do it? As for your current issue, try export this as flags:
"-Wno-error"
http://gcc.gnu.org/onlinedocs/gcc/Warning-Options.html


I was missing a package :P ...apparently kde-baseapps needs more devlopment packages then kdelibs, then I had to recompile QT with an addtional flag: -reduce-exports

And thanks! I'll try that as a CFLAG and CXXFLAG... But I have a feeling something in the makefiles is causing warnings to be treated as errors. I hope the flag over rides it.

UPDATE: no, it didn't work...
User avatar
šumski
Registered Member
Posts
106
Karma
1
OS
For 4.x i believe flags are from FindKDE4Internal.cmake:
http://quickgit.kde.org/index.php?p=kde ... rnal.cmake
Code: Select all
 set(CMAKE_C_FLAGS   "${CMAKE_C_FLAGS} -Wno-long-long -std=iso9899:1990 -Wundef -Wcast-align -Werror-implicit-function-declaration -Wchar-subscripts -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wwrite-strings -Wformat-security -Wmissing-format-attribute -fno-common")
   # As of Qt 4.6.x we need to override the new exception macros if we want compile with -fno-exceptions
   set(CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS "${CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS} -Wnon-virtual-dtor -Wno-long-long -Wundef -Wcast-align -Wchar-subscripts -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wformat-security -fno-exceptions -DQT_NO_EXCEPTIONS -fno-check-new -fno-common")
nerdopolis
Registered Member
Posts
132
Karma
0
OS
šumski wrote:For 4.x i believe flags are from FindKDE4Internal.cmake:
http://quickgit.kde.org/index.php?p=kde ... rnal.cmake
Code: Select all
 set(CMAKE_C_FLAGS   "${CMAKE_C_FLAGS} -Wno-long-long -std=iso9899:1990 -Wundef -Wcast-align -Werror-implicit-function-declaration -Wchar-subscripts -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wwrite-strings -Wformat-security -Wmissing-format-attribute -fno-common")
   # As of Qt 4.6.x we need to override the new exception macros if we want compile with -fno-exceptions
   set(CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS "${CMAKE_CXX_FLAGS} -Wnon-virtual-dtor -Wno-long-long -Wundef -Wcast-align -Wchar-subscripts -Wall -W -Wpointer-arith -Wformat-security -fno-exceptions -DQT_NO_EXCEPTIONS -fno-check-new -fno-common")


I'll try that. It feels kind of weird to edit the cmake file itself, but I'll give it a try!

UPDATE: I accidentaly broke the build of QT 5 on an ISO build. kdelibs frameworks built agaisnt 4.8 and kde-baseapps built on that frameworks.
It's either the way I build QT5, or QT5 itself maybe...

Last edited by nerdopolis on Mon Sep 03, 2012 2:50 am, edited 1 time in total.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], rockscient