This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Kde-runtime fails to build using kdesrc-build

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Tupla
Registered Member
Posts
47
Karma
0
OS
Hi everybody,
I am trying to build kde unstable using the kdesrc-build script. I have pruned from the config file modules that I don't need (I prefer to have a basic environment just to develop), and compiled almost everything successfully, but kde-runtime module fails to build.
Here's the output of the error, only the final part of the compilation:
Code: Select all
[ 75%] Building CXX object plasma/kpart/CMakeFiles/plasma-kpart.dir/plasma-kpart_automoc.o
[ 76%] [ 76%] Building CXX object plasma/kpart/CMakeFiles/plasma-kpart.dir/scripting/layouttemplatepackagestructure.o
Building CXX object khelpcenter/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_khelpcenter.dir/kcmhelpcenter.o
[ 76%] Built target draganddropplugin
Scanning dependencies of target kcmremotewidgetshelper
[ 76%] [ 76%] Building CXX object plasma/kpart/CMakeFiles/plasma-kpart.dir/scripting/rect.o
Building CXX object plasma/remotewidgetshelper/CMakeFiles/kcmremotewidgetshelper.dir/kcmremotewidgetshelper_automoc.o
[ 76%] /home/kde-devel/qt4/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4: undefined reference to `Building CXX object plasma/containments/newspaper/CMakeFiles/plasma_containment_newspaper.dir/dragcountdown.o
WebCore::MediaDocument::mediaElementSawUnsupportedTracks()'
/home/kde-devel/qt4/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4: undefined reference to `WebCore::MediaControls::create(WebCore::HTMLMediaElement*)'
/home/kde-devel/qt4/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4: undefined reference to `WebCore::RenderLayerCompositor::canAccelerateVideoRendering(WebCore::RenderVideo*) const'
/home/kde-devel/qt4/lib/libQtWebKit.so.4: undefined reference to `void WTF::freeOwnedGPtr<_GError>(_GError*)'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [plasma/declarativeimports/core/tests/runnermodeltest] Error 1
make[1]: *** [plasma/declarativeimports/core/tests/CMakeFiles/runnermodeltest.dir/all] Error 2
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
[ 77%] Building CXX object plasma/remotewidgetshelper/CMakeFiles/kcmremotewidgetshelper.dir/remotewidgetshelper.o
[ 78%] Building CXX object plasma/kpart/CMakeFiles/plasma-kpart.dir/scripting/scriptengine.o
Linking CXX executable kcmremotewidgetshelper
[ 78%] Building CXX object plasma/kpart/CMakeFiles/plasma-kpart.dir/scripting/widget.o
[ 78%] Built target kcmremotewidgetshelper
[ 78%] Building CXX object plasma/kpart/CMakeFiles/plasma-kpart.dir/plasmakpartcorona.o
Linking CXX shared module ../../../lib/plasma_containment_newspaper.so
[ 78%] Building CXX object khelpcenter/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_khelpcenter.dir/htmlsearchconfig.o
[ 78%] Built target plasma_containment_newspaper
[ 78%] Building CXX object khelpcenter/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_khelpcenter.dir/fontdialog.o
[ 78%] Building CXX object plasma/kpart/CMakeFiles/plasma-kpart.dir/plasmakpartview.o
[ 78%] Building CXX object plasma/kpart/CMakeFiles/plasma-kpart.dir/plasmakpart.o
[ 78%] Building CXX object khelpcenter/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_khelpcenter.dir/plugintraverser.o
[ 78%] Building CXX object khelpcenter/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_khelpcenter.dir/scrollkeepertreebuilder.o
[ 78%] Building CXX object khelpcenter/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_khelpcenter.dir/searchhandler.o
/home/kde-devel/kdesrc/kde/kde-runtime/plasma/kpart/plasmakpart.cpp:47:1: warning: unused parameter ‘parentWidget’ [-Wunused-parameter]
[ 78%] Building CXX object khelpcenter/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_khelpcenter.dir/kcmhelpcenteradaptor.o
[ 78%] Building CXX object khelpcenter/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_khelpcenter.dir/prefs.o
Linking CXX shared module ../../lib/plasma-kpart.so
[ 78%] Built target plasma-kpart
Linking CXX shared library ../lib/libkdeinit4_khelpcenter.so
[ 78%] Built target kdeinit_khelpcenter
make: *** [all] Error 2

It seems to be a problem with qt webkit library, I tried to remove those files and install qt again from kdesrc-build, I tried also to manually compile kde-runtime as another user, and the system qt webkit (version 4.8.2) does not give any problem and the compilation ends successfully.

Am I missing something or have I just to wait until the problem gets fixed in the code?

Thanks in advance
Tupla
Registered Member
Posts
47
Karma
0
OS
I solved this problem. It was simply a matter of replacing the repository of qt code in the configuration file of kdesrc-build script.
I removed the "kde:qt" repository (outdated) and replaced it with the official repo from gitorious, and the compilation of kde-runtime then went fine. ;D
Now I have a problem with kde-baseapps, which complains about a version of KDE too low (it sees 4.9.2, but requires 4.9.80, but the search path is correct, I don't know why), anyway it seems that's not a "mandatory" module.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
You only require kde-baseapps if you are going to be doing development involving Dolphin, Konqueror or other similar applications.

I have investigated the kde:qt issue you had - it seems that the symbolic ref "HEAD" on our mirror of Qt was still pointing at 4.7 instead of 4.8 as it should have been. I have now fixed this. Most likely would not have been affected by this as "branch 4.8" or similar would be included in their kdesrc-buildrc configuration files.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Tupla
Registered Member
Posts
47
Karma
0
OS
Thanks for the info.
Yes, "branch 4.8" was in my configuration file for Qt but I had no idea why it didn't work.
As for kde-baseapps is not a big deal, I don't need that ;)
Tupla
Registered Member
Posts
47
Karma
0
OS
I have another issue related to kde-runtime, it came up yesterday when I tried to update my modules. This time the error is
Code: Select all
[  8%] Building CXX object plasma/declarativeimports/plasmaextracomponents/CMakeFiles/plasmaextracomponentsplugin.dir/plasmaextracomponentsplugin.o
Generating plasmakpart.moc
/home/kde-devel/kdesrc/kde/kde-runtime/plasma/declarativeimports/plasmacomponents/fullscreenwindow.cpp: In member function ‘void FullScreenWindow::init(const QString&)’:
/home/kde-devel/kdesrc/kde/kde-runtime/plasma/declarativeimports/plasmacomponents/fullscreenwindow.cpp:127:28: error: ‘componentsTarget’ is not a member of ‘KDeclarative’
/home/kde-devel/kdesrc/kde/kde-runtime/plasma/declarativeimports/plasmacomponents/fullscreenwindow.cpp:129:19: error: ‘defaultComponentsTarget’ is not a member of ‘KDeclarative’
[  8%] Building CXX object plasma/declarativeimports/qtextracomponents/CMakeFiles/qtextracomponentsplugin.dir/mouseeventlistener.o
make[2]: *** [plasma/declarativeimports/plasmacomponents/CMakeFiles/plasmacomponentsplugin.dir/fullscreenwindow.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [plasma/declarativeimports/plasmacomponents/CMakeFiles/plasmacomponentsplugin.dir/all] Error 2
make[1]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....

And then the compilation goes on for a while but then interrupts because of the error. It seems an error in the code, I hope.

Moreover, when I start Kate/KDevelop the application is very slow. I mean, text entered is not displayed in "real time" but is delayed, text cursor moves jerkily. Very annoying and almost unusable when it comes to coding. May it be Kate's fault, since Konsole doesn't have this kind of problem and text input is fluid? Should I open a new thread for this problem?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Are you building kactivities, nepomuk-core and nepomuk-widgets before attempting to build kde-runtime?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Tupla
Registered Member
Posts
47
Karma
0
OS
This is my build-status file when I run the script without specifying the single modules
Code: Select all
qt: Succeeded after 2 minutes, and 5 seconds.
shared-desktop-ontologies: Succeeded after 1 second.
automoc: Succeeded after 0 seconds.
cagibi: Succeeded after 1 second.
attica: Succeeded after 0 seconds.
soprano: Succeeded after 3 seconds.
polkit-qt-1: Succeeded after 1 second.
phonon: Succeeded after 34 seconds.
phonon-gstreamer: Succeeded after 26 seconds.
libstreams: Succeeded after 1 second.
libstreamanalyzer: Succeeded after 2 seconds.
strigiutils: Succeeded after 1 second.
strigidaemon: Succeeded after 2 seconds.
strigiclient: Succeeded after 1 second.
kdesupport: Succeeded after 2 seconds.
taglib: Succeeded after 1 second.
kdelibs: Succeeded after 2 minutes, and 52 seconds.
nepomuk-core: Succeeded after 24 seconds.
kactivities: Succeeded after 14 seconds.
kdepimlibs: Succeeded after 1 minute, and 1 second.
kde-runtime: Failed after 47 seconds.
akonadi: Succeeded after 4 seconds.
nepomuk-widgets: Succeeded after 2 seconds.
kde-workspace: Succeeded after 3 minutes, and 10 seconds.
kde-baseapps: Failed after 8 seconds.
kate: Succeeded after 2 minutes, and 41 seconds.
konsole: Succeeded after 28 seconds.
kdesdk: Succeeded after 1 minute, and 19 seconds.

I realize that nepomuk-core and kactivities are built before kde-runtime, and nepomuk-widget is built afterwards. I didn't modify the order, this is the "default" ordering of modules.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Can you please post the build/failure log from kde-runtime (preferrably at a pastebin site such as http://paste.kde.org/)?
They should be present at ~/kdesvn/log/latest/kde-runtime/


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Tupla
Registered Member
Posts
47
Karma
0
OS
I found the problem and solved it two days ago and forgot to write it here, sorry!
However, the error occurred because the branch used to build kdelibs was the "KDE/4.9" branch, whereas the branch of kde-runtime was "master". This is the reason why componentsTarget wasn't found in the kdeclarative header. I think this is also the reason why kde-baseapps failed at cmake step complaining that the installed version of kde was 4.9.2.

Solution:
I modified the kdesrc-buildrc file to pull from the master branch of kdelibs instead of KDE/4.9, and rerun the script with "--refresh-build" option. This required me to install also the latest version of cmake, because the one in Kubuntu 12.10 wasn't enough, but non that big deal, I downloaded the cmake sources and installed it in the same prefix of the unstable kde, and then it compiled everything successfully! :)

I don't understand why the script pulls the 4.9 branch for kdelibs only... Shouldn't it pull this branch for all the kde related projects (runtime, pim libraries, etc...) in order to avoid this kind of inconsistencies?

I also solved the problem of "slowed down" kate/kdevelop applications. I don't know why, but this problem appeared only when using an ssh session with "-X" option. I tried to configure my kde-devel user to run the fresh kde, and after the login kate/kdevelop were responsive as usual... If someone by chance has the same problem at least now he/she knows how to solve this.

Anyway, thank you for the support!
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Currently the "active" development branch for kdelibs is a little bit messy. The best branch to use at the moment is "KDE/4.10" which will be reverting back to "master" again when KDE 4.10 is branched from what I understand. If you are using master at the moment - don't worry too much as it is updated every few days with the content of KDE/4.10.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Tupla
Registered Member
Posts
47
Karma
0
OS
Ok, thank you very much! :)


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], rockscient