This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[SOLVED] Unable to build kdebase

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
joseph1290
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

[SOLVED] Unable to build kdebase

Fri May 22, 2009 7:17 pm
I followed this tutorial for preparing KDE 4 for development.

For some reason when I run cmakekde in the kdebase directory, when its starts building the plasma packages it fails and returns an error(s).

Error 1:
Code: Select all
/home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdebase/workspace/plasma/shells/desktop/backgrounddialog.cpp: In member function ‘void ThemeModel::reload()’:                 
/home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdebase/workspace/plasma/shells/desktop/backgrounddialog.cpp:80: error: ‘listThemeInfo’ is not a member of ‘Plasma::Theme’   
/home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdebase/workspace/plasma/shells/desktop/backgrounddialog.cpp:89: error: no matching function for call to ‘Plasma::Theme::Theme(QString, ThemeModel* const)’                                               
/home/kde-devel/kde/include/KDE/Plasma/../../plasma/theme.h:83: note: candidates are: Plasma::Theme::Theme(QObject*)                                     
/home/kde-devel/kde/include/KDE/Plasma/../../plasma/theme.h:56: note:                 Plasma::Theme::Theme(const Plasma::Theme&)                         
/home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdebase/workspace/plasma/shells/desktop/backgrounddialog.cpp:92: error: ‘class Plasma::FrameSvg’ has no member named ‘setTheme’                                                                           
make[2]: *** [workspace/plasma/shells/desktop/CMakeFiles/kdeinit_plasma-desktop.dir/backgrounddialog.o] Error 1   


Error 2:
Code: Select all
/home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdebase/workspace/kcontrol/randr/ktimerdialog.cpp: In member function ‘void KTimerDialog::slotInternalTimeout()’:
/home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdebase/workspace/kcontrol/randr/ktimerdialog.cpp:173: warning: enumeration value ‘Reset’ not handled in switch


And finally:
Code: Select all
Linking CXX executable krandrtray
[ 63%] Built target krandrtray
make: *** [all] Error 2


Furthermore, each time a run cmakekde it progresses slightly and produces a different error (I think).

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by joseph1290 on Fri May 22, 2009 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

[SOLVED] Unable to build kdebase

Fri May 22, 2009 11:14 pm
Have you installed KDE Libs from trunk?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
joseph1290
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

[SOLVED] Unable to build kdebase

Sat May 23, 2009 6:46 am
Yes. I have installed kdelibs, kdepimlibs and kdesupport from trunk.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

[SOLVED] Unable to build kdebase

Sat May 23, 2009 9:33 am
Have you set the following environment variables?

KDEDIR to the compiled KDE installation prefix ( -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX argument in cmake configuration command )
CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH to KDEDIR
LD_LIBRARY_PATH to KDEDIR/libs
PATH to KDEDIR/bin:PATH

Example:
Code: Select all
KDEDIR=/opt/trunk-kde/kde
PATH=/opt/trunk-kde/kde/bin:/opt/trunk-kde/qt/bin:/usr/lib/mpi/gcc/openmpi/bin:/home/trunk/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/opt/kde3/bin:/usr/lib/mit/bin:/usr/lib/mit/sbin:/usr/NX/bin
CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/opt/trunk-kde/kde:/opt/trunk-kde/qt
LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/trunk-kde/kde/lib:/opt/trunk-kde/qt/lib


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
joseph1290
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

[SOLVED] Unable to build kdebase

Sat May 23, 2009 6:06 pm
I set those environment variables and it still produced the same error.

It also produces this error:
Code: Select all
CMake Warning at /home/kde-devel/kde/share/apps/cmake/modules/KDE4Macros.cmake:569 (add_library):
    Cannot generate a safe runtime search path for target kded_phononserver
    because files in some  directories may conflict with libraries in implicit
    directories:

       runtime library [libphonon.so.4] in /usr/lib may be hidden by files in:
          /home/kde-devel/kde/lib

    Some of these libraries may not be found correctly.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
   runtime/phonon/kded-module/CMakeLists.txt:31 (kde4_add_plugin)


There are many other errors almost exactly the same to this but as I cannot copy directly from XTerm it would take too long to type them all out.

Last edited by joseph1290 on Sat May 23, 2009 6:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

[SOLVED] Unable to build kdebase

Sun May 24, 2009 4:56 am
Can you please try cleaning the KDE Base build system, setting those variables and trying again?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
joseph1290
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0

[SOLVED] Unable to build kdebase

Thu May 28, 2009 5:38 am
I uninstalled all the KDE packages and followed the tutorial on the openSUSE website and it worked. Can't think what went wrong the first time though.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]