This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Compiling kdelibs with MSVC 2010

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
mbluett
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Compiling kdelibs with MSVC 2010

Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:25 pm
I have been trying to compile kdelibs using MSVC 2010 "nmake" and am receiving a compilation error:

C:\KDE\kdelibs\kdecore\date\ksystemtimezone.cpp(180) : error C2065: 'QDBusConnection' : undeclared identifier

This is very odd because I have the include file specified correctly, as far as I can tell:

ksystemtimezone.cpp: #include <QtDBus/QDBusConnection>

build.make: kdecore\CMakeFiles\kdecore.dir\date\ksystemtimezone.obj: C:\KDE\kdelibs\kdecore\date\ksystemtimezone.cpp
$(CMAKE_COMMAND) -E cmake_progress_report C:\KDE\kdelibs-build\CMakeFiles $(CMAKE_PROGRESS_29)
@$(CMAKE_COMMAND) -E cmake_echo_color --switch=$(COLOR) --green "Building CXX object kdecore/CMakeFiles/kdecore.dir/date/ksystemtimezone.obj"
cd C:\KDE\kdelibs-build\kdecore
C:\PROGRA~2\MICROS~1.0\VC\bin\cl.exe @<<
/nologo $(CXX_FLAGS) $(CXX_DEFINES) /TP /FoCMakeFiles\kdecore.dir\date\ksystemtimezone.obj /FdC:\KDE\kdelibs-build\bin\kdecore.pdb -c C:\KDE\kdelibs\kdecore\date\ksystemtimezone.cpp

flags.make: CXX_FLAGS = /DWIN32 /D_WINDOWS /W3 /Zm1000 /EHsc /GR -wd4250 -wd4251 -wd4396 -D_WIN32_WINNT=0x0501 -DWINVER=0x0501 -D_WIN32_IE=0x0501 -DUNICODE -Zc:wchar_t- -IC:\KDE\kdelibs-build\kdecore
-Ic:\KDE\kdelibs\kdecore\auth -Ic:\kde\include\opensp -Ic:\KDE\include\msvc -Ic:\KDE\kdelibs\kdecore\config -IC:\Qt\4.7.2\mkspecs\default
-IC:\Qt\4.7.2\include -Ic:\KDE\include

Darned if I can see what is wrong. Anyone have any thoughts?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Have you tried using the emerge build system which the KDE Windows Team uses?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
pinotree
KDE Developer
Posts
222
Karma
7
OS

Re: Compiling kdelibs with MSVC 2010

Sun Apr 17, 2011 12:52 pm
The QtDBus module of Qt is mandatory for KDE. Install windbus and recompile Qt to use it.


Pino Toscano
mbluett
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
bcooksley wrote:Have you tried using the emerge build system which the KDE Windows Team uses?


Yes I have but met with a considerable challenge in getting it setup and eventually gave up.
mbluett
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
pinotree wrote:The QtDBus module of Qt is mandatory for KDE. Install windbus and recompile Qt to use it.


I already have "dbus-vc100-1.4.1-2-lib.tar.bz2" installed that I downloaded using "kdewin-installer-gui-latest.exe".

Is that not the right version? Since it was downloaded from a repository that is meant for building a Windows version of KDE I would expect it to be the correct version.

Since I downloaded Qt separately, it is probably not compiled to use the Windows version of DBus. I downloaded that version because I had problems compiling the one that is available via the "kdewin-installer-gui-latest.exe" and the Qt version I downloaded comes with the PDB files for debugging and also all the Windows DLL's. Since this release contains those files I would suspect it should compile with the KDE I downloaded using kdewin-installer-gui-latest.exe" without problem.

Regardless of that, I would still expect the compiler to examine the QtDBus include file and try and use it. The "qdbusconnection.h" file definitely contains a definition for "qdbusconnection.
pinotree
KDE Developer
Posts
222
Karma
7
OS
mbluett wrote:Since I downloaded Qt separately, it is probably not compiled to use the Windows version of DBus.

Most likely that's the issue.

mbluett wrote:Regardless of that, I would still expect the compiler to examine the QtDBus include file and try and use it. The "qdbusconnection.h" file definitely contains a definition for "qdbusconnection.

... enclosed in a block:

Code: Select all
#ifndef QT_NO_DBUS
...
#endif // QT_NO_DBUS

with such define defined only when Qt is compiled without D-Bus support.


Pino Toscano


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: bartoloni, Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], ourcraft