This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

SDDM huge password box and login button

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
milos.j187
Registered Member
OS
Hello everyone, I'm just starting out in the linux world and I'm learning a lot. I have installed KDE Neon 5.9 with Plasma version 5.9.4. So far everything seems to be working great except the login screen. It does not show certain items correctly, specifically the password text box and the login button. I have tried adding the line "EnableHiDPI=true" to /etc/sddm.conf, and also "EnableHiDPI=false", but none of them fixes the issue. I have also tried adding the line "xrandr --dpi 96" to /usr/share/sddm/scripts/Xsetup, but that did not work either. That's all the possible solutions I could find, I'm not really competent enough to fix this on my own. I would really appreciate help from someone more experience. Thank in advance.
This is how it looks like:
http://imgur.com/a/ZtQFw
NoNameNoBlame
Your 'Xsetup'-idea would work. But:
Your command isn't formatted correctly:

'--output …' is missing.

Its format has to look something like this:
/usr/bin/xrandr --output LVDS-0 --mode 1920x1200 --scale 0.50x0.50

That's a magnification of physical size 1x1 (1920x1200) to virtual size 4x4,
and therefore not what You want to achieve.

If You would follow this example, You would see that it not only
resizes/scales sddm, but Your whole KDE desktop after login, too.

Is this, what You want?
Resizing both?
NoNameNoBlame
By the way:

The problem You have is not solvable with 'xrandr':

You either have:

* wrong fontsize
or
* wrong '*.qml'-file content

Looks to me as if You played around manually
within Your non-configuration files or as if You
copied them in from another OS.

# Conf-file Rules:

Rule 1 (Admin): Only change things under '/etc/…'

Rule 2 (User): Only change things under ${HOME}

Everything else will be overwritten by updates, sooner or later.