This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Black Screen when trying to install from usb.

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
SadPotato
Registered Member
I really would like to install KDE Neon but when I try to boot from my USB I get the KDE Neon logo then it goes to a black screen and on my monitor, it says no signal. I tried pressing shift when the KDE Neon logo come up and using nomodeset but that does absolutely nothing. On Ubuntu I was able to get around the black screen using nomodeset but on KDE Neon it does nothing.

My Specs:
i5-6400
GTX-970
8GB DDR4 RAM
7200 RPM HDD
miladramzy
Registered Member
OS
did you check iso Checksum?
SadPotato
Registered Member
Uhm no I'm new to Linux and I don't know what that is. On the menu, though that says try without installing and install any option I choose goes to a black screen.
fredhoud
Registered Member
OS
First, write down the sha256sum by clicking on "neon-useredition-20170615-1018-amd64.sha256sum"
You should get this. c79eece355f64be7353beb008a53feb560c76baa59fa47da5721838ef913f970
After you download the iso into your download folder, open a terminal and type cd Downloads.
copy this "sha256sum neon-useredition-20170615-1018-amd64.iso", and paste it. Then if the iso sum matches, you have a good iso. ;)
SadPotato
Registered Member
I have tried to redownload the iso and try to install it again but this happens with every Ubuntu based distro. I get a black screen because I have a Nvidia card and usually have to use nomodeset and after installing the OS install Nvidia drivers and then it works fine but on KDE Neon it does nothing.

Last edited by SadPotato on Sun Jun 18, 2017 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
raddison
Registered Member
https://files.kde.org/neon/images/neon- ... .sha256sum

There's the sum. If you're having a hard time to checksum from the terminal, we'll recommend a GUI tool. Just say so.

Proud to be powered by Plasma
SadPotato
Registered Member