This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

video drivers on brand new install of KDE Neon

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
ahillio
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
Hello! I'm trying to get a 2560x1440 monitor to use full resolution (currently it only displays at 1920x1080) but when I try installing video drivers via `sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-all` or `sudo apt-get install xserver-xorg-core` it says it wants to remove a package called `neon-desktop` which sounds bad. Is `neon-desktop` safe to remove?
gfielding
Registered Member
Posts
178
Karma
0
OS
You do not want to remove the 'neon desktop' package.

Have you installed the nvidia driver? If not install the package 'kbuntu-driver-manager' and install it via this.
ahillio
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
Thanks, finally figured out how to log back in here to reply.

I don't have any nvidia drivers installed.

What's this kubuntu-driver-manager all about? I installed it but it doesn't seem to give me the ability to install new drivers.

Code: Select all
$ sudo lshw -c video
   description: VGA compatible controller
   product: 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller
   vendor: Intel Corporation
   physical id: 2
   bus info: pci@0000:00:02.0
   version: 09
   width: 64 bits
   clock: 33MHz
   capabilities: msi pm vga_controller bus_master cap_list rom
   configuration: driver=i915 latency=0
   resources: irq:28 memory:f0000000-f03fffff memory:e0000000-efffffff ioport:4000(size=64) memory:c0000-dffff


I've spent several hours trying to get this to work... not by installing drivers, as `apt-get install xserver-xorg-video-all` wants to remove 'neon-desktop' (why?!) but by using xrandr as described here viewtopic.php?f=309&t=141545#p380311. Following those steps with `cvt` and `xrandr` I'm able to create the proper resolution size, but when I select it in KDE's Settings>Display it won't take effect, it just resets back to what was previously selected. ...Does that sound like a driver issue?
gfielding
Registered Member
Posts
178
Karma
0
OS
Sorry I had assumed that you had a nvidia graphic card. I have no experience of intel graphics.
gfielding
Registered Member
Posts
178
Karma
0
OS
I don't know if you are familiar with using ppa's but there is one here that may be of use:

https://launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/xs ... ideo-intel
User avatar
vinnywright
Registered Member
Posts
59
Karma
1
OS
the driver for your Intel graphics "i915" is the correct one for your chip .....and is usually quite good .

this sounds more like the monitor it's self not reporting the correct "as linux is concerned" EDID or you have a "slightly" bad cable .

You can also install the "read-edid" package and discover if, in fact, your EDID is readable and correct.

VINNY
ahillio
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
Well testing "edid" is deeper than I've gone previously so I'm not sure how to interpret this... The edid output does not list the 2560x1440 dimensions... I did:

1) sudo get-edid -b 4 | parse-edid | tee edid-bus4.txt
2) run through `cvt` and `xrandr` steps previously mentioned
3) sudo get-edid -b 4 | parse-edid | tee edid-bus4_after.txt

...but they're identical. The cvt & xrandr commands did not change the edid output. Here's what edid commands gave:

Code: Select all
Section "Monitor"
   Identifier "BenQ GW2765"
   ModelName "BenQ GW2765"
   VendorName "BNQ"
   # Monitor Manufactured week 32 of 2014
   # yup, I've had this for three years and have never had it working at full resolution :(
   # EDID version 1.3
   # Digital Display
   DisplaySize 600 340
   Gamma 2.20
   Option "DPMS" "true"
   Horizsync 30-89
   VertRefresh 50-76
   # Maximum pixel clock is 270MHz
   #Not giving standard mode: 1280x1024, 60Hz
   #Not giving standard mode: 1280x720, 60Hz
   #Not giving standard mode: 1280x800, 60Hz
   #Not giving standard mode: 1600x900, 60Hz
   #Not giving standard mode: 1680x1050, 60Hz
   #Not giving standard mode: 1920x1080, 60Hz

   #Extension block found. Parsing...
   Modeline    "Mode 16" 148.50 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 0" 241.50 2560 2608 2640 2720 1440 1443 1448 1481 +hsync -vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 1" 148.500 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 2" 148.500 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1084 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 3" 74.250 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1082 1087 1125 +hsync +vsync interlace
   Modeline    "Mode 4" 74.250 1920 2448 2492 2640 1080 1082 1089 1125 +hsync +vsync interlace
   Modeline    "Mode 5" 74.250 1280 1390 1420 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 6" 74.250 1280 1720 1760 1980 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 7" 27.027 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 8" 27.000 720 732 796 864 576 581 586 625 -hsync -vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 9" 27.027 1440 1478 1602 1716 480 484 487 525 -hsync -vsync interlace
   Modeline    "Mode 10" 27.000 1440 1464 1590 1728 576 578 581 625 -hsync -vsync interlace
   Modeline    "Mode 11" 27.000 1440 1464 1590 1728 576 578 581 625 -hsync -vsync interlace
   Modeline    "Mode 12" 25.200 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 13" 27.027 1440 1478 1602 1716 480 484 487 525 -hsync -vsync interlace
   Modeline    "Mode 14" 27.000 720 732 796 864 576 581 586 625 -hsync -vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 15" 27.027 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 17" 74.25 1920 2008 2052 2200 540 542 547 562 +hsync +vsync interlace
   Modeline    "Mode 18" 74.25 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
   Modeline    "Mode 19" 27.00 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync
   Option "PreferredMode" "Mode 16"
EndSection


So like I said, I'm unsure how to interpret this. Can any conclusion be drawn from this information? Or are there other places I should dig around to uncover other information?

@Vinny suggest the cable might be the problem... does this information confirm/negate that? It's the HDMI cable that came with the monitor... now that I write this it makes me doubt the cable is the problem... though perhaps the HDMI-MiniDP adapter could be the problem? It's an audioquest (no model) that I must have purchased when I got the monitor. I see the resolution advertised with adapters they're currently selling, but haven't seen an info on this one from a few years ago.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot], q.ignora, watchstar