This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Installing VirtualBox in KDE neon 5.24

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
brebreb
Registered Member
Hi everyone,

I am new to this Linux environment, so it is quite challenging to understand what is happening while installing things. I tried to install VirtualBox using command lines. I followed the steps described in a tutorial https://pupli.net/2019/08/install-virtualbox-on-kde-neon-ubuntu-18-04/ , but they didn't go through.
I some point I finally typed :
Code: Select all
sudo apt install virtualbox-6.0

It does :
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Starting pkgProblemResolver with broken count: 1
Starting 2 pkgProblemResolver with broken count: 1
Investigating (0) virtualbox-6.0:amd64 < none -> 6.0.24-139119~Ubuntu~bionic @un puN Ib >
Broken virtualbox-6.0:amd64 Depends on libqt5opengl5:amd64 < none | 5.15.4+p20.04+tunstable+git20220613.0051-0 @un uH > (>= 5.0.2)
  Considering libqt5opengl5:amd64 0 as a solution to virtualbox-6.0:amd64 9999
  Re-Instated libqt5opengl5:amd64
Broken virtualbox-6.0:amd64 Depends on libvpx5:amd64 < none @un H > (>= 1.6.0)
Broken virtualbox-6.0:amd64 Depends on python:amd64 < none @un H > (< 2.8)
  Considering python-is-python2:amd64 0 as a solution to virtualbox-6.0:amd64 9999
  Re-Instated libpython2.7-minimal:amd64
  Re-Instated python2.7-minimal:amd64
  Re-Instated python2-minimal:amd64
  Re-Instated libpython2.7-stdlib:amd64
  Re-Instated python2.7:amd64
  Re-Instated libpython2-stdlib:amd64
  Re-Instated python2:amd64
  Re-Instated python-is-python2:amd64
Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation: