This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

build kde from svn (a problem)

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Zayed
Registered Member
Posts
143
Karma
0
OS

build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 4:53 am
I try to build kde from svn and I follow this guide. But I face this problem, when I run :
Code: Select all
cmake /home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdelibs/


I get this error:
CMake Error at cmake/modules/FindKDE4Internal.cmake:321 (message):
Your version of automoc4 is too old. You have 0.9.84, you need at least
0.9.87


I try to export CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/home/kde-devel/kde/lib/ but it does not work.

any hints ?


User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 7:12 am
you may need to pass it directly to cmake like so "cmake /home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdelibs/ -DCMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdelibs/". Alternatively you may need to update your system version of automoc4 to a newer version of Qt, either by distro packages or by building qt-copy from svn.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
of_darkness
Registered Member
Posts
73
Karma
0

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 10:31 am
Zayed wrote:I try to build kde from svn and I follow this guide. But I face this problem, when I run :
Code: Select all
cmake /home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdelibs/


I get this error:
CMake Error at cmake/modules/FindKDE4Internal.cmake:321 (message):
Your version of automoc4 is too old. You have 0.9.84, you need at least
0.9.87


I try to export CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH=/home/kde-devel/kde/lib/ but it does not work.

any hints ?


well the problem that the places it looks for it is hardcoded in the cmake files..

i made a check install of a svn version of automoc4 and then copied the bin file to where my system automoc4 was and moved my system version of it to automc4.bak so that it would be replaced by your new compiled one..

there is probably some better more elegant way to do it but yeah it was an esy no brainer way to do it:P


of_darkness, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
Zayed
Registered Member
Posts
143
Karma
0
OS

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 1:24 pm
Than you !!

I do like of_darkness and it is work.


User avatar
of_darkness
Registered Member
Posts
73
Karma
0

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 1:30 pm
Zayed wrote:Than you !!

I do like of_darkness and it is work.


and you may have 2 do it again at some point, i got 2 do it as one thing neaded a even newer version.. but its preaty easy 2 do so:)

although its not specialy elagant way 2 do it:/


of_darkness, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
Githzerai
Registered Member
Posts
54
Karma
0
OS

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 1:51 pm
I suggest building all of kdesupport forom trunk, so you wan't have any more troubles like this. (As well stated in tutorial u gave link for).

Also, your interpretation of tutorial you gave is way different than what it's supposed to be
("cmake /home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdelibs/ " instead of a simple "cmakekde" with all the variables well noted in .bashrc ? )

Also, I even build cmake from SVN as latest snapshots has some additional modules available. ;)


Stercus accidit
Zayed
Registered Member
Posts
143
Karma
0
OS

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 2:26 pm
Githzerai wrote:I suggest building all of kdesupport forom trunk, so you wan't have any more troubles like this. (As well stated in tutorial u gave link for).

Actually I build all of kdesupport from trunk :-)
Also, your interpretation of tutorial you gave is way different than what it's supposed to be ("cmake /home/kde-devel/kde/src/KDE/kdelibs/ " instead of a simple "cmakekde" with all the variables well noted in .bashrc ? )


from same tutorial : There might be missing dependencies on your system! They are easily overlooked in the output of cmakekde. You might want to do a cmake $KDE_SRC/KDE/MODULE_NAME prior to compiling any kde modules (like kdelibs, kdepimlibs etc.)

Also, I even build cmake from SVN as latest snapshots has some additional modules available. ;)


The problem is the place of automoc4 is hardcoded in the cmake files !


User avatar
Githzerai
Registered Member
Posts
54
Karma
0
OS

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 2:47 pm
Zayed, automoc4 is a part of kdesupport, so if have built it correctly an it is in your $PATH, you shouldn't have this problem.

As well stated in your error output:
Your version of automoc4 is too old. You have 0.9.84, you need at least
0.9.87

you don't have a problem with CMake but with automoc4, which tells me that your $PATH might be wrong.

My trunk build goes to opt, so my $PATH looks like this: /opt/qtcopy/bin:/opt/kde/bin:/bin:/usr/bin..... etc.
So, for example, if I have my distro automoc4 and the one I compiled with kdesupport, the one I compiled will be used first. ;)

Just do:
Code: Select all
echo $PATH

or
Code: Select all
which automoc4


and you'll se for yourself ;)


Stercus accidit
User avatar
YeahReally
Registered Member
Posts
71
Karma
1
OS

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Sun Oct 26, 2008 11:55 pm
@Githzerai

I suffered this today and took me a while to remember how to fix it: uninstall distro's package automoc.

I do have the path correctly set for development.
$ which automoc4
/home/kde/KDE/bin/automoc4

But, when the distribution package is installed, /usr/bin/automoc4 is found instead.


Debian GNU/Linux Lenny
KDE 4.1.96

How many bugs have you triaged today?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: build kde from svn (a problem)

Tue Oct 28, 2008 2:51 am
Uninstalling your distro's package should not be needed. you just need to set $PATH correctly. correctly means that it refers to your KDE4 trunk first.
to do this just stick the path to your trunk binaries ( eg: /opt/kde4-trunk/bin )
first ( PATH=/opt/kde4-trunk/bin;$PATH )


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], claydoh, Google [Bot], markhm, rblackwell, sethaaaa, Sogou [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]