This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Phonon Mplayer and VLC on Windows

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
TheOneRing
Registered Member
Posts
30
Karma
0
OS
Normally you should download the vlc package from the kde installer, we ship the current needed vlc version with phonon-vlc to prevent such problems, so maybe you should update it again or send me a log, for example you can run kcm_phonon in a console with debug options active.
Code: Select all
set PHONON_VLC_DEBUG=3
kcmshell4.exe kcm_phonon

Now you should get some output in the cmd, and if libvc gets loaded even a log file in %APPDATA%\vlc\log\vlc-logprocecID.txt
For more questions you can visit #kde-windows anytime.

Last edited by TheOneRing on Mon May 03, 2010 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
Saber Mage
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0
OS
TheOneRing wrote:Normally you should download the vlc package from the kde installer, we ship the current needed vlc version with phonon-vlc to prevent such problems, so maybe you should update it again or send me a log, for example you can run systemsettings in a console with debug options active.
Code: Select all
set PHONON_VLC_DEBUG=3
systemsettings.exe

Now you should get some output in the cmd, and if libvc gets loaded even a log file in %APPDATA%\vlc\log\vlc-logprocecID.txt
For more questions you can visit #kde-windows anytime.

Know where I can find the server URL for the KDE-provided VLC installer? (to use with the KDE installer?)

Are you sure that method should work for the windows version? I attempted it but systemsettings.exe doesn't seem to be anywhere under my KDE installation directory or its subfolders. I've also semi-attempted updating the installation of Amarok again by going into the KDE installer, but it displays that no packages are available (which I assume it would, if there were anything to update - or do I need to un- and re- install each time?)

I attempted the idea someone else suggested of un- and re-installing VLC into a space-less directory path (C:\VideoLAN\VLC), updated the entry in PATH, and unfortunately still no dice. Might be because I didn't install it via the KDE installer, but I did download it from the nightly builds link provided on the Amarok Wiki at http://amarok.kde.org/wiki/Download:Windows .
TheOneRing
Registered Member
Posts
30
Karma
0
OS
Ok I edited my post try kcm_phonon instead, and try http://winkde.org/ as mirror fro amarok, so we support it with our default nightly builds since a month and these packages should be better maintained.
Saber Mage
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0
OS

Re: Phonon Mplayer and VLC on Windows

Mon May 03, 2010 10:11 am
TheOneRing wrote:Ok I edited my post try kcm_phonon instead, and try http://winkde.org/ as mirror fro amarok, so we support it with our default nightly builds since a month and these packages should be better maintained.

That definitely clears some things up - the server URL provided on the Wiki is clearly out of date. Therefore I'm not going to try for the debug log unless I have the latest build and it's still not working. I have a new issue though... Of course! xD With all significant packages, I get this error with the KDE installer:

"The download of [URL] failed with error: could not download archive integrity file from [URL]."

Ideas? Maybe even my KDE installer is out of date? Haha.
TheOneRing
Registered Member
Posts
30
Karma
0
OS

Re: Phonon Mplayer and VLC on Windows

Mon May 03, 2010 10:21 am
The build system switched from md5 checks to sha1 and the installer is still not updated :-/ so you'll have to wait till it's fixed.
Saber Mage
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0
OS

Re: Phonon Mplayer and VLC on Windows

Mon May 03, 2010 10:36 am
TheOneRing wrote:The build system switched from md5 checks to sha1 and the installer is still not updated :-/ so you'll have to wait till it's fixed.

Ah, alright then. Mind making a post here or sending me a PM when it is updated? I'd really appreciate it! =P
Polinik
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0
TheOneRing wrote:The build system switched from md5 checks to sha1 and the installer is still not updated :-/ so you'll have to wait till it's fixed.

I don't think it is only this.
I've downloaded required packages by hand, to skip checksum check, Amarok installed.
But when I tried to run it -- a lots of dependiencies were missing -- QT, bzip, kdewin, etc.

Almost no deps are resolved in nightly. And some file are missing in this build -- like kdeui.dll or kio.dll -- I had to copy it from "stable".


What was the point of switching to sha1, if installer wasn't updated, anyway?
Saber Mage
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0
OS
I don't think it is only this.
I've downloaded required packages by hand, to skip checksum check, Amarok installed.
But when I tried to run it -- a lots of dependiencies were missing -- QT, bzip, kdewin, etc.

Almost no deps are resolved in nightly. And some file are missing in this build -- like kdeui.dll or kio.dll -- I had to copy it from "stable".


What was the point of switching to sha1, if installer wasn't updated, anyway?

If I were to guess, I'd say sha1 has some greater benefit to it. The Linux installer is probably up to date, simply not the Mac or Windows installers as they aren't as heavily supported by KDE.
Saber Mage
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0
OS
Any word on when the installer will be updated to work with the new build system, TOR?
Polinik
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0
Saber Mage wrote:Any word on when the installer will be updated to work with the new build system, TOR?

If you download required binaries manually, installer will install from them -- it just can't download those.
But Amarok won't run anyway, because not all required packages are getting installed.
jrob
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
I got this to work by putting
http://kovensky.project357.com/builds/m ... player.exe
in
D:\Program Files\kde\bin\mplayer
and selecting mplayer backend.

No joy with VLC
mick1155
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0
Hey jrob that helped mplayer backend is now working it plays music but same here I still can't figure out the VLC
Panet
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
Still not working here, unfortunately i dont know how to copyText from the windows console, so i have to type... ~.~

echo %path%
F:\bin\VLC;F:\bin;...(the things that where there before, i can only hope that they do not maater, since otherwise i'll have to manually copy them to :/)

As you can see i tried VLC and Mplayer, both with spaceless path, and none of them works. I have no idea what else i could try, please help me.

*white flag* :'(
Turan
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: Phonon Mplayer and VLC on Windows

Thu Jul 01, 2010 10:39 pm
Has this been worked on? I've posted in IRC and no one seems to respond. Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
eean
KDE Developer
Posts
1016
Karma
0
OS
I wonder if the errors are legit at all. System Settings complains about VLC when I open it, but then the 'test' button works fine.

Amarok has a check that prevents it from opening if it senses that the backends aren't loaded.

I wonder if its the difference between KDE plugins and Qt plugins. Maybe they load fine as a Qt plugin, but not as a KDE plugin. Or something is just really strange with that "Test" button.

Edit: yea just tried JuK. It gives the standard error about VLC and then plays fine. Maybe VLC doesn't work but DirectSound is working? Its not giving an error for all three backends like Amarok does.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], gfielding, Google [Bot], markhm, sethaaaa, Sogou [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]