This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Install KDE in a specific folder

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
[Moviuro]
Registered Member
Posts
86
Karma
0
OS

Install KDE in a specific folder

Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:32 pm
Hi all !

I want to install KDE 4.6.1 on my Mandriva 2010. x86_64 and downloaded the tarballs, unzipped them and compiled them (mkdir build && cd build && cmake .. && make) and now, I should install the files. The problem is : when making "make install", the files are installed in /usr/local/ instead of /usr/

How do I fix this ? ^^

I thank the ones who will help me :)


KDE 4.10.1 Archlinux x86_64 on both laptops :)
"Our life is the immortals' death"
User avatar
Hans
Administrator
Posts
3304
Karma
24
OS
Like I said in the other topic I'm not completely sure, but here's something you can try to get you started (I take no responsible for possible failures. ;)):

EDIT: This is to start a full KDE session when you have an install in another location.

If you use KDM and don't mind using the 4.5.5 version for now, go to (assuming that it's installed in /usr) /usr/share/apps/kdm/sessions/ and copy the existing kde.desktop file.
Code: Select all
cd /usr/share/apps/kdm/sessions/
cp kde.desktop kde46.desktop

(Note that you probably need root permissions for the second command; kde.desktop is called kde-plasma.desktop in newer versions, but I think it still uses the old name in 4.5.)

Edit the file in your favorite text editor and change the following lines to something like this:
Code: Select all
Exec=/usr/local/bin/startkde
TryExec=/usr/local/bin/startkde
Name=KDE 4.6


Add the following to your ~/.bashrc:
Code: Select all
export KDEDIR=`kde4-config --prefix`
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$KDEDIR/lib
export PATH=$KDEDIR/bin/:$PATH
export KDEHOME=~/.kde4

(not sure this is needed or if the first one is correct; if not, try KDEDIR=/usr/local.)


Problem solved? Please click on "Accept this answer" below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.

10 things you might want to do in KDE | Open menu with Super key | Mouse shortcuts
User avatar
google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25

Re: Install KDE in a specific folder

Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:06 pm
to have cmake use a directory other than the default use the CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX example cmake ../kdelibs -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX

if you search thru techbase.kde.ort there's some install tutorials and some scripts to help
http://techbase.kde.org/Getting_Started/Build
http://techbase.kde.org/Getting_Started/Build/KDE4
http://techbase.kde.org/Getting_Started ... nvironment


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

User avatar
[Moviuro]
Registered Member
Posts
86
Karma
0
OS
So.
Hans wrote:Like I said in the other topic I'm not completely sure, but here's something you can try to get you started (I take no responsible for possible failures. ;)):

EDIT: This is to start a full KDE session when you have an install in another location.

If you use KDM and don't mind using the 4.5.5 version for now, go to (assuming that it's installed in /usr) /usr/share/apps/kdm/sessions/ and copy the existing kde.desktop file.
Code: Select all
cd /usr/share/apps/kdm/sessions/
cp kde.desktop kde46.desktop

(Note that you probably need root permissions for the second command; kde.desktop is called kde-plasma.desktop in newer versions, but I think it still uses the old name in 4.5.)

Edit the file in your favorite text editor and change the following lines to something like this:
Code: Select all
Exec=/usr/local/bin/startkde
TryExec=/usr/local/bin/startkde
Name=KDE 4.6


Add the following to your ~/.bashrc:
Code: Select all
export KDEDIR=`kde4-config --prefix`
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$KDEDIR/lib
export PATH=$KDEDIR/bin/:$PATH
export KDEHOME=~/.kde4

(not sure this is needed or if the first one is correct; if not, try KDEDIR=/usr/local.)

This was a big fail. lol it deleted my plasma setup files and leunched KDE 4.5.5
Still it didn't break my computer ;)

I tried :
Code: Select all
$ xinit -- :1 vt9

then in the new X server :
Code: Select all
$ /usr/local/bin/startkde

and it ran... 4.6.1 :D
With effects and so on but with mouse problems (a square of pixmap around my pointer and mouse disappears sometimes ^^)

That's it folks... for now :D




EDIT :
If I want to delete KDE 4.5.5 and install 4.6.1 over it, should I type :
Code: Select all
$ cd kdelibs-4.6.1/ && mkdir build && cd build
$ cmake .. -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr
$ su
# make install

???
Will it install the files into /usr/ instead of /usr/local/ ???


KDE 4.10.1 Archlinux x86_64 on both laptops :)
"Our life is the immortals' death"
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Correct, after running those commands, KDE 4.6.1 will be installed over-top of KDE 4.5, which may cause your package manager issues.

If you want to perform more full integration of your existing KDE 4.6 installation without moving it to /usr, then create ~/.xinitrc, with the following contents. Do note that it does need to be executable (chmod +x ~/.xinitrc)

Code: Select all
export KDEDIR="/usr/local"
export KDEDIRS="/usr/local:/usr"
export QT_PLUGIN_PATH="${KDEDIR}/lib/kde4/plugins"
export PATH="${HOME}/bin:${KDEDIR}/bin:${PATH}"
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="${KDEDIR}/lib"
export CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH="${KDEDIRS}"
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH="${KDEDIR}/lib/pkgconfig:${KDEDIR}/share/pkgconfig"

# Set the XDG data path, helps finding plugins, etc
export XDG_DATA_DIRS="${KDEDIR}/share:${XDG_DATA_DIRS}"
export XDG_CONFIG_DIRS="${KDEDIR}/etc/xdg:/etc/xdg"

# Boot KDE!
startkde


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
[Moviuro]
Registered Member
Posts
86
Karma
0
OS
Hi all, I'm back... using 4.6.1 :D

Lets see point after point what I did and what succeeded ^^
bcooksley wrote:Correct, after running those commands, KDE 4.6.1 will be installed over-top of KDE 4.5, which may cause your package manager issues.

If you want to perform more full integration of your existing KDE 4.6 installation without moving it to /usr, then create ~/.xinitrc, with the following contents. Do note that it does need to be executable (chmod +x ~/.xinitrc)

Code: Select all
export KDEDIR="/usr/local"
export KDEDIRS="/usr/local:/usr"
export QT_PLUGIN_PATH="${KDEDIR}/lib/kde4/plugins"
export PATH="${HOME}/bin:${KDEDIR}/bin:${PATH}"
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="${KDEDIR}/lib"
export CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH="${KDEDIRS}"
export PKG_CONFIG_PATH="${KDEDIR}/lib/pkgconfig:${KDEDIR}/share/pkgconfig"

# Set the XDG data path, helps finding plugins, etc
export XDG_DATA_DIRS="${KDEDIR}/share:${XDG_DATA_DIRS}"
export XDG_CONFIG_DIRS="${KDEDIR}/etc/xdg:/etc/xdg"

# Boot KDE!
startkde

I did this, then log out, login : 4.5.5 >:(
reboot, in KDM : Alt+N
login
$ xinit
4.6.1 starting :D

Everything seems to work fine except sound :'(
Kwin <3
No mouse problems
No sounds at all.

That's it for now :)

EDIT : I cannot open .pdf files anymore :-\ no good at all... Okular and adobe reader won't work ! I use... the Gimp instead ><"

The activities finaly work for me I'm sooOOoo happy ;D ;D ;D
And Kwin is absolutely wonderfull now ! I don't think I'll use compiz with KDE 4.6 ;)


KDE 4.10.1 Archlinux x86_64 on both laptops :)
"Our life is the immortals' death"
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
For Okular to function, you probably need libpoppler-qt4-devel or it's equivalent installed when you configure kdegraphics using CMake.

Not sure why you have no sound.... possibly a Phonon configuration related issue.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
[Moviuro]
Registered Member
Posts
86
Karma
0
OS
Ouch... my computer is a cucumber :

I cannot...
  • unzip files
  • open files in okular
  • mount CDs/DVDs/USB drives
  • cannot read .avi files with VLC,Totem, DragonPlayer, Parole
  • listen to music since there is no sound

Please help !


KDE 4.10.1 Archlinux x86_64 on both laptops :)
"Our life is the immortals' death"
User avatar
google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25
you're probably missing bunch of things, if you try and do the things you can't do in the command line you should see errors.

unzip do you have unzip rpm loaded?
okular needs libpoppler
avi files - what are using to play? dragon and kaffeine need xine libs
mp3 codecs are not shipped with most distros because of licensing so you might need xine libs or a diff decoder

what is parole?


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

Re: Install KDE in a specific folder

Fri Mar 11, 2011 11:36 pm
For zip files, you were likely missing the LibArchive development packages when you built Ark.
Lack of sound - likely due to a lack of a Phonon backend, check in System Settings > Multimedia.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
[Moviuro]
Registered Member
Posts
86
Karma
0
OS

Re: Install KDE in a specific folder

Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:20 pm
Having too many bugs & problems due to KDE 4.6.1, I Think I'll install 4.6.1 OVER 4.5.5 and in case it won't work, I'll install 4.4.3 from install DVD.
Is it weird of me ?
Or is it the good solution ?

Code: Select all
# cd kdelibs-4.6.1/build/ && make uninstall

same thing in each folder...
Then
Code: Select all
# rm -rfv build/

in each dir
Code: Select all
# mkdir build && cd build && cmake .. -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr && make install


Is this what I should do ?

In case it is worse :
Code: Select all
# cd kdelibs-4.6.1/build/ && make uninstall

and then, install kde 4.4.3 from Mandriva Install DVD... with fluxbox instead of KDE ><"

My questions are :
- will KDE4.6.1 then recognize my hardware as 4.4.3 and 4.5.5 did ?
- Is there a backup solution ? I mean to save my KDE settings in case of the big crash ^^

Thanks all ;)


KDE 4.10.1 Archlinux x86_64 on both laptops :)
"Our life is the immortals' death"
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
KDE 4.6 may not have support for all things enabled (such as UDev, etc) if the needed devel packages are not installed. Using your distributions packages is recommended.

Your KDE settings and other related information is stored in your home directory, under .kde4, .local and .config.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
[Moviuro]
Registered Member
Posts
86
Karma
0
OS
bcooksley wrote:KDE 4.6 may not have support for all things enabled (such as UDev, etc) if the needed devel packages are not installed. Using your distributions packages is recommended.



Meaning I should wait until Mandriva offers KDE4.6.1 packages ?... If so, it'll be long... :'(


KDE 4.10.1 Archlinux x86_64 on both laptops :)
"Our life is the immortals' death"
User avatar
google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25
[Moviuro] wrote:Meaning I should wait until Mandriva offers KDE4.6.1 packages ?... If so, it'll be long... :'(


Well then if waiting is bad:
- contact the packager and ask nicely (free cookies help)
- what about the Mandriva fork, Mageia (though not yet ready, June'ish)
- compile from source
- pick a diff distro with 4.6.1

Update: Mandriva Cooker has it though Cooker is the development/unstable version ?


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

User avatar
google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x



Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], blue_bullet, Google [Bot], rockscient, Yahoo [Bot]