This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

KScreen: How to use VGA?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
naraesk
Registered Member
Posts
117
Karma
0
OS

KScreen: How to use VGA?

Thu Jul 11, 2013 6:09 pm
Hello,

recently I updated my Fedora from 18 to 19, both running with KDE 4.10.4, but Fedora 19 now uses kscreen by default. Today I wanted to use an external monitor via VGA, but the second one (VGA) wasn't recognized by kscreen, so it looked like this: http://wstaw.org/m/2013/07/11/plasma-desktopcr1315.png

The output of kscreen-console, without external monitor is the following:

Code: Select all
$ kscreen-console
START
Config::current() took 43 milliseconds
KScreen version:  1.0.0
Screen:
        maxSize: QSize(8192, 8192)
        minSize: QSize(320, 200)
        currentSize: QSize(1920, 1200)

-----------------------------------------------------
 
Id:  81
Name:  "LVDS"
Type:  "Panel (Laptop)"
Connected:  true
Enabled:  true
Primary:  false
Rotation:  1
Pos:  QPoint(0,0)
Size:  QSize(1920, 1200)
Clones:  None
Mode:  "86"
Preferred Mode:  "86"
Preferred modes:  ("86")
Modes: 
         "92"    "1400x1050"   QSize(1400, 1050)   59.9784
         "122"    "320x240"   QSize(320, 240)   120.105
         "93"    "1280x1024"   QSize(1280, 1024)   59.8948
         "94"    "1280x1024"   QSize(1280, 1024)   60.0197
         "95"    "1440x900"   QSize(1440, 900)   59.8874
         "100"    "1280x720"   QSize(1280, 720)   59.8551
         "96"    "1280x960"   QSize(1280, 960)   60
         "101"    "1152x768"   QSize(1152, 768)   59.7821
         "102"    "1024x768"   QSize(1024, 768)   120.075
         "97"    "1280x960"   QSize(1280, 960)   59.939
         "98"    "1280x854"   QSize(1280, 854)   59.8929
         "103"    "1024x768"   QSize(1024, 768)   60.0038
         "99"    "1280x800"   QSize(1280, 800)   59.8103
         "104"    "1024x768"   QSize(1024, 768)   59.9201
         "105"    "960x720"   QSize(960, 720)   120
         "106"    "928x696"   QSize(928, 696)   120.101
         "107"    "896x672"   QSize(896, 672)   120.029
         "108"    "800x600"   QSize(800, 600)   120
         "109"    "800x600"   QSize(800, 600)   60.3165
         "110"    "800x600"   QSize(800, 600)   59.8614
         "111"    "800x600"   QSize(800, 600)   56.25
         "112"    "848x480"   QSize(848, 480)   59.6591
         "113"    "700x525"   QSize(700, 525)   119.951
         "114"    "720x480"   QSize(720, 480)   59.7098
         "115"    "640x512"   QSize(640, 512)   120.039
         "86"    "1920x1200"   QSize(1920, 1200)   60.0016
         "116"    "640x480"   QSize(640, 480)   120
         "87"    "1920x1080"   QSize(1920, 1080)   59.9628
         "117"    "640x480"   QSize(640, 480)   59.9405
         "88"    "1600x1200"   QSize(1600, 1200)   60
         "118"    "640x480"   QSize(640, 480)   59.375
         "89"    "1600x1200"   QSize(1600, 1200)   59.8691
         "119"    "512x384"   QSize(512, 384)   120.008
         "90"    "1680x1050"   QSize(1680, 1050)   59.9543
         "120"    "400x300"   QSize(400, 300)   120.633
         "91"    "1400x1050"   QSize(1400, 1050)   59.9756
         "121"    "400x300"   QSize(400, 300)   112.68
EDID Info: 
        Device ID:  "xrandr-Seiko Epson Corporation"
        Name:  ""
        Vendor:  "Seiko Epson Corporation"
        Serial:  ""
        EISA ID:  "170CT05-F01"
        Hash:  "ea26a27cf0b4dcc905f067acfa1a0a90"
        Width:  37
        Height:  23
        Gamma:  2
        Red:  QQuaternion(scalar:1, vector:(0.580078, 0.339844, 0))
        Green:  QQuaternion(scalar:1, vector:(0.30957, 0.549805, 0))
        Blue:  QQuaternion(scalar:1, vector:(0.155273, 0.155273, 0))
        White:  QQuaternion(scalar:1, vector:(0.313477, 0.329102, 0))

-----------------------------------------------------
 
Id:  82
Name:  "DIN"
Type:  "Unknown"
Connected:  false

-----------------------------------------------------
 
Id:  83
Name:  "HDMI-0"
Type:  "Unknown"
Connected:  false

-----------------------------------------------------
 
Id:  84
Name:  "VGA-0"
Type:  "Unknown"
Connected:  false


Unfortunately I forgot to save the output of kscreen-console with both monitors but the VGA-section it was something like:
Code: Select all
Id:  84
Name:  "VGA-0"
Type:  "Unknown"
Connected:  true
Enabled: false


But how can I enable the VGA port?
Thanks in advance!


User avatar
google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25

Re: KScreen: How to use VGA?

Thu Jul 11, 2013 7:21 pm
additional info that maybe useful

- in earlier versions did the 2nd vga monitor display?
- gpu and drivers installed ?
Code: Select all
glxinfo |grep OpenGL


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

User avatar
google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25

Re: KScreen: How to use VGA?

Thu Jul 11, 2013 7:22 pm
moved to Kwin forum


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

naraesk
Registered Member
Posts
117
Karma
0
OS

Re: KScreen: How to use VGA?

Thu Jul 11, 2013 7:24 pm
Yes, in earlier version it always worked out of the box.

Code: Select all
$ glxinfo |grep OpenGL
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV630
OpenGL core profile version string: 3.1 (Core Profile) Mesa 9.2.0-devel
OpenGL core profile shading language version string: 1.40
OpenGL core profile context flags: (none)
OpenGL core profile extensions:
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 9.2.0-devel
OpenGL shading language version string: 1.30
OpenGL context flags: (none)
OpenGL extensions:


User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

Re: KScreen: How to use VGA?

Thu Jul 11, 2013 9:58 pm
What does the "xrandr" command report for your VGA connector?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
naraesk
Registered Member
Posts
117
Karma
0
OS

Re: KScreen: How to use VGA?  Topic is solved

Mon Jul 15, 2013 12:07 pm
It works now! The KScreen-Service was not started, this was the whole problem.
Nevertheless maybe there should be a warning displayed when using KSreen and the service is not running? Otherwise it's hard to figure out.


User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

Re: KScreen: How to use VGA?

Fri Jul 19, 2013 10:42 am
Indeed, that is rather unusual - it should be running by default. I would suggest filing a bug against KScreen in this case, as the various KScreen tools should prompt to start the KScreen service if necessary.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
naraesk
Registered Member
Posts
117
Karma
0
OS
User avatar
hermantowawan
Registered Member
Posts
70
Karma
0

Re: KScreen: How to use VGA?

Sun Nov 23, 2014 7:06 am
Hans wrote:What kind of laptop is it? On my Lenovo Thinkpad, you apparently can't connect an external monitor to VGA if you use the onboard Intel graphics. I solved it by disabling Optimus in BIOS and set the NVIDIA graphic card to run at all times.


I Am Still Learning About KDE
User avatar
chans
Registered Member
Posts
9
Karma
0

Re: KScreen: How to use VGA?

Mon Dec 22, 2014 5:08 am
bcooksley wrote:Very odd. You may have run into a bug in KScreen.
You could try forcing the DisplayPort screen to be enabled directly through xrandr.
Code: Select all
xrandr --output DisplayPort-0 --auto


Newbie


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Evergrowing, Google [Bot]