This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

compiling on 64-bit?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
dchmelik
Registered Member
Posts
54
Karma
0
OS

compiling on 64-bit?

Sat Dec 06, 2008 11:12 am
I tried to compile KDE 4.1.3 (with phonon 4.2.0) on Slamd64 (and then with its special instructions,) but this is as far as I got:

root@athenaion:~/kdesupport# cmake CMakeLists.txt
CMake Error: The source "/root/kdesupport/CMakeLists.txt" does not match the source "/root/kdesupport/cpptoxml/CMakeLists.txt" used to generate cache. Re-run cmake with a different source directory.

root@athenaion:~/kdesupport/cpptoxml# cmake CMakeLists.txt
CMake Error at /usr/local/share/cmake-2.6/Modules/FindQt4.cmake:1664 (MESSAGE):
Qt qmake not found!
Call Stack (most recent call first):
CMakeLists.txt:29 (find_package)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

root@athenaion:~/kdesupport/cpptoxml# find / -name "qmake"
/usr/bin/qmake
/usr/bin/32/qmake
/usr/doc/HTML/en/kdevelop-apidocs/buildtools/lib/parsers/qmake
/usr/lib/qt-3.3.8b/bin/qmake
/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3/bin/qmake
/usr/include/kdevelop/buildtools/parsers/qmake
/usr/lib64/qt-3.3.8b/bin/qmake

--------------------------------
I may have got a more complicated error at first, and I think I managed to compile something after editing makefiles (using Slamd64 instructions,) maybe just by making in each directory like above, but it seems kdesupport is just not recognizing qmake (qtmake?) If it did for me before, then there was a 64-bit problem that I tried to fix as per Slamd64 instructions, which are for gcc and imply what to do for make, not qtmake.


programmer since 1993, UNIX user since 1997, X/KDE user since '0s, forum member since 2008-11
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: compiling on 64-bit?

Sun Dec 07, 2008 6:35 am
Should have no problem with 64 bit. Could you please post the output of these two commands and your $PATH variable please?
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/qmake --version
/usr/bin/32/qmake --version


$PATH usually doesn't include lib directories, or documentation, so those look like the only valid ones that would be found. It also looks like you have Qt3 installed, which is probably why it doesn't find it but those commands above will show why it isn't being found.

Also, it looks like you are trying to perform an in-source build, which is not recommended. I would strongly recommend performing an out-of-source build, for which I believe instructions are available on techbase.

Last edited by bcooksley on Sun Dec 07, 2008 6:39 am, edited 1 time in total.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
dchmelik
Registered Member
Posts
54
Karma
0
OS

RE: compiling on 64-bit?

Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:24 am
bcooksley wrote:Should have no problem with 64 bit. Could you please post the output of these two commands and your $PATH variable please?


/usr/bin/qmake --version
/usr/bin/32/qmake --version[/code]
Qmake version: 1.07a (Qt 3.3.8b)
Qmake is free software from Trolltech ASA.
root@athenaion:~# /usr/bin/32/qmake --version
Qmake version: 1.07a (Qt 3.3.8b)

[...]It also looks like you have Qt3 installed, which is probably why it doesn't find it but those commands above will show why it isn't being found.


I had only Qt4.4.3 installed, but after I posted I reinstalled 3.3.8 for something else.

Also, it looks like you are trying to perform an in-source build, which is not recommended. I would strongly recommend performing an out-of-source build, for which I believe instructions are available on techbase.


I know not what you mean, but techbase is what I have been reading. It seems to have helped, but I have not been able to finish compiling yet.

--David

Last edited by dchmelik on Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:04 am, edited 1 time in total.


programmer since 1993, UNIX user since 1997, X/KDE user since '0s, forum member since 2008-11
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: compiling on 64-bit?

Sun Dec 07, 2008 7:53 pm
The reason it says it cannot find QMake is because /usr/bin/qmake is the Qt3 version, and cannot be used with KDE 4 ( using Qt4 ). Unless you need to develop Qt3 applications, you should not need the Qt3 development tools.

Try running CMake like this instead:
Code: Select all
export CMAKE_SEARCH_PREFIX=/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.4.3
cmake  -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
dchmelik
Registered Member
Posts
54
Karma
0
OS

RE: compiling on 64-bit?

Tue Dec 23, 2008 10:49 am
It is unclear whether to make KDE support first, or at the same time as the rest of KDE, and where to type what you wrote. I tried it but it did not find CMakeLists.txt again, maybe because my KDE source is archived.

This returns when I try tar -xjvf on it all written out after tar:

tar: kdelibs-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kgraphviewer-2.0.2-kde4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kcoloredit-2.0.0-kde4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdemultimedia-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kiconedit-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kde-l10n-en_GB-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdenetwork-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kmldonkey-2.0.2-kde4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdeadmin-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdepim-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: konq-plugins-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdebase-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: depimlibs-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kopete-cryptography-1.3.0-kde4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdebase-runtime-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdeplasma-addons-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kpovmodeler-1.1.3-kde4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdebase-workspace-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdesdk-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: phonon-4.2.0.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdebindings-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdeutils-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: skanlite-0.2-kde4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdeedu-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdewebdev-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kdegraphics-4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive
tar: kgrab-0.1.1-kde4.1.3.tar.bz2: Not found in archive

I know tar -xjvf with the filenames or *z2 (not *2) after is right. The bz2 files have normal megabyte sizes, but any I tried unarchiving alone or looking in in Konqueror showed similar longer messages.) It is really odd.

I suspect Slamd64 12.1 may be out soon anyway. Maybe after some console stuff though, any new KDE is what I like to try compiling 1st on new GNU/Linux installations (or NetBSD when I used it often: pkgsrc is released often and usually can automatically compile anything in it including KDE.)


programmer since 1993, UNIX user since 1997, X/KDE user since '0s, forum member since 2008-11
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: compiling on 64-bit?  Topic is solved

Tue Dec 23, 2008 8:37 pm
It is recommended to compile the packages in this order:
  • qt-copy (if not using distro packages, you can use them)
  • kdesupport
  • kdelibs
  • kdepimlibs

If would like something to automate most of the build process, I would recommend kdesvn-build. All you have to do is change a config file and give it a directory to itself. Assuming you have the dependencies installed, all will build well. I use this.

The list of minimal dependencies, exclude automoc4, libqt4-devel and libQtWebKit-devel if you want to build qt-copy.
Code: Select all
cmake
libical-devel
alsa-devel
automoc4
avahi-devel
patch
cups-devel
libbz2-devel
avahi-compat-mDNSResponder-devel
hal-devel
xorg-x11-devel
libQtWebkit-devel
libxml2-devel
clucene-core-devel
boost-devel
libjpeg-devel
liblrdf-devel
libpng-devel
libxslt-devel
libredland-devel
Mesa-devel
giflib-devel
subversion
gcc-c++
gmp-devel
xine-devel
libgpgme-devel
pcre-devel
dbus-1-devel
libqt4-devel


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]