This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[SOLVED] kdepimlibs make error

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
nebloof
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

[SOLVED] kdepimlibs make error

Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:20 am
I trying to compile the sources from KDE 4.2 beta (the 4.1.85 sources)

I've successfully compiled and installed kdesetup and kdelibs.

When I run make on kdepimlibs, I get these error messages:

/root/KDE 4.2/kdepimlibs/kdepimlibs-4.1.85/akonadi/agenttypedialog.cpp:43: undefined reference to 'KFilterProxySearchLine::KFilterProxySearchLine(*QWidget)'

/root/KDE 4.2/kdepimlibs/kdepimlibs-4.1.85/akonadi/agenttypedialog.cpp:49: undefined reference to 'KFilterProxySearchLine::setProxy(QSortFilterProxyModel*)'

/root/KDE 4.2/kdepimlibs/kdepimlibs-4.1.85/akonadi/agenttypedialog.cpp:43: undefined reference to 'KFilterProxySearchLine::KFilterProxySearchLine(*QWidget)'

/root/KDE 4.2/kdepimlibs/kdepimlibs-4.1.85/akonadi/agenttypedialog.cpp:49: undefined reference to 'KFilterProxySearchLine::setProxy(QSortFilterProxyModel*)'

I've even tried make -k and it'll stop at 75%

Can anyone tell me what I need to do to get kdepimlibs to compile?
I'm running Slackware Linux if this helps (So I don't have the convenience of packages yet. Slackware testing only contains KDE 4.1.3).

Last edited by nebloof on Thu Jan 01, 2009 8:55 am, edited 1 time in total.


nebloof, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: kdepimlibs make error

Thu Jan 01, 2009 6:56 am
KFilterProxySearch line is part of kdeui, which is part of kdelibs. Could you try executing the following command?
Code: Select all
export CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH="/root/KDE 4.2/kdelibs-4.1.85":"/root/KDE 4.2/kdesupport-4.1.85"


Please alter the paths appropriately to point to the install location ( not the sources ) for kdelibs and kdesupport, then rebuilding kdelibs followed by kdepimlibs to ensure changes are fully propegated. You may need to clean the build system completely and start afresh. It is likely it is finding your 4.1 installation, which is causing this problem

Last edited by bcooksley on Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
nebloof
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

RE: kdepimlibs make error

Thu Jan 01, 2009 8:40 am
That was it!!! Thank you so much. I've been ripping my hair out trying to figure out how to make kdepimlibs. I'm a bit of a noob when comes to the variable paths.

After I ran the export command and did another cmake && make with kdelibs, it built a bunch of other stuff that wasn't originally made. Same with kdepimlibs.


nebloof, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: kdepimlibs make error

Thu Jan 01, 2009 8:53 am
No problem, If this issue is fully resolved, could you please add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the thread subject? Thanks in advance.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
nebloof
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

RE: [SOLVED] kdepimlibs make error

Thu Jan 01, 2009 8:56 am
One more quick question. Is it better to leave KDE 4.1.3 installed, or do I need to remove the packages?

Or I guess, what's the proper way of upgrading 4.1.3 to 4.2?
Can I run make and make install, or do I need to remove 4.1.3 first?


nebloof, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: [SOLVED] kdepimlibs make error

Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:27 am
As long as you pass "-DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/path/where/to/install/trunk" to CMake when you configure the module, then it will be installed there, and you can keep KDE 4.1 without problems.

This is the procedure I used to install Trunk:

Open Konsole, and switch to root ( su )
1: Created /opt/trunk-kde as root, and added a user "trunk"
2: Changed the ownership of /opt/trunk-kde to "trunk"
3: created a script under /opt/trunk-kde called kde-env-vars with the text below
4: Added "source /opt/trunk-kde/kde-env-vars" to /home/trunk/.bashrc

Now logout of your normal user, and login to the new trunk user
1: Configured each KDE Trunk module I was installing with the install prefix /opt/trunk-kde
2: Installed each module as normal.
DONE: From now, when I log into that user KDE 4 Trunk is launched instead of KDE 4.1

Code: Select all
if [ -z "${KDE_ENV_SET}" ]; then
    # export KDEDIR so the appropriate Trunk KDE is used
    export KDEDIR="/opt/trunk-kde"                             
    export KDEDIRS="${KDEDIR}"

    export PATH="${KDEDIR}/bin":"${PATH}"
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="${KDEDIR}/lib"
    export CMAKE_PREFIX_PATH="${KDEDIR}"

    export KDEHOME="${HOME}/.kde4-trunk/"

    # Set the XDG data path, helps finding plugins, etc
    export XDG_DATA_DIRS="${KDEDIR}/share:${XDG_DATA_DIRS}"

    # Don't accidentally get sourced again.
    export KDE_ENV_SET=1
fi

Last edited by bcooksley on Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
nebloof
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

RE: [SOLVED] kdepimlibs make error

Thu Jan 01, 2009 9:38 am
Ok great! Thank you so much for your help. After I installed kde-runtime, kde-workspace, and kdeapps, KDE 4.2 is usable. I'm compiling from XFCE4 so that I can have fast access to firefox here, but just testing what's installed so far, I'm loving KDE 4.2. It seems faster than 4.1.


nebloof, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]