This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Restore default KDE4 taskbar settings

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
zerogeer6
Registered Member
I somehow managed to delete the taskbar from my new install of KDE 4. I was trying to remove one of the extra clocks and such it had two of on the tray and everything went downhill from there. Can someone please help me and let me know how to restore this back to its original form? I am rather new to Linux, treat me like a new Windows convert and walk me through. I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks in advance!
Zarin
KDE Developer
OS
Do the following in a terminal:
Code: Select all
kquitapp plasma
rm ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-appletsrc
plasma &
zerogeer6
Registered Member
Zarin wrote:Do the following in a terminal:
Code: Select all
kquitapp plasma
rm ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-appletsrc
plasma &

On the money, thank you kindly for your help. I wish there would have been something in the FAQ about these 'oh ****' situations. I am sure I am not the only one who has done this before. :)
Cypher
Registered Member
OS
Alternatively, you can re-add the widget to the panel by using the Add Widget menu. Unlock the widgets to do so, and click the Add Widget, all using the Cashew or by right-clicking on the desktop.

Cypher, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
broncotrolley
Registered Member
So....I seem to have messed up my panel quite a bit. When I try to add widgets to the bottom panel they dont work in some way...the app launcher is shows up in the middle, the taskbar creates weird lines everywhere...basically that option won't work. So then I tried following the instructions here, only to find that ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-appletsrc does not exists. In fact, I don't even have a .kde4 FOLDER.

I installed kde 4 from an ubuntu installation using aptitude install kubuntu-kde4-desktop. What is going on.
neverendingo
Administrator
OS