This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Trying to remove a cashew panel.

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
scatterbrainz
Registered Member

Trying to remove a cashew panel.

Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:54 am
Greetings Everyone,

I'm kinda new to KDE Plasma. (Versions n' stuffs below). I'm kinda frustrated. I have a friend who keeps raving about KDE plasma, but its driving me bananas. SO I thought I'd give the forum a try and see if I could get some advice and info.

Linux Distro -> Centos 7.7.1908(core)
KDE - Plasma -> 4.14.8 (according to research this is the latest updated version for Centos 7).

I'm trying to create a less busy environment with panels everywhere. Just would like 1 main one. That said.

#1. How do I remove text from icons in the panel - have it icons ONLY?
#2. How do I remove that activities widget (red/blue/green dot)?
#3. How do I remove that cashew Desktop panel top right corner of every display I have (there's 2x display).
(apparently there's no spot to add an image here)?

Much appreciate the info and help. Its a little confusing trying to install themes and everything - I'm sure its a learning curve, might take a bit of time.

Best Wishes,

-Scatterbrainz
airdrik
Registered Member
OS
#1 - switch to a different task manager widget. When you right-click on the space beside the taskbar entries, you should get options for configuring the Task Manager and one for Alternatives.... Click on Alternatives... and then pick Icons-only Task Manager.
#2 - to remove widgets from the panel, right-click on just about anything on the panel and select Panel Options > Panel Settings, or click on the Panel Settings button on the right/bottom end of the panel. When the Panel Settings pane comes up, hover over the widget you want to remove and then hit the X in the handle that appears over the widget.
#3 - Right-click on the desktop and select Configure Desktop. Under Tweaks, uncheck Show the desktop toolbox.