This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Event (alarm) sound not working

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
conyia
Registered Member

Event (alarm) sound not working

Fri Jun 25, 2021 1:14 pm
I do not get any sounds when new events are generated on my SCADA system. I think the problem has to do with my kmix settings or probably a bug on Kmix. I am new to Kmix and Linux sound system in general, so please pardon my questions :)

On a normal working condition, whenever a new event is generated on my SCADA system, I hear the alarm sound and when I type Kmix on my xterminal, the KDE mixer control opens up, and then each time a new event is general, this code line >>> >>>" Sink_input_cb : Ignoring sink-input due to it being designated as an event and thus handled by the event slider">>>>>>> keeps executing on my xterminal until the alarm is acknowledged or silenced. This happens when the alarm sound is working.

Now the alarm sound is no more working and when I open kmix from the terminal, new events occur, nothing happens, the lines of code do not execute anymore which was the case for a normal working condition as explained above.

Things I have tried:
1. Checked alsamixer to ensure that my speaker or any playback item was not muted
2. Checked the SCADA display to ensure alerts/alarms were not muted
3. Confirmed that the speaker is on and volume turned up
4. Checked Kmix to ensure output speaker was not on mute and was on the right master channel.

When I do the speaker test from the terminal everything works good but yet I don't get events sound, maybe it has something to do with the event slider? I have run out of ideas now.

NB: I use RedHat Linux, HP PC, KDE, Alsamixer....
Mamarok
Manager
OS

Re: Event (alarm) sound not working

Fri Jun 25, 2021 1:58 pm
Which exact version of Plasma are you using? What did you change when the alarm stopped working?