This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

network manager applet plasmoid....

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
DanielW
KDE Developer
Posts
71
Karma
0
OS
dcrabs wrote:That looks different here
Code: Select all
david@farnsworth ~/build/kde4/plasma/applets/networkmanager % make help
The following are some of the valid targets for this Makefile:
... all (the default if no target is provided)
... clean
... depend
... edit_cache
... rebuild_cache
... test


I guess I would need make install.


Well, you also need the others. The one which build the plasma applet and the other things needed for it.

You are doing something wrong with cmake.

And I do not really understand why you modified the CMakeList.txt but if done right it should not harm.

How exactly do you call cmake?


DanielW, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
dcrabs
Registered Member
Posts
81
Karma
0
OS
DanielW wrote:[...]

Well, you also need the others. The one which build the plasma applet and the other things needed for it.

You are doing something wrong with cmake.

And I do not really understand why you modified the CMakeList.txt but if done right it should not harm.

How exactly do you call cmake?


In the plasma dir I call it with
Code: Select all
cmake CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr .


Basically, I commented missing subdirectories out. But I will try again and pay more attention about these directories. Maybe I missed something.


dcrabs, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
DanielW
KDE Developer
Posts
71
Karma
0
OS
Code: Select all
cmake CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr .


Basically, I commented missing subdirectories out. But I will try again and pay more attention about these directories. Maybe I missed something.


Mhhm, so you use your source dir as your build dir..

Never done that as it is unusal. But mhh i believe it should work.

And missing directories? You only checked out the nm folder from playground plasma? OK, i got all of it, that makes things easier. (but also only build the NM applet)


DanielW, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
dcrabs
Registered Member
Posts
81
Karma
0
OS
DanielW wrote:
Code: Select all
cmake CMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=/usr .


Basically, I commented missing subdirectories out. But I will try again and pay more attention about these directories. Maybe I missed something.


Mhhm, so you use your source dir as your build dir..

Never done that as it is unusal. But mhh i believe it should work.

And missing directories? You only checked out the nm folder from playground plasma? OK, i got all of it, that makes things easier. (but also only build the NM applet)


I tried with a build-directory too but that doesn't change things.

I checked out .../plasma/applets/networkmanager cause that's what usually works with other plasmoids.

UPDATE: I tried to checkout the complete plasma tree. Same problem. now it starts to be annoying. :)

Last edited by dcrabs on Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.


dcrabs, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
DanielW
KDE Developer
Posts
71
Karma
0
OS
dcrabs wrote:UPDATE: I tried to checkout the complete plasma tree. Same problem. now it starts to be annoying. :)


Ok here is what i really have done: (retried it now)

Code: Select all
[kde-devel@newlapi ownbuild]$ mkdir nm
[kde-devel@newlapi ownbuild]$ cd nm/ 
[kde-devel@newlapi nm]$ mkdir src
[kde-devel@newlapi nm]$ cd src   
[kde-devel@newlapi src]$ svn co svn+ssh://danielw@svn.kde.org/home/kde/trunk/playground/base/plasma
Enter passphrase for key '/home/kde-devel/.ssh/id_dsa':     

[checkout worked without errors]

[kde-devel@newlapi src]$ cd ..                                                                             
[kde-devel@newlapi nm]$ mkdir build
[kde-devel@newlapi nm]$ cd build/ 
[kde-devel@newlapi build]$ cmake ../../src/plasma/ -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=$KDEDIR -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=debugfull

[cmake started, but stoped with some errors because some the applets still use the old find_package(plasma)]

[kde-devel@newlapi build]$ cd applets/networkmanager/
[kde-devel@newlapi networkmanager]$ pwd
/home/kde-devel/ownbuild/nm/build/applets/networkmanager

[kde-devel@newlapi networkmanager]$ cmake ../../../src/plasma/applets/networkmanager/ -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=$KDEDIR -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=debugfull

[that cmake runs through without problems]

and finaly:

[kde-devel@newlapi networkmanager]$ make help
makeobj[0]: Entering directory `/home/kde-devel/ownbuild/nm/build/applets/networkmanager'
The following are some of the valid targets for this Makefile:
... all (the default if no target is provided)
... clean
... depend
... edit_cache
... install
... install/local
... install/strip
... list_install_components
... rebuild_cache
... test
... uninstall
... plasma_applet_networkmanager
... knmstorage
... knmui
... knmdbus
... testconfigxml
... kcm_knetworkmanager
... knetworkmanager_configshell
... kded_knetworkmanager
... knetworkmanager4_openvpnui
... knetworkmanager4_vpncui
makeobj[0]: Leaving directory `/home/kde-devel/ownbuild/nm/build/applets/networkmanager'
[kde-devel@newlapi networkmanager]$




DanielW, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
dcrabs
Registered Member
Posts
81
Karma
0
OS
Code: Select all
[...]
[kde-devel@newlapi src]$ cd ..                                                                             
[kde-devel@newlapi nm]$ mkdir build
[kde-devel@newlapi nm]$ cd build/ 
[kde-devel@newlapi build]$ cmake ../../src/plasma/ -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=$KDEDIR -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=debugfull
[...]

I did exactly the same steps you wrote with the same result. The only difference here is that I have to write:
cmake ../src/plasma/ -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=$KDEDIR -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=debugfull
The rest is the same. Thanks for the help anyway. I think I try to verify that cmake works correctly first but I think it does.

Well, other plasmoids from this checkout compile without problems.

Last edited by dcrabs on Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.


dcrabs, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
einar
Administrator
Posts
3402
Karma
7
OS
Why are you calling cmake twice ? Only once in the top-level directory should be enough.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
User avatar
dcrabs
Registered Member
Posts
81
Karma
0
OS
einar wrote:Why are you calling cmake twice ? Only once in the top-level directory should be enough.


Well, that doesn't change it either. Still nothing when I execute make.


dcrabs, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
DanielW
KDE Developer
Posts
71
Karma
0
OS
einar wrote:Why are you calling cmake twice ? Only once in the top-level directory should be enough.


As I explained it: Some applets there (playground/base/plasma) have broken (for 4.2) CMakeList.txts using the old plasma vars. That stops cmake.


DanielW, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
dcrabs
Registered Member
Posts
81
Karma
0
OS
I guess it is solved here. After I installed networkmanager daemon additionally to libnetworkmanager it compiles. These are the lines in cmake that changed:
Code: Select all
-- checking for one of the modules 'NetworkManager'                       
--   found NetworkManager, version 0.7.0                 
-- Found NetworkManager 0.7.0:                                                   
-- Found libnm-util:


One thing is strange though. If that is a show stopper, shouldn't cmake show an error message? And before it found libnm 0.7.0, at least something similar so that I thought it was OK.


dcrabs, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
DanielW
KDE Developer
Posts
71
Karma
0
OS
dcrabs wrote:One thing is strange though. If that is a show stopper, shouldn't cmake show an error message? And before it found libnm 0.7.0, at least something similar so that I thought it was OK.


Yes, it should.. Somehow inform that it will not get build because of a missing dependency. If you want to file a bug report about it.


DanielW, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar
dcrabs
Registered Member
Posts
81
Karma
0
OS
DanielW wrote:
dcrabs wrote:One thing is strange though. If that is a show stopper, shouldn't cmake show an error message? And before it found libnm 0.7.0, at least something similar so that I thought it was OK.


Yes, it should.. Somehow inform that it will not get build because of a missing dependency. If you want to file a bug report about it.

Filed a bug report here: 180033


dcrabs, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
doctorzoidberg
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
Ok, now you can compile, but... how to connect to a wireless network?
On my machine (gentoo - kde 4.2 beta2) when I click on a network name, a configuration window pops up, and after filling the needed field and clicking ok....nothing happens!
A PolicyKit issue?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Probably a mark of how still in development the Plasmoid is.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
dcrabs
Registered Member
Posts
81
Karma
0
OS
It doesn't work here either. I get an empty plasmoid. Config options don't allow me to configure anything. Everyting except the vpn tab is greyed out.
Somehow he had to make the screenshots :) So I keep on trying.


dcrabs, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], q.ignora, watchstar