This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

How to always maximize the panel horizontically?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Have you tried removing the Plasma configuration prior to testing this?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
ronnystandtke
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0
OS
bcooksley wrote:Have you tried removing the Plasma configuration prior to testing this?


Yes, I did. I am currently trying on my machines at home (weekend, you know...) and found a way to easily reproduce the problem. Here are the instructions for Kubuntu 10.10 (please adopt to other distros...):

1) Enable XDMCP
a) set Enable=true in the [Xdmcp] section of /etc/kde4/kdm/kdmrc
b) uncomment the following line in /etc/kde4/kdm/Xaccess
#* #any host can get a login window
c) restart kdm or just reboot

2) Install the package "xserver-xephyr"

3) Create a test user.

4) Execute the following command to simulate a small screen resolution (you may adopt the screen values to your needs):
Xephyr :1 -broadcast -screen 1024x768

5) Log in as the newly created test user (notice or make sure that the panel consumes the whole screen width).

6) Log out.

7) Exit Xephyr.

8) Execute the following command to simulate a large screen resolution (you may again adopt the screen values to your needs):
Xephyr :1 -broadcast -screen 1200x900

9) Log in again as the newly created test user.

Now you can see the effect that happens to the panel of our users when they switch from a machine with a smaller screen to a machine with a larger screen.

Kubuntu 10.10 uses KDE-4.5, so the issue seems not to be fixed there.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Can you please check the value of the "lastsize" key in ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktoprc and post it back here?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
ronnystandtke
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0
OS
bcooksley wrote:Can you please check the value of the "lastsize" key in ~/.kde4/share/config/plasma-desktoprc and post it back here?

Strange... there is no "lastsize" key in the plasma-desktoprc of my test user.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
A developer has committed a change to KDE 4.6 which should resolve this problem, as changing resolution whilst Plasma was not running did not cause the key to be set, preventing the automatic expansion from taking place.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
ronnystandtke
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0
OS
Thank you very much for this information and for your support! I will try the next KDE 4.6 version then.
ronnystandtke
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0
OS
bcooksley wrote:A developer has committed a change to KDE 4.6 which should resolve this problem, as changing resolution whilst Plasma was not running did not cause the key to be set, preventing the automatic expansion from taking place.


I just tried with the latest 4.6 packages for (K)ubuntu and, unfortunately, it does not work here.

I don't know if I have a configuration issue here or if the issue is really not fixed in the code. Can you, please, test with Xephyr as described above to verify that the issue is fixed?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Can you please reconfirm under a new user? According to developers this is fixed.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
aseigo
KDE Developer
Posts
124
Karma
2
a) ensure that plasma-desktoprc is removed first before testing (new user works nicely as well)
b) after the first run, check for the lastsize entry in plasma-destoprc

anything that doesn't include the above 2 things will not have enough of the right sort of information to be actionable. thanks.


aseigo, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
Sir_Brizz
Registered Member
Posts
28
Karma
0
OS
Seems like this could be related to this bug I opened...

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=249524

It's even worse in 4.6 than it was in 4.5.
ronnystandtke
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0
OS
Here is another test run I just did:

I removed plasma-desktoprc.

I started with a small resolution:
Code: Select all
Xephyr :1 -broadcast -screen 1024x768


logged in -> good, panel used maximum screen width
logged out
exited Xephyr

plasma-desktoprc:
Code: Select all
[PlasmaViews][1]
panelVisibility=0

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes]
lastsize=1024

[Updates]
performed=/usr/share/kubuntu-default-settings/kde4-profile/default/share/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/02-kubuntu-menu-icon.js,/usr/share/kubuntu-default-settings/kde4-profile/default/share/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/01-kubuntu-10.04.js,/usr/share/kde4/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/systray-to-notifications-widget.js

[ViewIds]
1=2
4=1


I started with a larger resolution:
Code: Select all
Xephyr :1 -broadcast -screen 1200x900


logged in -> good, panel used maximum screen width
logged out
exited Xephyr

new plasma-desktoprc:
Code: Select all
[PlasmaViews][1]
panelVisibility=0

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes]
lastsize=1200

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes][Horizontal1024]
max=-1,-1
min=-1,-1
offset=0
size=800,600

[Updates]
performed=/usr/share/kubuntu-default-settings/kde4-profile/default/share/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/02-kubuntu-menu-icon.js,/usr/share/kubuntu-default-settings/kde4-profile/default/share/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/01-kubuntu-10.04.js,/usr/share/kde4/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/systray-to-notifications-widget.js

[ViewIds]
1=2
4=1


I started again with a small resolution:
Code: Select all
Xephyr :1 -broadcast -screen 1024x768


logged in -> bad, panel was *larger* than maximum screen width
maximized panel
logged out
exited Xephyr

new plasma-desktoprc:
Code: Select all
[PlasmaViews][1]
panelVisibility=0

[PlasmaViews][1][Horizontal1024]
offset=0

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes]
lastsize=1024

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes][Horizontal1024]
max=-1,-1
min=-1,-1
offset=0
size=800,600

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes][Horizontal1200]
max=-1,-1
min=-1,-1
offset=0
size=682,512

[Updates]
performed=/usr/share/kubuntu-default-settings/kde4-profile/default/share/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/02-kubuntu-menu-icon.js,/usr/share/kubuntu-default-settings/kde4-profile/default/share/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/01-kubuntu-10.04.js,/usr/share/kde4/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/systray-to-notifications-widget.js

[ViewIds]
1=2
4=1


I started again with a larger resolution:
Code: Select all
Xephyr :1 -broadcast -screen 1200x900


logged in -> bad, panel was *smaller* than maximum screen width
maximized panel
logged out
exited Xephyr

new plasma-desktoprc:
Code: Select all
[PlasmaViews][1]
panelVisibility=0

[PlasmaViews][1][Horizontal1024]
offset=0

[PlasmaViews][1][Horizontal1200]
offset=0

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes]
lastsize=1200

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes][Horizontal1024]
max=-1,-1
min=-1,-1
offset=0
size=800,600

[PlasmaViews][1][Sizes][Horizontal1200]
max=-1,-1
min=-1,-1
offset=0
size=682,512

[Updates]
performed=/usr/share/kubuntu-default-settings/kde4-profile/default/share/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/02-kubuntu-menu-icon.js,/usr/share/kubuntu-default-settings/kde4-profile/default/share/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/01-kubuntu-10.04.js,/usr/share/kde4/apps/plasma-desktop/updates/systray-to-notifications-widget.js

[ViewIds]
1=2
4=1


I started again with a small resolution:
Code: Select all
Xephyr :1 -broadcast -screen 1024x768


logged in -> bad, panel was *larger* than maximum screen width
maximized panel
logged out
exited Xephyr

in plasma-desktoprc only the value "lastSize" changed from 1200 to 1024

From now on, when taking turns between small and large resolution, the panel size is always too small with the large resolution or too large with the small resolution and the only value that changes inplasma-desktoprc is the value "lastSize".
ronnystandtke
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0
OS
ronnystandtke wrote:Here is another test run I just did: ...


Anyone who can confirm the issue?
If yes, should I file a bug report or is this already being worked on?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
I would recommend a bug report at this time, assuming you can reproduce under KDE 4.6.1.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar
TheBlackCat
Registered Member
Posts
2945
Karma
8
OS
There is already a bug report, but the problem has proven notoriously difficult to fix in practice.


Man is the lowest-cost, 150-pound, nonlinear, all-purpose computer system which can be mass-produced by unskilled labor.
-NASA in 1965
ronnystandtke
Registered Member
Posts
19
Karma
0
OS
TheBlackCat wrote:There is already a bug report, but the problem has proven notoriously difficult to fix in practice.


Thanks for the info, I searched the kde bugs database and found the following bug reports already describing this issue:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=265051
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=209962
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=266112

There seems to be a fix on its way:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=209962#c22


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]