This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

CSV importer mixes: description, payee, memo fields

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
surcouf
Registered Member
Hello,

I am discovering KmyMoney and it looks very promising.
I have been doing my personal accounting using LibreOffice Calc for 10 years now and therefore i would like to import this historical data into Kmymoney (import from CSV file).

My CSV historic file has several columns, the relevant ones for the import are:
  1. date
  2. amount
  3. transaction detail or comment
  4. category
  5. payee
This is my first try of mapping the source and target fields.

1. first approach: target field "payee/description is fed by source field "payee" alone, see picture (click on picture to enlarge):
    What i like: the payees are "clean". They are only payees ( without more details :), see second approach below)
    What i don't like: in Ledgers -> Transaction view -> the column "details" shows the payee. the column name "details" is misleading, i would expect there to see the CSV source field "transaction detail or comment" there, which is only visible in the memo target field, which is only shown while clicking on a single transaction.
  2. second approach: a) target field "payee/description is fed by source field "transaction detail or comment" alone, b) target field "memo" ist fed by both source fields "transaction description" and "payee" (to be safe), see picture (click on picture to enlarge):
    What i like: in Ledgers -> Transaction view -> the column "details" shows the transaction details, as i would expect intuitively expect. the column name "details" is not misleading,
    What i don't like: in Payees -> the payees are not "clean". Every single transaction details is a payee now.