This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

From Plasma sceptic to evangelist ;-)

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
gertvs
Registered Member
I am a professional software developer coming from a Microsoft background. Many years ago I felt the need, for a variety of reasons, to try to migrate away from Windows, both as a user, as to develop (exclusively) software for. I started to install Linux systems for evaluation and got some experience with Red Hat, Suse etc, but it wasn't until I found a polished distribution as Ubuntu and a viable way to run Windows (Virtual Box) that I could really start using Linux as my primary OS (I needed virtualization to be able to run my Microsoft IDE's which our software was targeted at until then).

So at that point I used Ubuntu Linux for all my work except developing. A big step forward! I was so happy with Ubuntu that I didn't even feel any need at the time to experiment with other Desktop Environments, although before establishing on Ubuntu I had always preferred KDE. I followed everything Linux and became aware of KDE upcoming Plasma 4.0 release and the hype about it made me decide to try it as soon as a stable release would be made available. Once it did I installed it on a laptop and was utterly disappointed to find out that it was full with bugs and glitches, and missing features.
Mind you, I liked the looks, appreciated the new design paradigms, admired the people who where creating this, but realised that the software was nowhere near to being ready to be used by people with a need to get their daily work done.