This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

How to ensure a stable installation?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
creekblue
Registered Member
KDE friends:

I'm a perpetual KDE/Linux newbie; I have been for about 10 years now. I dip my toes into the water about once or twice a year, invest many sleepless nights getting my fix, and slowly return to Windows.

Last December I built myself a new workstation. For me, a fantastic upgrade. Nothing earth shattering, but I have a Phenom x4 3.7, 120 gig SSD (mushkin), Asus mb, nVidia graphics, etc. I spent quite a few nights tinkering in Kubuntu 11.10 then 12.04 this last spring. I inevitably seem capable of either breaking my Kubuntu installation or rendering it so buggy and unstable I can't stand to use it. Yes, over and over again. I made 12.04 unworkable in record time (about three days I think). I am an eye candy junkie, so that is ONE of my problems - but my biggest one is my lack of knowledge with text commands in Linux in general. I've never invested the time. I return to my comment about eye candy: you see, I like check boxes and dialog screens. Windows is my friend in this regard, I get along fine in that environment. If not for my penchant in building and tweaking hardware, I'm sure I'd like Apple too.

So, my point in all this: how can I ensure a more stable long term relationship with KDE? Where can I go to learn the pitfalls with Linux? Which distro is best for KDE? Which apps should I avoid within a KDE environment? I detest everything else I've tried, and I've tried many versions of Gnome environments through both Ubuntu, LinuxMint and Suse. I prefer the Ubuntu/debian based distros personally, but am open to anything if I can make it a longer term relationship. I think KDE is just beautiful for the most part (some of it looks garish - when will linux operating systems get rid of shiny, fat, puffy stars for example?)