This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

[SOLVED] Are there bindings to other libs?

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
Seb
Registered Member
Hi!

I am new to Eigen2. What concerns me is the interoperability with other libs, such as uBlas.

In my project I make use of sparse and dense linalg objects. I am planning to start porting parts of the project to eigen2 while keeping uBlas at those places where it provides features Eigen2 does not support yet. Therefore, I often efficiently need to apply linalg operations onto mixed eigen2/ublas objects.

uBlas solved bindings to other linalg packages by providing a double* data array which is filled according to the predefined storage format (eg. sparse row_major, dense column_major) . Frankly, I have not seen in the API doc how I can swap the contents of an Eigen2 sparse_matrix with an uBlas compact-matrix or dense vectors. (eg. read data from BLAS data/ export data to BLAS) I also miss a function where I can efficiently fill a sparse matrix (for example, if I already know the sort order of the input data and want to avoid the sort() after an item was inserted).

In the case that the features I am asking for are not yet available, is there a special version of Eigen2 when I can expect them?

Thanks

Last edited by bjacob on Mon Dec 22, 2008 5:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
bjacob
Registered Member
Seb wrote:In my project I make use of sparse and dense linalg objects. I am planning to start porting parts of the project to eigen2 while keeping uBlas at those places where it provides features Eigen2 does not support yet. Therefore, I often efficiently need to apply linalg operations onto mixed eigen2/ublas objects.

Sounds reasonable.