This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

Eigen + VS2008 + DebugModus

Tags: None
(comma "," separated)
fk1985
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Eigen + VS2008 + DebugModus

Sat Oct 17, 2009 2:24 am
Hi,

What I'm trying to do:
Making my code run in Visual Studio 2008 with the compiler options from the "release"-modus and the "debug"-modus.

The "release"-modus works fine.

The "debug"-modus produces the runtime error: UnalignedArrayAssert
(details:
http://eigen.tuxfamily.org/dox/Unaligne ... ssert.html
http://eigen.tuxfamily.org/dox/StructHa ... mbers.html )

But just adding EIGEN_MAKE_ALIGNED_OPERATOR_NEW to the public part of the class does not work.

Which kinda makes sense, because as far as I know, the debugger initialises classes in it's own weird way, maybe overlooking the macro.

Any hints on how to solve this problem? (or which feature to turn of in the debug-modus?)
User avatar
bjacob
Registered Member
Posts
658
Karma
3

Re: Eigen + VS2008 + DebugModus  Topic is solved

Sat Oct 17, 2009 3:48 am
There's no particular feature to turn off in the debug-mode as opposed to the release-mode. The debug-mode uses assertions and just working around them is not good enough, you need to understand them and fix them, otherwise you'll get uncontrolled crashes in release-mode.

If EIGEN_MAKE_ALIGNED_OPERATOR_NEW doesn't do the trick for you, it might be either because the cause of the problem is different (there are 3 other causes for this assertion) or because you're not using this macro at the right place.

If you need more help, paste here
- a complete backtrace of your crash
- the relevant sections of your code, including where you put EIGEN_MAKE_ALIGNED_OPERATOR_NEW.


Join us on Eigen's IRC channel: #eigen on irc.freenode.net
Have a serious interest in Eigen? Then join the mailing list!
fk1985
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: Eigen + VS2008 + DebugModus

Sat Oct 17, 2009 1:42 pm
Hi,

It works now and it worked fine the first time. (for the ONE class I've implemented it)
The crashes occurred from other classes, that also needed the macro. ;D

But thanks for encouragement to take a second look at the crash site!


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], daret, Google [Bot], sandyvee, Sogou [Bot]