Registered Member
|
Add "Desktop Effects Suspend" Option in icon general or advanced setting like the ones "Enable launch feedback", "Place in system tray" etc. This is a must have for games. I know about "Desktop Effects Automatically Suspend As Needed in KDE 4.3" but that will not work. Every time you run a game will you then need to hit "shift alt f12" when you get out to turn DTE back on. This should be simple to implement, something like "kwin --disable-Desktop-Effects && %command && kwin --enable-Desktop-Effects". Of course the "kwin --disable-Desktop-Effects" would not be seen by uses. Also I know kwin --disable-Desktop-Effects is not a real command but it is and example. If there is a shall command please say.
Last edited by bcooksley on Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
|
Administrator
|
You can use DBus to ask KWin to Toggle / Turn Off / Turn On Compositing, which can be used in Desktop Files, which can be icons on your panel.
If org.kde.KWin.compositingActive returns "true" then simply call "org.kde.KWin.toggleCompositing" to switch it off.
KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img] |
Registered Member
|
http://kde-look.org/content/show.php/To ... tent=78299 <- wouldnt this fit your needs? If not sorry for misunderstanding you =)
PeperJohnny, proud to be a member of KDE since 2006-Dec.
Do you dare? |
Moderator
|
My thought exactly, but it would still be nice to somehow link shutting down of desktop effects and full screen apps. Or even as it was an idea in Ubuntu Brainstorm once, to start a new X-session with new user which would only consist of a 3D app; like a game or wine and game if game is made for windows.
Primoz, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
|
Registered Member
|
I have seen this but it would be nice to set an icon setting one time then be done with it for good. But thanks for the thought.
Last edited by jboss1995 on Thu Apr 09, 2009 10:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
|
Registered Member
|
This would work nicely for doing it manual but I tried it and did not work. This is what i got Error: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.UnknownMethod No such method 'toggleCompositing' in interface 'org.kde.KWin' at object path '/KWin' (signature '') Did i misspell it, I copied and pasted it. Still it would be so nice to have a setting on the icon. Thanks for the reply and please let me know the command, I would like to use it .
Last edited by jboss1995 on Thu Apr 09, 2009 11:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
|
Administrator
|
I think that was added to Trunk only recently so Powerdevil could use it.... You will either have to run trunk ( it isn't as unstable as it sounds ) or wait until KDE 4.3 is released.
KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img] |
KDE Developer
|
some thought on that: first please don't use the toggle compositing plasmoid from kde-look if you use KDE 4.2 or greater it disables compositing in a too radical way which was ok for 4.0 and 4.1 when we did not have the self-test.
Second: bcooksley already mentioned it. We have a d-bus call to suspend compositing. That is the prefered way to switch off compositing. This is already used by powerdevil, desktop effects settings module and the toggle compositing plasmoid in svn repository. By using a dbus call it is easy to write a small script, which first suspends compositing and then starts the application. Adding a switch to the application won't help as the application developers have to include it. (Do you think proprietary software will care about flags to disable compositing?) For applications that work with us the D-Bus call will be enough. E.g. having a setting to disable compositing if active at startup. |
Registered Member
|
Could you give me and example of c++ code to do this. This is what I have come up with so far.
I know this is off topic a little but iit would shre help me .
|
Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]