This forum has been archived. All content is frozen. Please use KDE Discuss instead.

make easily report of crash application

25

Votes
25
0
Tags: drkonqi drkonqi drkonqi
(comma "," separated)
User avatar
alex789
Registered Member
Posts
25
Karma
0
OS
need to make button:

that open alredy fulled form (version kde, ... etc)
with attached log (and maybe application config)
and with iframe for searching (to not make duplicate problem)

and button for 1-click install *-debug package

Last edited by bcooksley on Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
A rework of DrKonqi with bugzilla integration is currently a work in progress, and will hopefully be part of trunk. It will not support installing debug packages automatically due to distribution and platform differences


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Lukas
Registered Member
Posts
427
Karma
0
bcooksley wrote:A rework of DrKonqi with bugzilla integration is currently a work in progress, and will hopefully be part of trunk. It will not support installing debug packages automatically due to distribution and platform differences


why? If i can install *-debug from my repositories, why DrKonqi can't?
User avatar
Madman
Registered Member
Posts
593
Karma
1
OS
Because DrKonqi works on several different platforms, and has no way to tell whether it's using Ubuntu (apt-get), Mandriva (urpmi), Gentoo (emerge), Windows (?!?) or Mac OS (!?!).


Madman, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
Lukas
Registered Member
Posts
427
Karma
0
well in my opinion: regular home user uses most popular distributions > most popular distros/os uses most popular packet managers > there are very limited number of popular packet managers;
Only developers, advanced users uses unpopular/new etc packet managers > in most cases they wouldn't need automatic reporting as they are capable to do it themselves

Since it is very low number of possible packet managers, DrKonqi could easily check if there is eg /usr/bin/zypper etc file and by so detect the preferred installer.

I don't think it could be more than 100lines of code to implement this

Or I' am wrong?
User avatar
bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Unfortunately you are wrong, since it would require DrKonqi to also know the names of the packages in question. Being able to talk to the Package Manager is not a problem thanks to PackageKit.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Lukas
Registered Member
Posts
427
Karma
0
bcooksley wrote:Unfortunately you are wrong, since it would require DrKonqi to also know the names of the packages in question. Being able to talk to the Package Manager is not a problem thanks to PackageKit.


Well, I'm not an expert of packageKit, but something like this wouldn't work?
[php]
$st = false;

if (is_file (/usr/bin/apt-get)) {
$st = "apt-get install $program-debug";
} elseif (is_file (/usr/bin/zypper)) {
$st = "zypper in $program-debug";
} elseif (is_file (/usr/bin/urpmi)) {
$st = "urpmi get $program-debug";
}

if (!$st)
$error = " No known package manager found";
else {
if (exec($st))
$success = "Debug package installed"
else
$error = "Error occurred while installing debug package";
}

[/php]

Since any packet manager developers teem could submit lines
elseif (is_file ()){ $st = ""; } for their own apps don't see any problem

In example hp-lip (HP drivers) is able to detect OS and install all required dependencies by it own, so I assume it is possible to do it


Good day ;)
flo
Registered Member
Posts
22
Karma
0
OS
bcooksley wrote:Unfortunately you are wrong, since it would require DrKonqi to also know the names of the packages in question. Being able to talk to the Package Manager is not a problem thanks to PackageKit.

most package manager provides means to get from the executable-name to the package-name. And then simple heuristics (like adding "-debug" to the name) should be sufficient to get the debug-package.
User avatar
Dario_Andres
Mentor
Posts
67
Karma
3
OS
First of all: DrKonqi2 is currently on trunk and will be released with KDE4.3 :)
Second point: what if "Kopete" crashes on Ubuntu ? we need to install "kdenetwork-dbg" and may be "kdelibs5-dbg" too.
About cross-distro debug package installing, some people pointed me that a similar script exists to do that in some distributions. Anyways we are on feature freeze now. We can study it for KDE4.4
BTW: there is a related project about distributed-backtrace-generation when the user won't need debug symbols at all and the incomplete backtrace is sent to a server where it is "expanded" to get a complete backtrace (currently Ubuntu has something similar). For more information look at: http://www.nabble.com/GSoC-project%3A-C ... 27631.html
User avatar
TheBlackCat
Registered Member
Posts
2945
Karma
8
OS
I think as long as the package-manager allows searching by "provides" this should be possible with packagekit. The problem is what to do if packagekit crashes, which happens a lot with me.

Second point: what if "Kopete" crashes on Ubuntu ? we need to install "kdenetwork-dbg" and may be "kdelibs5-dbg" too.

That should be handled by the kopete debug package's dependencies. If not that is the distro's fault.

Last edited by TheBlackCat on Sun May 10, 2009 8:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Man is the lowest-cost, 150-pound, nonlinear, all-purpose computer system which can be mass-produced by unskilled labor.
-NASA in 1965
pembo13
Registered Member
Posts
75
Karma
0
OS
bcooksley wrote:A rework of DrKonqi with bugzilla integration is currently a work in progress, and will hopefully be part of trunk. It will not support installing debug packages automatically due to distribution and platform differences


Don't most major Linux distros have support for PackageKit now? Or this because of KDEs intended support for Windows?
mootchie
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0
I do not see much of a problem in this...

If there is support for PackageKit or some other supported package management backend then show packages, else just show a warning ("please install debug packages...").

It is not a very different situation from what now happens with KDE4 on windows, as there is no version of KWin / Plasma.
peaches
Registered Member
Posts
31
Karma
1
Yeah DrKonqi2 already does guess your distro and put it in the report. But I don't know about any of that.

I just want to add: alex, DrKonqi2 is like a surprise birthday party with lots of presents. It's awesome. You are totally going to love crashing from now on [v4.3+].
User avatar
Dario_Andres
Mentor
Posts
67
Karma
3
OS
The "Install Debug Symbols" option was added for KDE4.4; now the distributions should write the script implementation to do so; we already provide the interface.

Can this idea be marked as DONE ?

Regards
finex
KDE Developer
Posts
46
Karma
0
OS
IMHO it is done :-)


Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], gfielding, Google [Bot], Sogou [Bot]