Reply to topic

KWin redraw of screen is not fine

ravi.xolve
Registered Member
Posts
28
Karma
1
OS

KWin redraw of screen is not fine

Sun Jan 30, 2011 8:54 am
This is the problem I have noticed since KDE 4.5 . Right now, I am using KDE 4.6 on KUbuntu 10.10 .

The redraw of many widgets when using the KWin doesn't work correctly. Consider the following cases:

1. I open system settings and open one of the configuration options then some artifacts of the previous page remain. Either I have to move mouse all over to get the new page or switch and back the window.

2. In Firefox if I scroll down the page the page is not redraw correctly. I have to change move mouse all over the page to remove the broken text.

3. Toolbars are not drawn correctly for new windows.

If I use Compiz as my window manager, this problem doesn't occur.

Any solutions?
User avatar TheBlackCat
Registered Member
Posts
2945
Karma
8
OS
What type of graphics card and drive are you using? I've had this problem with the nv driver, but it is has not been an issue with nouveau, nvidia binary, or intel drivers I have tried.


Man is the lowest-cost, 150-pound, nonlinear, all-purpose computer system which can be mass-produced by unskilled labor.
-NASA in 1965
ravi.xolve
Registered Member
Posts
28
Karma
1
OS
My graphics card is:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)

My driver is i915.
Balda
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0
OS
Hi,

I can confirm this problem on eee 1000H(i915) too.
User avatar dhuv
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS
I am using an Intel driver and seeing the exactly same problem. I also noticed it in 4.5 but not to the same extent as I notice it on 4.6. The problem has gotten so bad that it is difficult to use the computer. I constantly find myself having to move the mouse from the browser to konsole and back to the browser in order to refresh the screen. Also the reverse when I hit the problem in konsole.
From Xorg.log
[ 4.089] (II) intel: Driver for Intel Integrated Graphics Chipsets: i810,
i810-dc100, i810e, i815, i830M, 845G, 852GM/855GM, 865G, 915G,
E7221 (i915), 915GM, 945G, 945GM, 945GME, Pineview GM, Pineview G,
965G, G35, 965Q, 946GZ, 965GM, 965GME/GLE, G33, Q35, Q33, GM45,
4 Series, G45/G43, Q45/Q43, G41, B43, B43, Clarkdale, Arrandale,
Sandybridge, Sandybridge, Sandybridge, Sandybridge, Sandybridge,
Sandybridge, Sandybridge
User avatar dhuv
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS
ravi.xolve wrote:My graphics card is:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)

My driver is i915.


I have exactly the same one in lspci, and see the problem.

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19757
Karma
86
OS
Can you please try to provide a screenshot of this? Also, does changing the active desktop effects have any affect upon the level of corruption seen?


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar dhuv
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS
Turning off all desktop effects fixes the problem and is a valid workaround (although not an aesthetically pleasing one).

It is difficult to provide a screenshot since focusing on another window fixes the problem. What I can do is take a picture of the screen with my camera to show you the effect. Will add a new post with the link.
User avatar dhuv
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS
http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/2862/photohc.jpg

I apologize for the blurry picture but you see several problems with the new Tab in Chrome.

- The bakcground gradient has white areas on it.
- The left 2 icons are not visible.
- Just underneath the bookmark bar you can see contents from the previous tab.

I think all 3 of the above problem are related to the fact that certain parts of the page did not refresh properly when I changed from the previous tab to the new tab.

Hope this helps. Please let me know if you need me to try anything else. It would be very helpful to nail down this problem and I will do what it takes on my part to help.
Balda
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0
OS
Hi,

here is my screenshot fom eee 1000H:

http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/1120/snimek1.png

only solution is turn off desktop effects. Another thing is that kwin is to slow at all. Compiz is 20 times faster than kwin with effects on...
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19757
Karma
86
OS
Try reducing the number of Desktop Effects enabled, especially Blur.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Balda
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0
OS

Re: KWin redraw of screen is not fine

Wed Feb 02, 2011 11:55 am
bcooksley wrote:Try reducing the number of Desktop Effects enabled, especially Blur.


Blur is the first thing which I switch off everytime. But it does not help. Desktop is not usefull with effects on. You are not able to click on links in firefox and etc.
ravi.xolve
Registered Member
Posts
28
Karma
1
OS
I had following effects on:

Invert
Zoom
Login
Logout
Translucency
Startup Feedback
Desktop Grid
Present Windows

I individually turned on and off the effects. The screen had same problem.
User avatar idg101
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS

Re: KWin redraw of screen is not fine

Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:09 pm
I am using KDE 4.6 and turning off the desktop effects creates another problem. My titles bars do not redraw correctly now.

See the attached image (lower right hand corner, Dolphin window).


Image

Isaac
User avatar idg101
Registered Member
Posts
17
Karma
0
OS

Re: KWin redraw of screen is not fine

Wed Feb 02, 2011 10:44 pm
Problem appears to go away if I select the Composting type of XRender in the settings application.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], boudewijn, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], praphassron, tosky, Yahoo [Bot]