Reply to topic

my experimentations with Krita

User avatar Deevad
Registered Member
Posts
424
Karma
1
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:05 am
Hey,
Sorry for the lake of feedback Lukas and Boudewijn, I got a hard week and I updated this morning after reading the blog post of the week 13 and 14. REALLY impressive merging of my favorite brushes. Wooao so much of new things to test from a digital painting p.o.v.

I saw the split of button in the top menu and I got some idea about ; splitting the brush creation part to the custom presets. I think the preset menu have an enormous potential in Krita.
Image

I will continue my test soon. Thanks for the good new dev things ! (I absolutely have to test this new "rake" / or "pixel knife" brush you did , Lukas )


User avatar Kubuntiac
Registered Member
Posts
786
Karma
2
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:32 pm
Some nice ideas there!

Hey, if the idea is to have speedy access to presets, it would be awesome to have a docker always available in the right column. I'm thinking something a bit like MyPaints brush selector when you first open it, but as a docker. That way every preset could be selected with one click, rather than a click to open the panel and then another one to select the preset. Being a docker, people could even place it as a thin horizontal bar at the top / bottom of the screen a la Inkscapes colour chooser if they wished.

Please keep at least the option of the scratch pad. Making a change. Switching to the main window. Trying it. Switching back to edit your change and repeating multiple times was a pain, that the scratchpad fixed so beautifully!

+1 to being able to extend the configuration window down to see more presets!


Krita - All the cool kids are painting with it!
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
4654
Karma
19
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Sun Apr 18, 2010 8:26 am
We have already been considering moving the two tabs in the brushes popup to different popup buttons, so there would be "brush engine combobox" "brush settings popup" and "brush presets popup". Enkithan already made icons for that :-). I would keep the scratchpad in both popups, though, since it's useful for quickly testing a preset as well as trying options for a new preset design. A good thing about separating is that the preset list popup can become taller, but we were wondering about synchronizing between the options and the preset -- we are fumbling a bit here because we lack a real interaction designer to work on this for us.

The whole preset/brush settings popup can already be detached to make it into a modeless top-level window. I'm not sure about putting the presets in a docker: it can be done, but the docker area is already very overloaded.

About the brushes: a translator pinged me about the numbering in the file names (http://lists.kde.org/?l=koffice-devel&m ... 809979&w=2). Are those numbers needed to organize the brushes in Gimp?
adamc
KDE Developer
Posts
41
Karma
0

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Sun Apr 18, 2010 5:31 pm
boudewijn wrote:The whole preset/brush settings popup can already be detached to make it into a modeless top-level window. I'm not sure about putting the presets in a docker: it can be done, but the docker area is already very overloaded.


this option is very hard to find imo. additionally, the modeless top-level window doesn't really fit beside the main window (uses to much space) and it is gimp style (no, i don't like gimp style modal windows).

it would be possible to dock it on the left, top or bottom. depending on the preview size of the presets, it could fit nicely at top or bottom. another possibility would be a second column on the right, but that would need new features on qt side afaik.

maybe it would be cool, to have a separate docker with user selected presets, so that users don't see all presets, that are installed, all the time.

anyway, imo the user should be able to dock brush settings if he wants.
User avatar Deevad
Registered Member
Posts
424
Karma
1
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:57 am
boudewijn wrote:About the brushes: a translator pinged me about the numbering in the file names (http://lists.kde.org/?l=koffice-devel&m ... 809979&w=2). Are those numbers needed to organize the brushes in Gimp?

Yes, they are useful in Gimp only. The "A-" place my preset on the top of the other existing brush ; the number , just organize them like this :
Image

For the brush detaching presets ; imo , docking is better and more consistent in the mood of Krita Ui.


User avatar Kubuntiac
Registered Member
Posts
786
Karma
2
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Mon Apr 19, 2010 5:13 pm
The other nice thing about dockers, is that, obviously, it's possible for people to only show the ones they want. Yes there are a load of dockers available, but for me, the vast majority of the time I only have layers and tool options open.

The main thing is that they're designed in a way that lets them work well on all four sides. For this, I'd suggest using squares instead of rectangles for the preview and having them "flow" to whatever width is available (like CSS's "float:left" property).


Krita - All the cool kids are painting with it!
User avatar Deevad
Registered Member
Posts
424
Karma
1
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:24 am
Kubuntiac wrote:[...]I'd suggest using squares instead of rectangles for the preview and having them "flow" to whatever width is available (like CSS's "float:left" property).

I totally agree with Kubuntiac.

On my system I get this kind of menu since the last 3 updates, I presume everybody got the same, but I wanted to share if it's only for my system:
Image


User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
4654
Karma
19
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:35 am
Hi,

I fixed the error in the brush options pane last night :-).

I'll give making the presets lists into a docker a try, although I'm still afraid the space will be too small. Also -- square preset previews? Would that even work -- I mean, you cannot see any of the dynamics stored in the preset.

And we definitely need a way to order the brush tips, and also the presets. I might just add alphabetical sorting for now, that way your brush naming works for Krita as well.
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
4654
Karma
19
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:37 am
Hm, yes, I like Adam's idea, if I understand it correctly: we can have a popdown with all presets for a certain brush engine or a tag -- and a docker where users can drag presets to, and that remembers the current working set. Although that comes really close to what we want to achieve with the brush/color palette popup as well.

We really need an interaction designer here! There are so many possibilities...
User avatar Kubuntiac
Registered Member
Posts
786
Karma
2
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:48 am
Peter! Help!

Sounds good to me though! As to whether square previews can work, check out MyPaint. Imho, they work pretty well, there... Has anyone ever tried talking to Celeste about this stuff?


Krita - All the cool kids are painting with it!
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
4654
Karma
19
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Tue Apr 20, 2010 9:56 am
Well, the blender brush preview is one of the few things in blender that doesn't work for me :-). We we can give it a try.
adamc
KDE Developer
Posts
41
Karma
0

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Mon Apr 26, 2010 5:45 pm
boudewijn wrote:Although that comes really close to what we want to achieve with the brush/color palette popup as well.


It's the same data, but another way of access imo. additionally, it would be hard to show the brush previews in the current popup.
User avatar Deevad
Registered Member
Posts
424
Karma
1
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:49 pm
Long time without a post , may be cause a lot of my test end with crash :'( ( don't use the duplicate layer icon on the layer panel xD this one is evil ...btw, right click on layer and choose duplicate make the job perfect )

So I'm used now to just do a speed eyes to test , here are few I saved :

Image

Image


User avatar Deevad
Registered Member
Posts
424
Karma
1
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Mon Jun 07, 2010 5:53 pm
and another one :

Image


User avatar LukasT.dev
KDE Developer
Posts
209
Karma
1
OS

Re: my experimentations with Krita

Mon Jun 07, 2010 9:50 pm
Deevad wrote:may be cause a lot of my test end with crash :'( ( don't use the duplicate layer icon on the layer panel xD this one is evil


My advice for this is : when you find a crash, right in that moment start Krita again and try to reproduce it. If you can, report it on http://bugs.kde.org/ or by Help -> Report Bug (or something like that).

The sooner you report the crash, the faster it will be fixed. And you will be even notified that it is fixed. We have our eyes on you and you are important user to us - we fix your bugs immediately if possible and with higher priority ;)

"Krita loves you. You love Krita."

There is also some kind of recovery file after crash. Does that work for you or no?

Btw nice artworks. I like the first one the most.


Daylight is coming...
Krita developer | http://lukast.mediablog.sk/log

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], JesusM, legomaniac, smankowski, YaCy [Bot]