Reply to topic

how to scale krita UI ?

User avatar Gingle
Registered Member
Posts
82
Karma
0
OS

how to scale krita UI ?

Sat Mar 24, 2018 12:45 am
someone know how to adjust the global scale of the krita user interface ? i bought a cintiq companion that kinda has a really high resolution 2560 x 1440 but the screen is only 13 inches so the krita ui looks really tiny on it , the only thing that i could adjust to scale was the toolbox icon sizes . In clip studio there is a setting where i can adjust it so it looks good, where is it in krita though ?
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
4866
Karma
20
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sat Mar 24, 2018 8:07 am
Settings/Configure Krita/General/Window/Enable HiDPI support
User avatar Gingle
Registered Member
Posts
82
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:47 am
boudewijn wrote:Settings/Configure Krita/General/Window/Enable HiDPI support

that didnt do anything, it still looks the same but thats okay ill get used to it thanks anyways
User avatar TKL-Ansi
Registered Member
Posts
42
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:16 am
Which version of Krita do you use?


:wq
User avatar Gingle
Registered Member
Posts
82
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:47 am
TKL-Ansi wrote:Which version of Krita do you use?

it says krita 4.0.0
User avatar TKL-Ansi
Registered Member
Posts
42
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:53 am
Nice, then I can help you, default Krita version of Linux Mint is 2.9.7
Do you use the appimage of Krita 4.0?


:wq
User avatar Gingle
Registered Member
Posts
82
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 3:17 am
TKL-Ansi wrote:Nice, then I can help you, default Krita version of Linux Mint is 2.9.7
Do you use the appimage of Krita 4.0?

oh my cintiq has windows8.1 in it , i dont think i can install linux on my cintiq
User avatar TKL-Ansi
Registered Member
Posts
42
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 4:08 am
Since Qt 5.6, you can start Qt Programs with a custom scale factor.

For example, on a Linux shell:

env QT_SCALE_FACTOR=1.3 krita

This works also on a command prompt in Windows:

C:\Program Files\Krita (x64)\bin>set QT_SCALE_FACTOR=1.3 krita

Use values between 1 and 2, like 1.1, 1.5 etc.

However, on Windows, I don't know how to add this to the desktop shortcut.


:wq
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
4866
Karma
20
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:12 am
Gingle wrote:
boudewijn wrote:Settings/Configure Krita/General/Window/Enable HiDPI support

that didnt do anything, it still looks the same but thats okay ill get used to it thanks anyways


It does work. Make sure you have the Windows display scaling setup correctly for your hardware.
User avatar Gingle
Registered Member
Posts
82
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:58 pm
boudewijn wrote:It does work. Make sure you have the Windows display scaling setup correctly for your hardware.

i tried it now with display scale ,and while it does make the interface larger ,i think its best left off , as i find it a bit too pixely , its not quite as high-res clear and sharp as the scaling in clip studio. its kinda like taking a small photo and resizing it to big photo, i will use krita small
User avatar Gingle
Registered Member
Posts
82
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:59 pm
TKL-Ansi wrote:Since Qt 5.6, you can start Qt Programs with a custom scale factor.

For example, on a Linux shell:

env QT_SCALE_FACTOR=1.3 krita

This works also on a command prompt in Windows:

C:\Program Files\Krita (x64)\bin>set QT_SCALE_FACTOR=1.3 krita

Use values between 1 and 2, like 1.1, 1.5 etc.

However, on Windows, I don't know how to add this to the desktop shortcut.
i forgot i can use the cintiq companion with linux or mac too , ill try that out in my kde antergos
User avatar TKL-Ansi
Registered Member
Posts
42
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 3:34 pm
Gingle wrote:i forgot i can use the cintiq companion with linux or mac too , ill try that out in my kde antergos


On Linux it's quite easy to edit a *.desktop file which starts a certain program on GUI.

These files lie in

/usr/share/applications

and / or

~/.local/share/applications

Default desktop file of Krita is:
/usr/share/applications/org.kde.krita.desktop

search for line:

Exec=krita %U

and change it to:

Exec=env QT_SCALE_FACTOR=1.3 krita %U

(of course, use your own factor)

Scaling options in the System Settings, usually affect all programs,
but with a custom scale factor, you can scale one specific Qt program.


:wq
alvinwong
Registered Member
Posts
117
Karma
0
OS

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Sun Mar 25, 2018 4:35 pm
Mind you, the high dpi scaling mode with Qt isn't really suitable for production work, mainly due to some issues with scaling the canvas drawing.
justoneanwser
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: how to scale krita UI ?

Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:05 pm
I created this account just to have anwser (don't ask me to create new topic, this one is already good)

How do the same on windows (for 4k screen)

Thanks (i'll go back each days in the 5 next days, hope somewone anwser, if no, maby i won't see anwsers because i use a fake mail)
User avatar boudewijn
KDE Developer
Posts
4866
Karma
20
OS

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], claydoh, fozziebear, Google [Bot], idriskalp, Sogou [Bot], spoontex, tymond, Yahoo [Bot]