Reply to topic

How to integrate Opera into KDE 4

User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19763
Karma
87
OS

How to integrate Opera into KDE 4

Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:45 pm
First we need a version that uses your system Qt 4 installation so that your system Colour theme is applied

You can either download a Opera 10 Alpha or this Opera 9.6 snapshot: http://snapshot.opera.com/unix/snapshot ... 4.i386.rpm

Next we need to sort out the theme, I recommend this one: http://my.opera.com/community/customize ... o/?id=8630

I prefer the tab bar below, so use this guide to move it: http://www.ghacks.net/2008/06/11/move-t ... o-the-top/

We now want Opera to use system colours + fonts so follow section 2 + 3 of this guide, ignoring the reference to setting the theme in section 2: http://userbase.kde.org/Tutorials/Opera

You can toggle the menus off and on with Alt + F11

Last edited by bcooksley on Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar QueenZ
Registered Member
Posts
78
Karma
0
OS
Sweet.. That Opera skin looks really awesome. I've installed it on my Windows machine and it looks like KDE :)


User avatar rieper
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0
OS

RE: How to integrate Opera into KDE 4

Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:04 am
Visual integration is just one thing. It would be even more interesting to get KRunner be aware of Opera the same way it is about Konqueror.
I guess this is not that easy.
(How) Is it possible to integrate Opera bookmarks, web shortcuts etc. in KRunner?
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19763
Karma
87
OS

RE: How to integrate Opera into KDE 4

Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:41 am
Opera bookmarks would require a special runner that could parse the Opera bookmarks list. Web shortcuts would be a similar thing also probably. I haven't seen anything like this in Playground yet, so I think it is currently not possible.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
L_V
Banned
Posts
104
Karma
-3
OS

Re: How to integrate Opera into KDE 4

Mon Aug 10, 2009 11:43 pm
For info, Opera 10 Qt4 snapshot available here:

http://snapshot.opera.com/unix/snapshot ... tel-linux/ - [Aug 7th 2009]
User avatar martinpola
Registered Member
Posts
39
Karma
0
OS
bcooksley wrote:First we need a version that uses your system Qt 4 installation so that your system Colour theme is applied

You can either download a Opera 10 Alpha or this Opera 9.6 snapshot: http://snapshot.opera.com/unix/snapshot ... 4.i386.rpm

Next we need to sort out the theme, I recommend this one: http://my.opera.com/community/customize ... o/?id=8630

I prefer the tab bar below, so use this guide to move it: http://www.ghacks.net/2008/06/11/move-t ... o-the-top/

We now want Opera to use system colours + fonts so follow section 2 + 3 of this guide, ignoring the reference to setting the theme in section 2: http://userbase.kde.org/Tutorials/Opera

You can toggle the menus off and on with Alt + F11

Thank you for informing me about this. I really like the theme, even though it looks weird if you drag out the tab-bar:
Image

Can I solve that in some way by myself?
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19763
Karma
87
OS
The image used probably lacks a transparent background. If you could extract it from the theme, edit the image and re-pack the theme it will be fixed. ( The theme is just a *.zip I think )


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
tcnews1
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
OS
I am using a transparent background but am having same issues as Kottizen. Image is png. Any idea's?
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19763
Karma
87
OS
This is likely related to a bug in Opera.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar JanGerrit
Moderator
Posts
647
Karma
3
OS
This commit added Opera support to the bookmarks runner:
http://websvn.kde.org/?view=revision&revision=1075667

Edit: Corrected tense.


Image
jenefer
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: How to integrate Opera into KDE 4

Mon Mar 14, 2011 11:24 am
I am using a transparent background but am having same issues as Kottizen. Image is png. Any idea's?
powellstick
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
OS
any tutorials on adding chrome into KDE 4?
User avatar atanas
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0
OS
@powellstick - check this: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=92866
gmailer
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
OS
thanks atanas!
samsulla
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
Oh thanks for this actually from a long time i am looking for this. Thanks for the post now i can integrate opera with kde 4

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], kyrhammer, ranksdirect, Service Robot, Snudl, wojtryb