The Discussions and Opinions forum is a place for open discussion regarding everything related to KDE, within the boundaries of KDE Code of Conduct. If you have a question or need a solution for a KDE problem, please post in the apppropriate forum instead.
Reply to topic

I think the importance of gtk-qt-engine is greatly underestimated.

klerfayt
Karma
0
1 ff
http://i35.tinypic.com/20pn2b.png
2 ff
Image
3 ff
http://i37.tinypic.com/2vn3sk7.png
4 oo writer
http://i38.tinypic.com/2pqkf7k.png

- now I know that some artifacts could be caused due to nvidia drivers, but things like checkboxes, tabs, scrollbars and selection color (<- how simple is that to fix?) are common bugs from what I've read.

#edit: for kde you need openoffice.org-kde package (I only choose to install kde-core, kdebase and gkt-qt-engine in ubuntu Intrepid beta, didn't want the whole thing with kubuntu-desktop)!
it looks like plastik in kde 3.5 now (it's not that nice, but at least toolbars won't disappear)
http://i33.tinypic.com/2ymvaee.png

Last edited by klerfayt on Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
admoore
Registered Member
Posts
103
Karma
0
OS
The artifacts aren't caused by nvidia drivers. I have them too and my machines have intel chipsets.

I have kcm-gtk-kde4 installed. Can you tell me what magic I need to invoke to get buttons, radio buttons, checkboxes and other widgets in firefox not to vanish when I scroll, or not have a text color that is only about n degrees off from the background color?

If this is not a problem for KDE to deal with, who's problem is it? I guess I came to the outrageous conclusion that this is KDE's problem based on the fact that these apps look fine in every other DE/WM I've tried.


admoore, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar mensch
Registered Member
Posts
178
Karma
0
OS
Firefox is a notorious beast when it comes to correctly rendering widgets on both GTK and Qt platforms.

When I was still using GNOME and installed a new theme engine (Nodoko, I believe) the only application looking like **** was Firefox/Iceweasel. There are problems on Mac OS X as well, which has recently received some love. But widgets are still a problem on all platforms except Windows.

But isn't Mozilla going to release a Qt version of their browser soon? I've read some reports about that, hopefully we'll get native widgets as well - Konqueror looks very good in that regard.


I have forced myself to contradict myself in order to avoid conforming to my own taste. Marcel Duchamp
XiniX
Registered Member
Posts
217
Karma
1
OS
Githzerai, you are an Arch user, the Shaman icon gave it away ;). That looks great indeed!!! Is the Oxygen theme in the Arch repos (not on my Arch box right now...)??


XiniX, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar Githzerai
Registered Member
Posts
54
Karma
0
OS
XiniX, does AUR count as repo ? ;) U have latest gtk-kde4 and gtk-kde4-oxygen-theme there.
(BTW, my KDE is 4.1.70, might have something to do with it ;) )


Stercus accidit
User avatar blueget
Registered Member
Posts
59
Karma
0
Such an engine is not the courtesy of KDE developers, but of the GTK developers, but unfortunately these are to dumb/lazy/busy/idiotic for doing so.

What we really need is a decent browser in KDE, in KDE 3.5.9 Konqueror ist quite good, but in KDE 4.1.2 it just sucks. Arora looks promising, but it's Qt only so it doesn't integrate into KDE.


sidux
User avatar mensch
Registered Member
Posts
178
Karma
0
OS
blueget wrote:Arora looks promising, but it's Qt only so it doesn't integrate into KDE.
I must say Arora integrates quite nicely from a visual perspective. But you mean that it doesn't following standard KDE interface guidelines (like having the preferences under the same menu item across applications)?


I have forced myself to contradict myself in order to avoid conforming to my own taste. Marcel Duchamp
admoore
Registered Member
Posts
103
Karma
0
OS
blueget wrote:Such an engine is not the courtesy of KDE developers, but of the GTK developers, but unfortunately these are to dumb/lazy/busy/idiotic for doing so.

Which is why I'm suggesting maybe KDE needs to take this over or produce something to obviate the need for it. This isn't a blame game, it's about solving problems. But since I'm in no position to solve them myself I guess I'll shut up.

What we really need is a decent browser in KDE, in KDE 3.5.9 Konqueror ist quite good, but in KDE 4.1.2 it just sucks. Arora looks promising, but it's Qt only so it doesn't integrate into KDE.


Whether we need that or not, it doesn't solve the problem for the other hundreds of GTK applications people might want to run in KDE, or for people who would rather just use the browser they like.

Bottom line is that it's a regression from 3.5, where GTK apps integrated nicely.


admoore, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar Githzerai
Registered Member
Posts
54
Karma
0
OS
Which is why I'm suggesting maybe KDE needs to take this over or produce something to obviate the need for it.


Well, this isn't a question of a need, it's more of a question of possibility to do something like that.

Gtk/KDE apps will never look exactly the same as Qt/KDE apps, unless their developers switch to Qt/KDE. Which will happen like.... never.

The catch is that gtk look is much simpler, and has much less tweaking options, especially compared to KDE4.

There are only two way that can make gtk apps look good in KDE:
1. Using gtk theme that imitates the look of KDE apps (which is EXACTLY what gtk-kde4 does), but expect to compromise because gtk apps have different kind of color schemes/styles/layouts and use different set of icons. Which obviously means that perfect imitation can never be achieved, and we have to live with those imperfections. And, btw, default oxygen theme is very hard to imitate, which is one of the main reasons why it takes so long for gtk-kde4.

2. Using good looking gtk theme that doesn't at all imitate KDE style, but it looks good anyway simply because it's a theme made for that kind of app, so you have no imperfections. And, yes, good looking gtk themes CAN be found. ;)

It is an obvious fact that gtk style/look is only a matter of - oh, what a surprise - gtk look/style. :)
I simply don't see how can KDE devs have anything to do with it, unless you want them to rewrite all gtk apps to look the same as KDE ones.
Tweaking gtk styles is a job for someone who's familiar and experienced with gtk.

And another thing: I managed to set up gtk apps to look 80% like KDE (with gtk-kde3 it was abut 85%, but, hey, still work in progress ), so everyone can do it. The fact that most of us have to do it manually is not the problem of KDE but a problem of our distro assemblers not doing their job. ;)


Stercus accidit
User avatar neverendingo
Administrator
Posts
2136
Karma
17
OS
XiniX wrote:Here's a good solution:
- install gnome-control-center and some gnome themes
- use the control center to give a nice look to the GTK apps
- launch gnome-settings-daemon at startup in your profile


Githzerai wrote:With a little quality time invested GTK apps *DO* look great in KDE4.


Is this something we can tell new users? I don't think so...
These are solutions for KDE-enthusiasts.

I know from experience many people are willing to give open source software a try; many run illegal versions of Windows they want to get rid of. But when they install Linux/KDE it looks like a pile of workarounds to them, so they think it's not ready for mainstream, and they go back to what they're used to. And what's worse: after their negative experience they'll advice others not to try it. And 1 negative experience may last a lifetime.

I've introduced many people to Linux/KDE; I think about 90% went back to their illegal copies of Windows because of solutions like oh, but for this problem you need to install packages X, Y and Z, and then edit config file A to include undocumented option B, but set it to D, not C, and then reboot while pressing Ctrl-BLA...

This means people would rather be thieves than use KDE!

I think that, if we want to convince users to use KDE in stead of other software, perfect integration for apps like Firefox, Thunderbird, OpenOffice.org is much more important than plasmoids and activities, no matter how much I personally like them.


New to KDE Software? - get help from Userbase or ask questions on the Forums
Communicate.
Image
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19763
Karma
87
OS
Unfortunately, Windows needs those same hacks generally as well, except developers make up applications to make everything look all right... when in reality it is just a hack.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
RobertoMS
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS
mensch wrote:That's strange, my OOo 3.0 currently looks like this.

The "Appearance" section in the preferences also doesn't list any themes for OOo, but I'm pretty sure some are installed. gtk-kde4 is certainly installed and running, because OOo is the only application having this kind of trouble.


Me too! I'm having exactly the same problem with Mensch, that my OOo 3.0 toolbar and menu are totally broken after installing gtk-qt-engine in KDE 4. I use Oxygen theme too. And my OOo cannot look like the screenshot of Githzerai. (on the 1st page of this thread) If there is no workaround on this, I guess I'll have to abandon the idea applying Qt theme to Gtk applications. (sigh)
User avatar mensch
Registered Member
Posts
178
Karma
0
OS
OOo is currently the only application that doesn't respect my gtk-qt settings. I have other OOo themes installed which don't show up under Tools > Options > OpenOffice.org > Appearance, so my guess there's something broken. Of course everything is still usable, it just looks extremely ugly, uglier than the default native GTK look as well.

RobertoMS, are you using Debian as well, or another distribution?


I have forced myself to contradict myself in order to avoid conforming to my own taste. Marcel Duchamp
User avatar anda_skoa
KDE Developer
Posts
783
Karma
4
OS
One problem with using style bridges is that when used with applications which are not directly using the target engine, weird things are almost certain to be a result.

While gtk-qt might work quite reliably for GTK applications, it will always be a misfit for application which use different widget abstractions, e.g. OpenOffice.org or Mozilla products.

During the OOo 2.x and KDE 3.x phase, real integration work was being done by implementing at least certain aspects of the OpenOffice.org abstraction framework on top of Qt/KDE libraries.
AFAIK they (OOo) are looking for someone who wants to work on something similar base on current versions of the libraries.

Probably the same goes for Mozilla, i.e. integration into the host platform becoming increasingly important.

Unfortunately getting into these code bases is not an easy task, so it might take a while until some developers are bored enough to give it a try or until some company wants that integration to happen sooner.

Cheers,
_


anda_skoa, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
RobertoMS
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS
mensch wrote:OOo is currently the only application that doesn't respect my gtk-qt settings. I have other OOo themes installed which don't show up under Tools > Options > OpenOffice.org > Appearance, so my guess there's something broken. Of course everything is still usable, it just looks extremely ugly, uglier than the default native GTK look as well.

RobertoMS, are you using Debian as well, or another distribution?


Hi, I forgot to mention, no, I'm using Mandriva on my Eee PC. I can't recall how gtk-qt-engine worked for OOo on my Ubuntu 8.04.1 KDE 4 since it was a couple of months ago when I used KDE 4 on Ubuntu. But in Mandriva 2009, the gtk-qt-engine they offer does break OOo.

People who are interested may want to refer to this page: GTK-Qt Theme Engine bug #24, which deals exactly with this issue, and recently they seem to have add a patch, which I don't know how to apply to my system (perhaps a recompilation? But believe me, my ratio of successful build experience is close to 0 :( ). And Fedora people seem to have build a patched RPM, which I have downloaded, however it's not working on my Mandriva.

Last edited by RobertoMS on Thu Jan 01, 2009 12:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], exquisitearcaneastralmysticprophet, Google [Bot], htofaili, kamranahmed, KayshiAri, Majestic-12 [Bot], pascaldamien, Snudl, Yahoo [Bot]