Reply to topic

Konqueror can't open newegg.com?

User avatar Cader
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS

Konqueror can't open newegg.com?

Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:33 pm
I am using KDE 4.1.2 from Debian experimental.

I can't open newegg.com in Konqueror at all.
I have tried several User Agents and none work.

I get the error:
The requested operation could not be completed
Connection to Server Refused
Details of the Request:
URL: http://www.newegg.com/
Protocol: http
Date and Time: Thursday October 16 2008 11:29 am
Additional Information: www.newegg.com: Unknown error

wget works fine as does IE in wine.

Just checking if anyone else gets this and if there is a fix before I file a bug report.

Thanks.
User avatar neverendingo
Administrator
Posts
2136
Karma
17
OS
No, works here with Konqueror 4.1.2, also with the standard user agent.


New to KDE Software? - get help from Userbase or ask questions on the Forums
Communicate.
Image
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25
neverendingo wrote:No, works here with Konqueror 4.1.2, also with the standard user agent.


Ditto with OpenSuse an KDE 4.1.2


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

User avatar Blizzz
Registered Member
Posts
161
Karma
0
OS
Works here as well.
Did you try to restart konqueror? Accidentally it happens, that Konqueror stops working here, i think with the same error message you have. I cannot imagine why or really reproduce it, but closing and starting it again works. However, it is annoyance.


Image
Pitmairen
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
OS
I get the same error, I'm using KDEmod 4.1.2.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS

RE: Konqueror can't open newegg.com?

Fri Oct 17, 2008 10:09 am
I get that "Connection refused" quite frequently, but once it starts working, it works from then on in ( openSuSE 11.0 KDE 4.1.2 )


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Zayed
Registered Member
Posts
143
Karma
0
OS
It woks with me without any problem. I use kde 4.1.2 ubuntu packages.


User avatar Cader
Registered Member
Posts
40
Karma
0
OS
I figured out a work around and not sure why it works.
If I add newegg.com to my hosts file it works fine.
As soon as I take it out I can't get to the site again.

dig returns the IP right way do DNS query is working fine and fast.

Now it almost looks like a KDE or Konqueror name lookup issue?

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], bartoloni, Bing [Bot], boudewijn, Google [Bot], iforce73, Majestic-12 [Bot], pospiech, robgriff444, Skrachen, Sogou [Bot], somebody, Yahoo [Bot]