Reply to topic

ktouch belgian (dutch) keyboard?

User avatar lazylew
Registered Member
Posts
78
Karma
0
OS

ktouch belgian (dutch) keyboard?

Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:04 pm
I just downloaded ktouch, but don't see a Belgian (Dutch) keyboard.
French azerty is close, but no cigar.
Is there a place where I can make a request for this?
sebasgo
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0
We have http://bugs.kde.org to handle feature requests in standardized way, just mark your bug report as a wish.

But to be honest the probability that your request will be fulfilled is pretty low. Currently I'm the only one regularly working on KTouch and I don't know anything about Belgian keyboard layouts.

So the most reliable way for you to get support for the desired layout into KTouch is to do it yourself. This is not that hard as one may think. KTouch has a built-in keyboard layout editor to create keyboard layout description files which you can use. Sadly the one in the current version isn't very user friendly, but the situation will get much better once KTouch 2.0 is released with KDE SC 4.10. But if the one French layout is already pretty close you won't have to that much changes anyway, just use this layout as template.

If you decide to tackle the task and you run problems feel free to ask me. I'm more than willing to support in technical matters.
User avatar lazylew
Registered Member
Posts
78
Karma
0
OS

Re: ktouch belgian (dutch) keyboard?

Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:02 pm
sebasgo wrote:...KTouch has a built-in keyboard layout editor to create keyboard layout description files which you can use. Sadly the one in the current version isn't very user friendly, but the situation will get much better once KTouch 2.0 is released with KDE SC 4.10. But if the one French layout is already pretty close you won't have to that much changes anyway, just use this layout as template.

If you decide to tackle the task and you run problems feel free to ask me. I'm more than willing to support in technical matters.
Thanks Sebasgo, that's good news and a very generous offer. I'll see how far I get 8)
User avatar lazylew
Registered Member
Posts
78
Karma
0
OS

Re: ktouch belgian (dutch) keyboard?

Wed Dec 26, 2012 10:31 pm
lazylew wrote:... I'll see how far I get 8)
In trouble already; can't change the modifier key :-\
Perhaps I should do this via private message?
sebasgo
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0
I'm not sure if I understand your question correctly, I assume that you want to change or set the modifier for a "Key connector". In that case you first have to enter the character in the input field next to the "Character" label, then click on the button "<modifier key>", then click on the actual modifier key on the keyboard layout visualization and then finally click on "Add/update connector".

If you want to switch to a different communication form I would prefer the good old email, these forum systems are bit unwieldy for me. I can be reached under sebastiangottfried AT web.de
User avatar lazylew
Registered Member
Posts
78
Karma
0
OS
sebasgo wrote:...If you want to switch to a different communication form I would prefer the good old email...
Will do so, thanks!

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], bartoloni, Bing [Bot], boudewijn, bovender, claydoh, dfoskett, Google [Bot], Horus, jacobcantele, Majestic-12 [Bot], raphaelra, reine-k, Sian, Snudl, TheraHedwig, tymond