Reply to topic

Populating a Kexi combobox

robertking
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Populating a Kexi combobox

Thu Apr 07, 2016 2:04 am
I hate to sound like a rank amateur, but I'm having trouble populating a combobox on a Kexi form. I set the combobox to pull from one of the fields in my table, but nothing shows up in data view. If I use a textbox instead, the value is pulled from the table correctly. That was just my first elementary attempt for testing purposes. What I really want to do is pull data from a lookup table and save the selected value to the main table.

I'm using the latest version of Kexi, running under OpenSUSE 42.1 Leap. Overall, Kexi is working well, except for this very basic lack of understanding on my part (?).

Can someone guide me on this?

Thanks,

Robert
User avatar jstaniek
Moderator
Posts
939
Karma
2
OS

Re: Populating a Kexi combobox  Topic is solved

Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:09 pm


Best regards,
Jarosław Staniek
Image

KEXI - Open Source Visual DB Apps Builder
• Request feature or fix for KEXI here
May I help you? Please mention your app's version and OS when asking for help
robertking
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: Populating a Kexi combobox

Sun Apr 10, 2016 1:47 pm
Thanks, just yesterday I solved the problem also using generally the same method of the link you posted.

As a Linux user, I was very happy to discover Kexi. I now prefer it to LibreOffice Base.

Thanks again for your help.
User avatar jstaniek
Moderator
Posts
939
Karma
2
OS

Re: Populating a Kexi combobox

Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:46 am
I am glad it worked for you. Thanks Robert.


Best regards,
Jarosław Staniek
Image

KEXI - Open Source Visual DB Apps Builder
• Request feature or fix for KEXI here
May I help you? Please mention your app's version and OS when asking for help
User avatar awill
Registered Member
Posts
44
Karma
0
OS

Re: Populating a Kexi combobox

Thu May 12, 2016 3:50 pm
Hi Jaroslaw,

I could not follow your link. The sample database is from 2006 and doesn't work right?
So I cannot follow the steps, additionally I have problems to understand the used terms, although I use google translator.
And because I cannot follow, I cannot look behind the relationship-philosophy.
Albrecht


alwi
User avatar jstaniek
Moderator
Posts
939
Karma
2
OS

Re: Populating a Kexi combobox

Thu May 12, 2016 4:14 pm
Hi Albrecht
Googling for "Kexi sample database" shows https://userbase.kde.org/Kexi/en#Docume ... nd_Samples
And there you can find a link to the sample from 2006 http://kde-files.org/content/show.php/S ... tent=23137
The table "ownership" and form "ownership" demonstrate how to set up combo boxes, these objects both working in Kexi 2 (and 3!). Kexi keeps compatibility with older versions :)

Form "persons" and the report from that sample does not work in Kexi 2 (and newer) because some components have been deprecated since.


Best regards,
Jarosław Staniek
Image

KEXI - Open Source Visual DB Apps Builder
• Request feature or fix for KEXI here
May I help you? Please mention your app's version and OS when asking for help
User avatar awill
Registered Member
Posts
44
Karma
0
OS

Re: Populating a Kexi combobox

Fri May 13, 2016 12:43 pm
Thanks Jaroslaw,
the form works. But I have 2 problems.
- The queries show a data 17 times
- The report gives instead the original content of a field the id-number of the sub-table


alwi

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], Invictus, Majestic-12 [Bot]