Reply to topic

«fstab» in 3 OS

User avatar Arran
Registered Member
Posts
226
Karma
0
OS

«fstab» in 3 OS

Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:14 pm
Hello

I am using at present 3 Operating systems. Kubuntu 14.04, Kubuntu 18.04 and Kubuntu 19.04. The two latter ones are not yet ready to become my standard work horse.

However I have created an «fstab» (19.04) to mount my 9 Data partitions at start, so they are ready when the Human becomes ready.

I now would like to copy the content with the 9 partitions into the present «fstab» in the 2 other OS.

I tried to use Kate by opening the original and then copy the part with the 9 partitions and save it again. This did not work. I did the same with Krusader (ROOT), but this did neither work, the ftabs have not accepted the changes.

Now, I am a loss and would like to get some practical help how to do this with the console. Or any other way which works.

To show you the 3 fstabs, I have them put into a Drobox file you can check by clicking:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mk8nwxw8lyow ... jmNfa?dl=0

Sorry, but I have not found a way to put the pics directly into this forum...


Best greetings from Scotland's nicest holiday island.
Kubuntu 14.04-5 & KDE neon, 64 bits, Nvidia 4800GS, 4MB Ram, 4 core, HP Monitor 2550 x 1600 pixels.
User avatar Arran
Registered Member
Posts
226
Karma
0
OS

Re: «fstab» in 3 OS

Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:17 pm
A long time has passed and I have other fstab problems,as well as other UU names etc. I will open a new thread. How could I delete this one?


Best greetings from Scotland's nicest holiday island.
Kubuntu 14.04-5 & KDE neon, 64 bits, Nvidia 4800GS, 4MB Ram, 4 core, HP Monitor 2550 x 1600 pixels.
User avatar ostroffjh
Registered Member
Posts
43
Karma
0
OS

Re: «fstab» in 3 OS

Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:15 pm
You say a long time has passed but the first post has a date of earlier today.
You also don't say what happens when you try to copy/paste other than it doesn't work. Since fstab is in /etc, did you have the appropriate partition for the other two OS (other than the one currently booted) mounted somewhere? If not, how did you find those files to paste into them? Were they perhaps mounted read-only?
What are your other problems? I don't see any reason to start a new thread if the problems are related.
User avatar Data007
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

Re: «fstab» in 3 OS

Sat Sep 21, 2019 2:23 pm
Hi Hijacking a thread but can some one point me to how to setup "fstab" correctly, and mount-points ...
Currently I have 5HD in machine an only one entry in fstab, these four HD require the root password each time to view which is a pain.
--
Data


Debian 10
Proud to be using KDE since I first dabbled in Linux in 2002(kde3), now a dedicated user, but still learning.
airdrik
Registered Member
Posts
1720
Karma
5
OS

Re: «fstab» in 3 OS

Tue Sep 24, 2019 6:34 pm
It's usually better to create a new thread for your new questions, unless they are directly related to the previous conversation.

There are a number of resources available for learning how to edit the /etc/fstab file which you should be able to find via a simple internet search. Additionally, you should be able to read the official documentation by running "man fstab" from the terminal.
A couple of useful resources include:
* Ubuntu's help article on Fstab which looks like it has a good overview of fstab, including thorough descriptions and examples to help you figure things out.
* Arch wiki's page on Fstab, which covers a lot of the same stuff in another format.

If you need further assistance, feel free to open a new topic to discuss the problems you encounter, making sure to note which (version of which) OS you are using as well as any details relevant to the problem you've encountered.


airdrik, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Dec.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], bartoloni, Bing [Bot], gfielding, Google [Bot], kakosf, Lachu, Majestic-12 [Bot], Mamarok, mcoudert, moreaupi, peje, raphaelra, Snudl, Sogou [Bot]