Reply to topic

Disable multiple dialogs when saving via sftp

timwilliams
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0
I've just switched to KDE Plasma from another desktop environment, I'm gradually finding my way around. One thing which I do a lot for work purposes is to use the file manager to browse code on remote servers, click on a file to edit (usually with Kate) and then rely on the file system later to automatically upload that file back to the server. With my previous desktop this was completely transparent, the most you would ever see to indicate what was going on would be an auto-closing upload dialog for if the file was quite large. With KDE plasma, the process works, but I have to go through two confirmation dialogs every time I save.

The first is a "File Changed" dialog which asks me to confirm that I want to upload the file, the second is a confirmation that I want to overwrite the file on the remote server with the new one. In this context having clicked on an existing file to edit it, I would have expected this to behave exactly as though this were a local file (which is what my previous desktop environment did), so the "upload confirm" dialog is totally superfluous, I would always want to upload, while the overwrite confirmation should only be shown if I'm saving under a different file name to the one I started with. I've hunted around and can find no way to disable these dialogs so am currently stuck with them slowing down my work.

It would also be nice to turn off the upload finished notification in this context, but I can live with that. Again, I can't find any way to configure this.
timwilliams
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0
Any thoughts on this much appreciated, I've still not found a solution and it's driving me a bit mad.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], BulletDust, Google [Bot], Mamarok, neilsimp1, uyenb