Reply to topic

Konsole --new-tab opens new window instead of new tab.

Piotr Dobrogost
Registered Member
Posts
36
Karma
0
If I type
Code: Select all
konsole --new-tab
from within Konsole window the new Konsole window is being opened instead of new tab in current window.
Btw, if there were two or more Konsole windows opened which one is chosen to host new tab?

My environment:
Code: Select all
[[email protected] ~]$ type -a konsole
konsole is /usr/bin/konsole
konsole is /bin/konsole


Konsole Version 2.14.2
Using KDE Development Platform 4.14.3
OS Fedora 21

UPDATE
The problem is when I type `konsole --new-tab` from within specific Konsole's window which I had opened in the past. If I type the same in newly opened window the new tab is being opened as it should. It works also if I open new Konsole's window from Kickoff menu and type it there. It looks like there's something specific to this particular Konsole's window what causes this behavior. I keep it open so that we could try to find out what it is :)



Regards,
Piotr Dobrogost

Last edited by Piotr Dobrogost on Thu Dec 11, 2014 9:05 am, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25
works as expected for me, opens in new tab

can you try as a different user

could there be an alias for konsole?

does it help if you use the full path to the binary: /usr/bin/konsole --new-tab


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
A terminal in a Konsole session should have the following environment variables.
Does the shells which you can reproduce this issue in have these environment variables set?
Code: Select all
$KONSOLE_DBUS_SERVICE  $KONSOLE_DBUS_SESSION  $KONSOLE_DBUS_WINDOW   $KONSOLE_PROFILE_NAME


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
Piotr Dobrogost
Registered Member
Posts
36
Karma
0
google01103 wrote:can you try as a different user


After `su root` followed by `konsole --new-tab` I get

Code: Select all
unnamed app(15017): KUniqueApplication: Cannot find the D-Bus session server:  "Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken."

unnamed app(15016): KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly.


could there be an alias for konsole?


I thought the output from `type -a konsole` which I posted shows it's not the case, doesn't it?

does it help if you use the full path to the binary: /usr/bin/konsole --new-tab


No, it does not.

Also, please see additional information which I added to my question.

Last edited by Piotr Dobrogost on Wed Dec 03, 2014 2:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Piotr Dobrogost
Registered Member
Posts
36
Karma
0
bcooksley wrote:A terminal in a Konsole session should have the following environment variables.
Does the shells which you can reproduce this issue in have these environment variables set?
Code: Select all
$KONSOLE_DBUS_SERVICE  $KONSOLE_DBUS_SESSION  $KONSOLE_DBUS_WINDOW   $KONSOLE_PROFILE_NAME


I guess so:

Code: Select all
[[email protected] /]$ env | grep KONSOLE
KONSOLE_DBUS_SERVICE=:1.39
KONSOLE_PROFILE_NAME=Shell
KONSOLE_DBUS_WINDOW=/Windows/1
KONSOLE_DBUS_SESSION=/Sessions/8


Also, please see additional information which I added to my question.
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25
Piotr Dobrogost wrote:
google01103 wrote:can you try as a different user


After `su root` followed by `konsole --new-tab` I get

Code: Select all
unnamed app(15017): KUniqueApplication: Cannot find the D-Bus session server:  "Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken."

unnamed app(15016): KUniqueApplication: Pipe closed unexpectedly.


could there be an alias for konsole?


I thought the output from `type -a konsole` which I posted shows it's not the case, doesn't it?

does it help if you use the full path to the binary: /usr/bin/konsole --new-tab


No, it does not.

Also, please see additional information which I added to my question.


you should use kdesu (or kdesudo depending on distro) for gui apps, su for command line - either way for this kind of test you should login as the different user

you're right type should display all aliases, I never use the command so was unfamiliar with it

how had you opened the original/prolematic konsole window

in ksysguard what is the command shown, add the command field if needed


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

Piotr Dobrogost
Registered Member
Posts
36
Karma
0
google01103 wrote:you should use kdesu (or kdesudo depending on distro) for gui apps, su for command line - either way for this kind of test you should login as the different user


Thanks for info. However now, that we know this option works for all Konsole windows except for this particular one I guess there's no point in testing this for different user.

google01103 wrote:how had you opened the original/prolematic konsole window


Heh, I don't remember.

google01103 wrote:in ksysguard what is the command shown, add the command field if needed


It looks like there's no way to copy information being displayed in ksysguard. Should I file a feature request?
Anyway, using ps I got this:
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/konsole -session 101c71df1b01b9000141640347500000014470027_1416834465_272528
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25
I don't think there's enough interest to file a request and since (yes now I think of it) the following should show same
Code: Select all
 ps aux | grep konsole


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

Piotr Dobrogost
Registered Member
Posts
36
Karma
0
google01103 wrote:I don't think there's enough interest to file a request and since (yes now I think of it) the following should show same
Code: Select all
 ps aux | grep konsole


What about this '--session' parameter — is it ok?
User avatar google01103
Manager
Posts
6668
Karma
25
no idea about "-session parameter", I don't see one - would guess it's a unique identifier but that's just a guess, are using the "save previous session" option when starting KDE?


OpenSuse Leap 42.1 x64, Plasma 5.x

Piotr Dobrogost
Registered Member
Posts
36
Karma
0
google01103 wrote:no idea about "-session parameter", I don't see one - would guess it's a unique identifier but that's just a guess, are using the "save previous session" option when starting KDE?


If you mean 'Restore previous session' from System Settings/Startup and Shutdown/Session Management then I have it enabled.
luebking
Karma
0
From what I can say, "konsole --new-tab" opens the tab in the first opened window.
If you want to add a tab to a window, FROM THAT VERY WINDOW, just bypass the executable and run
Code: Select all
qdbus $KONSOLE_DBUS_SERVICE $KONSOLE_DBUS_WINDOW newSession
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19765
Karma
87
OS
Those variables look correct - I would recommend using the invocation provided by luebking.

Please note that you can't use KDE applications from a su terminal, as they will not be able to interact with your D-Bus session. You need to run them using kdesu as mentioned above.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], ostroffjh, Sogou [Bot], YaCy [Bot], Yahoo [Bot], zarmarco