Reply to topic

[solved] Konsole SplitView

toutpt
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

[solved] Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:21 am
Hi ,

I don't understand well the way the split view work in konsole compare to konqueror. I was using a lot split shortcut (ctrl+t, ctrl+l, ctrl +r/s) in kde3's konsole, but the new one seems to 'clone' your console and not doing a new one in the splited window.

here is a screen shot of splitted konsole:
Image

So now konqueror split view work in the same way as in kde3 but not konsole. Here is a screen shot of splitted konqueror:
Image

Last edited by toutpt on Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.


toutpt, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19759
Karma
87
OS

RE: Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:25 am
That is because they both share the same tabs in Konsole. when I use split view ocassionally, I create two tabs, split it and set one side to one tab, and the other to the other.


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
User avatar Hans
Administrator
Posts
3304
Karma
23
OS

RE: Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:53 am
bcooksley wrote:That is because they both share the same tabs in Konsole. when I use split view ocassionally, I create two tabs, split it and set one side to one tab, and the other to the other.


Just tried Konsole with split view and didn't like it. I would prefer it to work like in Konqueror/Dolphin, where the tab bar isn't split. Any reason why Konsole behaves differently?


Problem solved? Please click on "Accept this answer" below the post with the best answer to mark your topic as solved.

Image
10 things you might want to do in KDE | Open menu with Super key | Mouse shortcuts
User avatar Damnshock
Registered Member
Posts
110
Karma
0
OS

RE: Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:55 am
bcooksley wrote:That is because they both share the same tabs in Konsole. when I use split view ocassionally, I create two tabs, split it and set one side to one tab, and the other to the other.


I kind of like that :) Thanks!

Damnshock

PS: I agree with the top poster anyway, the behaviour is a bit strange ;)


Damnshock, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Oct.
User avatar bcooksley
Administrator
Posts
19759
Karma
87
OS

RE: Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 27, 2008 10:59 am
I have no idea. You would probably have to ask the developer of Konsole why it was done like this, but there was probably a good reason ( comparing different sections of the same terminal perhaps? )


KDE Sysadmin
[img]http://forum.kde.org/content/bcooksley_sig.png[/img]
toutpt
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

RE: Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:05 pm
With a new tab it can achieve the behavior i was looking for. Thanks for the tip.
But the short cut to switch cursor between splited views has also disappear. Anyone know the new shortcut ?

Yakuake's split view work as kde3's Konsole for those who are interested in.


toutpt, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar jrick
Registered Member
Posts
131
Karma
1
OS

RE: Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 27, 2008 1:32 pm
This article on the Dot about KDE4's Konsole talks about the new split view (and what it's for).


Type Colemak!

Proud, Conservative Republican

"Gentlemen! You can't fight in here! This is the war room!"
--President Merkin Muffley, Dr. Strangelove
toutpt
Registered Member
Posts
7
Karma
0

RE: [solved] Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:25 pm
Thank you jrick. that can not be more clear! Thank you all.

Note the short cut: shift+tab

Last edited by toutpt on Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.


toutpt, proud to be a member of KDE forums since 2008-Nov.
User avatar Fri13
Registered Member
Posts
397
Karma
4
OS

Re: [solved] Konsole SplitView

Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:02 pm
I was now after years needed to solve some KDE SC 4.6 RC2 bugs (being tagged tomorrow) and I needed to copy some files to .kde4_backup to new .kde4 (as for RC2) and the whole thing was so slow that copying 2Mb toke 30 minutes with Dolphin.

So I tought I do it on the Konsole with split view easily so I can just check did the files really come or what are still needed.

The Konsole split view is still a very unintuitive without adding tabs. I believe people would really hope to see by default a fresh command line separately from the first one. Like tabs does. But it would be hard to get this same feature then later with tabs.

I think this feature really should be possible configure how it works.
User avatar mjobin
Registered Member
Posts
37
Karma
0
OS

Re: [solved] Konsole SplitView

Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:19 pm
we have real split panes in our yakuake fork that use the konsolepart

still a work in progress, but usable

https://bitbucket.org/somekool/kde-start/
User avatar mjobin
Registered Member
Posts
37
Karma
0
OS

Re: [solved] Konsole SplitView

Fri Sep 23, 2016 2:20 pm
we are working on a new terminal application, which base his code off yakuake
but has real split panes between each tabs

give it a try
https://bitbucket.org/somekool/kde-start/
nadir
Registered Member
Posts
8
Karma
0

Re: [solved] Konsole SplitView

Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:09 am
several years later, it is still behaving like this. Meaning split exist, but it is useless as it it. and you have to click several time & cd to the right folder before having a proper split view.

So stupid.

terminator is the right way to do.
User avatar mjobin
Registered Member
Posts
37
Karma
0
OS

Re: [solved] Konsole SplitView

Thu Nov 29, 2018 5:34 am
the above project was renamed and moved to github

current master is usable, although it does not have many features.

https://github.com/kterminal/kterminal

CTRL-t for new tab
CTRL-' for vertical split
CTRL-; for horizontal split

cheers

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], bovender, Deevad, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], mikenewman, robgriff444, zaldymacalalad