Reply to topic

remove new konsole toolbar?

User avatar pauledd
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0
OS

remove new konsole toolbar?

Fri Apr 23, 2021 6:56 pm
Hi

I like a clean konsole window without anything else, so I usually remove menu bar.
After a recent update my konsole gets started with a new toolbar:
Image

How to remove that ugly thing? I can drag them out of the window but I cant close them.

Konsole Version 21.04.0
User avatar pauledd
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0
OS

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?  Topic is solved

Sat Apr 24, 2021 5:38 am
found it under Settings-->Toolbars Shown... 8)
kpetrie
Registered Member
Posts
14
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Wed Apr 28, 2021 11:17 am
Thanks for finding this. It helped me a lot.

Why would a terminal emulator need a toolbar? Why would someone who has chosen to work in text want one? I do find the menubar useful, but that's all I need and all I want.
bharland
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Wed Jul 14, 2021 1:26 pm
Just to add (since this threw me off) : to access the "toolbars shown" option, you must unlock toolbar icon positions.
netizen
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Thu Jul 15, 2021 8:45 am
I've no Toolbars shown menu entry, I've tried to unlock, but it doesn't appear. If I close&open konsole, they're locked again
njvdberg
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Thu Aug 05, 2021 9:57 am
I found a solution in another forum.
Left click on the menu bar and you will see a small popup menu with 2 items:
1) Main Toolbar. Controls visibility of the toolbar with "New Tab" and both "Split" options.
2) Session Toolbar. Controls visibility of the toolbar with "Copy", "Paste", "Find".

Hope this helps for you too.
artamonovav
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
OS

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Sat Aug 07, 2021 10:38 am
njvdberg wrote:I found a solution in another forum.
Left click on the menu bar and you will see a small popup menu with 2 items:
Hope this helps for you too.


Right click. I did it right now, and after that I found the solution here. Thanks.
netizen
Registered Member
Posts
2
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Mon Aug 09, 2021 10:30 am
njvdberg wrote:I found a solution in another forum.
Left click on the menu bar and you will see a small popup menu with 2 items:
Hope this helps for you too.


That works. Thank you.

However, this is not remembered and should be done for each Konsole window you open :-\
nada
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Wed Aug 11, 2021 7:34 pm
There's an annoying bug: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=440394

-> "Settings" -> "Configure Konsole" -> check "Remember window size" should persist the removal of toolbars.
sauravgo
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Sat Aug 14, 2021 2:51 am
Right Click on the menu bar and uncheck main toolbar and session toolbar.
danlynn
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Sat Aug 14, 2021 3:37 am
I can't see the menubar because I am using a global menu. Thus, no hope of hiding those toolbars. Is there a config file?
junkmailer
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Sun Aug 15, 2021 2:22 am
Something is terribly broken here. "Remember window size" breaks the ability to set a custom size in one's profile, but unchecking it means I get the "main toolbar" and "session toolbar" for each window. I've opened a bug here: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=440992
makr8100
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: remove new konsole toolbar?

Tue Aug 17, 2021 8:24 pm
Another use case broken by the "remember window size" - I have turned this off, prefer my window a precise size that fits 2x2 on one of my monitors that tolerates the occasional need to maximize the window, and forgets the window was maximized. Without the ability to turn off the toolbars and have that setting remembered I either lose vertical screen real estate in my terminal, windows don't fit 2x2 anymore, or have to remove it from each window individually. I cannot think of a situation where shown/hidden toolbars should not be remembered without a config to specify so.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], watchstar