Reply to topic

automatic cutting by time code?

housepig
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

automatic cutting by time code?

Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:25 am
hey all -

is there any way to script or automate the cutting of a clip or set of clips in the timeline by time code?

I'd like to be able to put together a text file with, for example, time codes for every ten seconds:

00.00.10.00
00.00.20.00
00.00.30.00

etc. and have the selected clip or track cut on those marks.

I've done similar process in dvd authoring software where it allowed importing of chapters from a text file; I'd love to be able to do the same with video in Kdenlive.

any ideas?

thanks!

- housepig
User avatar ttguy
Moderator
Posts
902
Karma
4
OS

Re: automatic cutting by time code?

Sat Apr 05, 2014 2:10 pm
What are you doing after you "cut" the clip at 10 sec intervals? Cutting does nothing if you then do not splice it.
housepig
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: automatic cutting by time code?

Sat Apr 05, 2014 4:07 pm
ttguy -

I am using this as a quick & dirty start point for doing multicamera edits - I record concerts sometimes with a couple of stationary cameras and one roaming camera, and doing a regular split of two of the sets of footage allows me to get started playing around with the edits faster than going through in multi-view mode.

- housepig
User avatar ttguy
Moderator
Posts
902
Karma
4
OS

Re: automatic cutting by time code?

Sun Apr 06, 2014 5:38 am
If you look in the .kdenlive project file you will note it is an XML document.
It has a playlist section. Which you can hand edit. A playlist section like this gives a cut every 10 seconds in a 25 frame per second source file.
Code: Select all
 <playlist id="playlist5">
  <entry in="0" out="250" producer="3"/>
  <entry in="251" out="500" producer="3"/>
  <entry in="501" out="750" producer="3"/>
  <entry in="751" out="1000" producer="3"/>
  <entry in="1001" out="1250" producer="3"/>
  <entry in="1251" out="1500" producer="3"/>
 </playlist>


You could script up something to write such entrys. You could write a formula in a spreadsheet to write this code for you for example.
housepig
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: automatic cutting by time code?

Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:17 am
ttguy -

Thanks for the info - I think I can work with that. I've got some more multi-cam shots coming up next week, when I get down to editing them I'll try this out.

- housepig

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Algar, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], capslock, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], ramskulls, subdiff, vbj, Yahoo [Bot]