Reply to topic

Changing Kdenlive project profile?

magnusl
Registered Member
Posts
37
Karma
0

Changing Kdenlive project profile?

Sat Jan 07, 2017 6:54 pm
Hi!

I have a number of older kdenlive with project settings chosen with creating DVDs in mind - home/family videos captured with DV camcorder. However, now I want to render these to HD quality. The clips are 1920 x 1080 25 fps interlaced. But when I change the project profile (at least on some projects), timeline is changed as well, to double speed. So a clip expected to play for 15 secs are given 30 secs, meaning that the last 15 is a frozen last frame.

So: should I be able to change the project profile? Why is this happening? Or could I in some way render to HD 1080i mp4 even though the project profile is DVD Pal or something similar? (attempting to render produces video 720 x 576 rather than 1920 x 1080)

Magnus
User avatar ovidiub13
KDE Developer
Posts
21
Karma
0
I have this issue as well. I've imported my clips, and Kdenlive didn't catch that the profile is 1080p 25fps and the clips are 1080p 60fps. Now if I change the profile it messes my editing by reducing it. Parts are missing.
Stetsbequem
Registered Member
Posts
123
Karma
-1
The simplest way would be to keep the project settings and render them scaled. Otherwise, if the new profile retains FPS and Interlaced, switching to a large format should not be a problem. But Kden informs you that problems with defective transitions can occur during the change…

Update: I have tried this. Project in HD 720p with 25 FPS (original camera material 1080/50p) created, a few cuts performed and saved. Then the project was changed to 1080p. No problems (except for the beeping at the sound cuts, but this is identical in both projects.)
Afterwards a project in FullHD with 50 FPS (original camera material) created, a few cuts performed and saved. Then the project was changed to 25 FPS. All cuts were lost! Of the former project length of 01:10:44 only 00:18:15 was left.


Either you choose the right job for the tool, or the right tool for the job.
capslock
Registered Member
Posts
694
Karma
4
OS
Yeah, changed the fps from 29.97 to 25 and all cuts were blown away. Had to redo the project (luckily I wanted to do it anyway).
User avatar ovidiub13
KDE Developer
Posts
21
Karma
0
I've reported a bug on this: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=389859

It seems it's a known issue that has been resolved, but it's somehow come back.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], claydoh, DarkFoss1, davis, doranwen, Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot], mperryman, Sogou [Bot], Stephen Leibowitz, vinnywright