Reply to topic

kdenlive renders full timeline with lots of blank video

jerems
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
I'm using Kdenlive 19.04.1 on windows 10 and I have set up my zone for rendering using the I and O method and it shows up blue on the preview monitor. When I try and render the clip, it renders fine but if the movie is 4 mins long and the timeline in the app is 18 mins long total the output movie is 4 mins of my movie and 14 mins of a black screen.

Is there something I'm doing wrong? I've tried rending using full project and selected zone with only the 4 mins selected with no luck. I tried it on two projects and both same outcomes except the other one had a 21 min timeline so the output was 4 mins of the movie and 17 mins of a black screen.

Is there a way to shrink the timeline after editing to only be as long as the movie?
Merlimau
Registered Member
Posts
497
Karma
5
If you enable in the render dialog „selected zone” it should render the zone determined in the timeline only.

Which render format do you use (mp4?).
jerems
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
Hi,

Yes I tried selecting the selection zone with the correct portions of the timeline selected and it still rendered the whole thing. I'm rendering in MPEG-2 as MP4 only renders sound when I render the movie...no video is rendered...which is another issue but MPEG-2 works fine except the excess blank screen at the end.
jerems
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0
I think I figured out the issue to both problems, I found on another thread for the video issue this document:

https://bugsfiles.kde.org/attachment.cgi?id=108162

I downloaded the latest MP4 codecs and installed as per the document, I think my main issue was that the environment was set up incorrectly. All the files were referencing old locations that didn't exist anymore.

I got those all changed and now it works properly and even MP4 works correctly.

Thanks for your help.
User avatar pappl
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
I get the same problem with Kdenlive on Linux. :'(
My Video is ~3mins long but the rendered video is 20 minutes like the whole timeline.
Already set in and out-points and rendering only selected zone, but still 17 minutes additional black screen in the end.
How can i get rid of this, i'm rendiering with the default mp4/h264 1080p profile?

Please help,
pappl
zakazak
Registered Member
Posts
4
Karma
0
pappl wrote:I get the same problem with Kdenlive on Linux. :'(
My Video is ~3mins long but the rendered video is 20 minutes like the whole timeline.
Already set in and out-points and rendering only selected zone, but still 17 minutes additional black screen in the end.
How can i get rid of this, i'm rendiering with the default mp4/h264 1080p profile?

Please help,
pappl


+1 ... exactly the same problem on Linux.
User avatar pappl
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
zakazak wrote:
pappl wrote:I get the same problem with Kdenlive on Linux. :'(
My Video is ~3mins long but the rendered video is 20 minutes like the whole timeline.
Already set in and out-points and rendering only selected zone, but still 17 minutes additional black screen in the end.
How can i get rid of this, i'm rendiering with the default mp4/h264 1080p profile?

Please help,
pappl


+1 ... exactly the same problem on Linux.



Strange there is no way to trim the timeline length after last clip. This would solve the problem as a workaround.
User avatar pappl
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
Here is a workaround to trim the last minutes of the rendered video without reencoding in 1 second.

Open terminal and type:

Code: Select all
ffmpeg -i "PATH TO LONG VIDEO.mp4" -ss 00:00:00 -t 00:05:33 -acodec copy -vcodec copy -movflags faststart "PATH TO NEW TRIMMED VIDEO.mp4"


Edit the time after -t to your need (HH:MM:SS), in this case 5min 33sec

Last edited by pappl on Fri Jun 07, 2019 10:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar a@pavel.bz
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0
Just wanted to point that I've discovered what causing it.
There is an option "Use GPU processing (Movit library)" in the Playback section of settings. It it's checked - you'll have those issues with rendering tens of minutes of empty screen even when trying to render only selected zone.

https://invent.kde.org/kde/kdenlive/issues/221
User avatar pappl
Registered Member
Posts
10
Karma
0
a@pavel.bz wrote:Just wanted to point that I've discovered what causing it.
There is an option "Use GPU processing (Movit library)" in the Playback section of settings. It it's checked - you'll have those issues with rendering tens of minutes of empty screen even when trying to render only selected zone.

https://invent.kde.org/kde/kdenlive/issues/221


I will not disable GPU acceleration since this is a standard feature of every video editing software since decades.

I'll use quick ffmpeg trimming after rendering in terminal until a fix is released. This will save 30 minutes for every video GPU rendered.
I added faststart to the trimming code to make videos youtube and streaming compatible:

Code: Select all
ffmpeg -i "PATH TO LONG VIDEO.mp4" -ss 00:00:00 -t 00:05:33 -acodec copy -vcodec copy -movflags faststart "PATH TO NEW TRIMMED VIDEO.mp4"



pappl
jbm
Moderator
Posts
17
Karma
0
Thanks for your report. This was in fact an issue in MLT that was fixed a few days ago. I will upload a new 19.04.2d AppImage in a few hours with the fix.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: atopp, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], boudewijn, cylverbak, duns, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], liderbug, manuelsanchez, tymond, Yahoo [Bot], zoodany