Reply to topic

Plasmoid for audio control

User avatar lazyit
Registered Member
Posts
125
Karma
0
OS

Plasmoid for audio control

Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:38 pm
Image
actually I do not know whether this is the right place for this signaling, perhaps https://bugs.kde.org would be the right place, but first I wanted one of your own to be sure I'm not alone in seeing this problem!
basically do not understand why there are 3 controls for the volume of which is actually just one (the middle one) really the volume rule, the first top concerns perhaps another sound card, the bottom one concerns the microphone I think, the problem is that usually, in all DE I've seen, it should only be the default control for audio and at most other things should be hidden in the advanced Settings or something, what do you think?
User avatar colomar
Registered Member
Posts
944
Karma
2
OS

Re: Plasmoid for audio control

Fri Apr 01, 2016 8:53 am
Filing a bug would have worked just as well as posting it here.

I do agree that the two playback volume sliders are more confusing than helping. Being able to easily control the capture (which is indeed usually used for microphone) level does make sense, though, so I wouldn't remove that one.
User avatar lazyit
Registered Member
Posts
125
Karma
0
OS

Re: Plasmoid for audio control

Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:14 pm
With respect to the microphone, however, it is also true that I have no microphone on my PC!
in my desktop pc I have a pair of headphones (I always use) and two connected speakers but they are always off, would also be nice, perhaps, to have icons for headphones or speakers or the microphone :)
johanc
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0
OS

Re: Plasmoid for audio control

Mon May 16, 2016 12:22 pm
Hi Lazyit,


You are seeing two output devices because you have one analog jack output (probably those on your mainboard) and a digital HDMI output (from your graphics card). If you don't want to see the HDMI output, just deactivate it in the system settings in Multimedia.

You can do the same for the microphone input you aren't using, Select only analog stereo output and not Duplex.


Johan
User avatar supaiku
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0
OS

Re: Plasmoid for audio control

Mon May 16, 2016 11:15 pm
johanc wrote:Hi Lazyit,


You are seeing two output devices because you have one analog jack output (probably those on your mainboard) and a digital HDMI output (from your graphics card). If you don't want to see the HDMI output, just deactivate it in the system settings in Multimedia.

You can do the same for the microphone input you aren't using, Select only analog stereo output and not Duplex.


Johan


Well, but don't you agree that it's pretty pointless to have them show up in the first place?

GNOME also manages to only show those which are relevant / used. The same magic could be applied to plasma-pa.
User avatar andreas_k
Registered Member
Posts
561
Karma
0

Re: Plasmoid for audio control

Wed May 18, 2016 7:19 am
I also had the problem that I don't know which ruler I have to mute, it's not realy user friendly. If there is no microphone I don't need to mute it.
In addition I ordinary don't understand what is what. Somthing like a sound spectrum would be nice to know where there is some sound and where not.
johanc
Registered Member
Posts
18
Karma
0
OS

Re: Plasmoid for audio control

Sat May 21, 2016 9:57 am
supaiku wrote:
johanc wrote:Hi Lazyit,


You are seeing two output devices because you have one analog jack output (probably those on your mainboard) and a digital HDMI output (from your graphics card). If you don't want to see the HDMI output, just deactivate it in the system settings in Multimedia.

You can do the same for the microphone input you aren't using, Select only analog stereo output and not Duplex.


Johan


Well, but don't you agree that it's pretty pointless to have them show up in the first place?

GNOME also manages to only show those which are relevant / used. The same magic could be applied to plasma-pa.



It actually seems pretty logic to me to have all the output listed and the most used input: the microphone. It gets even more interesting on mobile computers where you often use an external monitor or TV and need the sound to go to that device.


andreas_k wrote:
I also had the problem that I don't know which ruler I have to mute, it's not realy user friendly. If there is no microphone I don't need to mute it.
In addition I ordinary don't understand what is what. Somthing like a sound spectrum would be nice to know where there is some sound and where not.



If you know where you speakers are connected this shouldn't be a problem... And I supposed that you on which output you connected your speakers
User avatar supaiku
Registered Member
Posts
15
Karma
0
OS

Re: Plasmoid for audio control

Sat May 21, 2016 5:40 pm
johanc wrote:
supaiku wrote:
johanc wrote:Hi Lazyit,


You are seeing two output devices because you have one analog jack output (probably those on your mainboard) and a digital HDMI output (from your graphics card). If you don't want to see the HDMI output, just deactivate it in the system settings in Multimedia.

You can do the same for the microphone input you aren't using, Select only analog stereo output and not Duplex.


Johan


Well, but don't you agree that it's pretty pointless to have them show up in the first place?

GNOME also manages to only show those which are relevant / used. The same magic could be applied to plasma-pa.



It actually seems pretty logic to me to have all the output listed and the most used input: the microphone. It gets even more interesting on mobile computers where you often use an external monitor or TV and need the sound to go to that device.


You misunderstand. The things that should be listed there, should actually represent your hardware setup . It's not logical to show microphone input if I don't have a microphone. And the same goes for HDMI output, when my monitor has no speakers. You get the idea.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: agentx, alisamii, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], fabricix, Google [Bot], jonzn4suse, techuser