Reply to topic

plasmashell high CPU load

luebking
Registered Member
Posts
1718
Karma
12

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Mon Jul 21, 2014 12:02 pm
when gdb has done all it's lib loading and presents you a promt, please enter "bt" to get a backtrace.
skyly
Registered Member
Posts
20
Karma
0

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:58 pm
Same problem as me. See kf5 doesn't work.
workoft
Registered Member
Posts
61
Karma
0

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Wed Jul 23, 2014 2:37 pm
Oops - here we go:
Code: Select all
 (gdb) bt
#0  0x00007fedeb05d160 in KSGRD::SensorAgent::sendRequest(QString const&, KSGRD::SensorClient*, int) () from /usr/lib64/libksgrd.so.5
#1  0x00007fedeb0648c2 in KSGRD::SensorManager::sendRequest(QString const&, QString const&, KSGRD::SensorClient*, int) () from /usr/lib64/libksgrd.so.5
#2  0x00007fedeb2aa06a in SystemMonitorEngine::answerReceived (this=0x7ec6350, id=<optimized out>, answer=...)
    at /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-5.0.0/work/plasma-workspace-5.0.0/dataengines/systemmonitor/systemmonitor.cpp:167
#3  0x00007fedeb05d8a0 in KSGRD::SensorAgent::processAnswer(char const*, int) () from /usr/lib64/libksgrd.so.5
#4  0x00007fedeb0659c0 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libksgrd.so.5
#5  0x00007fef21d74bd9 in QMetaObject::activate (sender=sender@entry=0x7f20c10, signalOffset=<optimized out>, local_signal_index=local_signal_index@entry=5,
    argv=argv@entry=0x0) at kernel/qobject.cpp:3680
#6  0x00007fef21d750f7 in QMetaObject::activate (sender=sender@entry=0x7f20c10, m=m@entry=0x7fef22179200 <QProcess::staticMetaObject>,
    local_signal_index=local_signal_index@entry=5, argv=argv@entry=0x0) at kernel/qobject.cpp:3546
#7  0x00007fef21c6f0b3 in QProcess::readyReadStandardOutput (this=this@entry=0x7f20c10) at .moc/moc_qprocess.cpp:269
#8  0x00007fef21c71ddd in QProcessPrivate::tryReadFromChannel (this=0x7605980, channel=0x7605ac8) at io/qprocess.cpp:967
#9  0x00007fef21c72215 in _q_canReadStandardError (this=<optimized out>) at io/qprocess.cpp:986
#10 QProcess::qt_static_metacall (_o=<optimized out>, _c=<optimized out>, _id=<optimized out>, _a=0x7fff81ff4fe0) at .moc/moc_qprocess.cpp:137
#11 0x00007fef21d74bd9 in QMetaObject::activate (sender=sender@entry=0x8378170, signalOffset=<optimized out>, local_signal_index=local_signal_index@entry=0,
    argv=argv@entry=0x7fff81ff4fe0) at kernel/qobject.cpp:3680
#12 0x00007fef21d750f7 in QMetaObject::activate (sender=sender@entry=0x8378170, m=m@entry=0x7fef2217e700 <QSocketNotifier::staticMetaObject>,
    local_signal_index=local_signal_index@entry=0, argv=argv@entry=0x7fff81ff4fe0) at kernel/qobject.cpp:3546
#13 0x00007fef21df5a6e in QSocketNotifier::activated (this=this@entry=0x8378170, _t1=101) at .moc/moc_qsocketnotifier.cpp:132
#14 0x00007fef21d81f00 in QSocketNotifier::event (this=0x8378170, e=0x7fff81ff5300) at kernel/qsocketnotifier.cpp:300
#15 0x00007fef229d797c in QApplicationPrivate::notify_helper (this=this@entry=0x2560d60, receiver=receiver@entry=0x8378170, e=e@entry=0x7fff81ff5300)
    at kernel/qapplication.cpp:3522
---Type <return> to continue, or q <return> to quit---
#16 0x00007fef229dc980 in QApplication::notify (this=0x7fff81ff56a0, receiver=0x8378170, e=0x7fff81ff5300) at kernel/qapplication.cpp:3305
#17 0x00007fef21d44acd in QCoreApplication::notifyInternal (this=0x7fff81ff56a0, receiver=0x8378170, event=event@entry=0x7fff81ff5300) at kernel/qcoreapplication.cpp:935
#18 0x00007fef21d9eb34 in sendEvent (event=0x7fff81ff5300, receiver=<optimized out>) at ../../include/QtCore/../../src/corelib/kernel/qcoreapplication.h:237
#19 socketNotifierSourceDispatch (source=0x259fa50) at kernel/qeventdispatcher_glib.cpp:109
#20 0x00007fef1bec6df6 in g_main_context_dispatch () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#21 0x00007fef1bec7148 in ?? () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#22 0x00007fef1bec71ec in g_main_context_iteration () from /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0
#23 0x00007fef21d9dbbc in QEventDispatcherGlib::processEvents (this=0x259a880, flags=...) at kernel/qeventdispatcher_glib.cpp:426
#24 0x00007fef21d4290b in QEventLoop::exec (this=this@entry=0x7fff81ff5540, flags=..., flags@entry=...) at kernel/qeventloop.cpp:212
#25 0x00007fef21d4a31f in QCoreApplication::exec () at kernel/qcoreapplication.cpp:1188
#26 0x00007fef22269cac in QGuiApplication::exec () at kernel/qguiapplication.cpp:1450
#27 0x00007fef229d60a5 in QApplication::exec () at kernel/qapplication.cpp:2767
#28 0x0000000000433bb0 in main (argc=1, argv=<optimized out>) at /var/tmp/portage/kde-base/plasma-workspace-5.0.0/work/plasma-workspace-5.0.0/shell/main.cpp:109
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2715
Karma
5
OS

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Wed Jul 23, 2014 6:55 pm
Is ksysguard5 running? Does anything change if you kill it (if it's running) or if you run it (if it's not running)?


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
workoft
Registered Member
Posts
61
Karma
0

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Thu Jul 24, 2014 11:50 am
ksysguard5? I have a binary /usr/bin/ksysguard, which is the system monitor, but that's not what you're talking about, right?
If so, no. I use ksysguard most of the time to kill plasmashell, I never noticed any change in behaviour.
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
2715
Karma
5
OS

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:57 pm
Is this ksysguard the 4.x version, or the 5.x version?


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
workoft
Registered Member
Posts
61
Karma
0

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:26 pm
It's 5.0.0. 4.x isn't installed.
Yukariin
Registered Member
Posts
6
Karma
0

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:16 pm
Bump!
I install Arch and plasma-next on my laptop and have this issue too.
All time plasmashell process have 20-30% CPU usage.
Here my ~/.xsession-errors http://pastebin.com/XMRiRNQe
luebking
Registered Member
Posts
1718
Karma
12

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Sun Dec 14, 2014 9:45 pm
Bounce!

This will likely be some plasmoid - the backtrace suggest some sensor/cpumonitor/whatever banging ksysguardd[5] (notice the double "dd", trailing version name is probably optional)

You could try to remove such (and afterwards other) plasmoids to narrow the culprit.
But the only way to get a real information about what causes CPU load is called "valgrind" (--tool callgrind) - or any other profiler ;-)
workoft
Registered Member
Posts
61
Karma
0

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Mon Mar 02, 2015 6:46 am
I haven't had much time recently to look into the problem - but it seems to be getting worse with every update. I'm now at a point where I have to restart plasmashell every 5 minutes. I'm just running it from the terminal so I can hit CTRL+C, UPARROW, ENTER every now and then. I'm using just the standard layout, no additional applets or anything. All I changed was the font and the wallpaper.
workoft
Registered Member
Posts
61
Karma
0

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Tue Mar 10, 2015 2:11 am
This issue seems to be triggered by plasma-nm. Whenever plasma-nm is busy connecting to the network, the "busy" animation will hog the CPU. Since due to some other bug, my laptop tries to connect to Ethernet after a couple of suspends (and never fails or succeeds to connect, just keeps trying), I have a constant "busy" animation. IIRC this is some known bug with intel graphics cards... Once I hit the "disconnect" button, CPU load drops after a couple of seconds.
User avatar jgrulich
KDE Developer
Posts
48
Karma
0
OS

Re: plasmashell high CPU load

Tue Mar 10, 2015 8:14 am
Yes, this is triggered by plasma-nm, but it's a bug somewhere else. See bug 336274.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: andreas_k, askinner, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], davidemme, drosca, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], google01103, jstaniek, koriun, La Ninje, MSNbot Media, pedromartinez, Sogou [Bot], StuieT, YaCy [Bot], Yahoo [Bot]