Reply to topic

kauth is not working anymore

arojas
Registered Member
Posts
13
Karma
0
OS

kauth is not working anymore

Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:03 pm
I have a really strange issue with kauth. Since a few days ago, it doesn't work anymore (it gives the error "KAuth was compiled with a working backend, but was unable to load it! Check your installation!"). It worked a couple of weeks ago, and if I reinstall the (previously compiled) old version it still works. But if I recompile the same version, it doesn't.
Something must have changed on the system that produces a broken kauth when compiling. It's not the toolchain, since I tested with the same version that was used to compile the working kauth version. Any ideas of what could be causing this or how to debug it?
User avatar šumski
Registered Member
Posts
106
Karma
1
OS
check the passed CMake vars. in KF5 world code is *really* sensitive on some vars being absolute. IOW, one can't use absolute LIB_INSTALL_DIR, and at least some Frameworks rely on PLUGIN_PATH being relative. at least here on openSUSE, KAuth still works (with both 5.2.0 and master)
arojas
Registered Member
Posts
13
Karma
0
OS

Re: kauth is not working anymore

Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:17 pm
Thank you! It looks like the problem is the -DKDE_INSTALL_USE_QT_SYS_PATHS=ON flag. Removing it and manually specifying -DQT_PLUGIN_INSTALL_DIR=lib/qt/plugins fixes it. I guess this should be fixed in kauth?
User avatar šumski
Registered Member
Posts
106
Karma
1
OS

Re: kauth is not working anymore

Tue Sep 30, 2014 7:30 pm
yes, but first e-c-m should expose something like e.g. CMAKE_INSTALL_FULL_QT_PLUGIN_INSTALL_DIR. alternatively, it shouldn't rely at all on installed location.
i fear there are many more cases across Frameworks and Workspace...
User avatar david_edmundson
KDE Developer
Posts
359
Karma
1
OS

Re: kauth is not working anymore

Wed Oct 15, 2014 8:39 pm
I'm impressed. I spent hours hunting this bug down and should have just checked the forum.

When it's built with DKDE_INSTALL_USE_QT_SYS_PATHS the PLUGIN_DIR is absolute, whereas otherwise it's relative.

so we end up with kauth looking in /usr/usr/share/...

https://git.reviewboard.kde.org/r/120603/
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
3402
Karma
7
OS

Re: kauth is not working anymore

Thu Oct 16, 2014 5:44 am
And to follow up, the review request was accepted, so this should be fixed in the next KAuth release.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
arojas
Registered Member
Posts
13
Karma
0
OS

Re: kauth is not working anymore

Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:35 pm
šumski wrote:i fear there are many more cases across Frameworks and Workspace...


And you were right, kactivities is also affected by this https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=340900

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], ipwizard, jmacleod, jumpropethrowaway, valaquarus