Reply to topic

Plasma5 network monitor widget?

sb56637
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Sat Oct 18, 2014 5:19 am
Hi there,

Plasma5 is working quite well for me. The only thing I need is a panel widget that shows my network activity, basically like the old Knemo. Is there anything similar to this available for Plasma5? I've looked but I can't find anything.

Thanks a lot!
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
3400
Karma
7
OS

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Sun Oct 19, 2014 7:17 pm
Do you mean with graphs and all? The issue for the developers at the moment lies in creating a widget that could draw graphs correctly without being a performance hog.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
sb56637
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:07 pm
Thanks for the reply! And meanwhile is there a way to have a simple network speed monitor at least that shows up/down speed (just text), and possibly a vertical indicator like the current system load indicator widget?
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
3400
Karma
7
OS

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Tue Oct 21, 2014 6:30 pm
The system allows to plug into these data even if not using graphs (i.e. using bars like the system load viewer), but to my knowledge, nothing has been written yet.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
User avatar Heiko Tietze
Registered Member
Posts
593
Karma
0
OS

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Wed Oct 22, 2014 7:51 am
sb56637 wrote:And meanwhile is there a way to have a simple network speed monitor...

How's about Conky?
sb56637
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Thu Oct 23, 2014 3:27 pm
Hmm, Conky, no. The thing is, I never look at my desktop, I always need to monitor the network at a glance while I'm using an application that covers the desktop.
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
3400
Karma
7
OS

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:25 am
You could try out KNemo, it's Qt4 based, buf if your distro ships sni-qt, you should be able to embed it in the systray.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python
wolfi323
Registered Member
Posts
1125
Karma
11
OS

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Sat Oct 25, 2014 9:58 am
einar wrote:You could try out KNemo, it's Qt4 based, buf if your distro ships sni-qt, you should be able to embed it in the systray.

AFAIK, knemo uses SNI by itself anyway, it is a KDE application after all... ;)
sb56637
Registered Member
Posts
5
Karma
0

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Sat Oct 25, 2014 6:44 pm
Hey, nice, I didn't think that Knemo would work on Plasma 5, but it does. Just installed it now. Thanks for the tip.

So does anyone know if there are plans to create a network monitor widget for Plasma 5? I do like a graph AND a text readout of up/down speed. The best I've found is this one for Gnome Shell:
https://extensions.gnome.org/static/ext ... _120_1.png
It allows for a graph and at the same time text display of network transfer.
User avatar einar
Administrator
Posts
3400
Karma
7
OS

Re: Plasma5 network monitor widget?

Sun Oct 26, 2014 1:04 pm
As I said, the problem is finding the right maths to display stuff. The rest would be probably easy.


"Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent."
Image
Plasma FAQ maintainer - Plasma programming with Python

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], bartoloni, Bing [Bot], farid, Google [Bot], jmacleod, Majestic-12 [Bot]