Reply to topic

Plasma 5 doesn't save settings

apache
Registered Member
Posts
273
Karma
0
OS

Plasma 5 doesn't save settings

Thu Aug 23, 2018 10:48 am
Not all, because some settings are respected and some are not.

For example I can align icons on Desktop to the right or to the left and it works ok. Settings that I set in system setting seems to be respected. It looks like only those changed from applets are not and from Dolphin options are not, but not all.

When I set Dolphin Preferences > General > Confirmations and thick the Executing scripts I can run .desktop file (run application) from different Dolphin locations but option in Dolphin remains unmarked.

I unmarked kmix volume feedback, I don't want this feedback to pop-up when I for example watch something. Yet, it still appears but only when I use keyboard shortcut to change volume. When I use slider in kmix the icon doesn't show.

Plasma also can’t remember kmenu settings. For example I change name of entry in kmenu edit, Web browser Firefox to Firefox and save it, still in kmenu is visible Web browser Firefox.

I have Manjaro and the latest updates installed. Plasma 5.13.4

I created new user with home folder and checked default permissions.
I only had one file with different permissions:
Code: Select all
-rwxr-xr-x plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc

and I corrected it and restarted system but with no effect.

There have to be some settings files that are responsible for this.

Last edited by apache on Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar cylverbak
Registered Member
Posts
86
Karma
0
OS
hmmm, sounds like my problem . . .

I've been trying to change my Audio Hardware Setup settings. My soundcard is presently detected as GP107GL High Definition Audio Controller. Front Left and Front Right Speaker Placement & Testing do not work.

Changing the Sound Card to Built-in Audio, I have both Left & Right working as they should. However, after Applying the setting and leave that settings page, the Sound Card reverts to GP107GL. I've tried making this change as User as I normally would. I've also run System Settings as Root and made the change to no effect.
apache
Registered Member
Posts
273
Karma
0
OS

Re: Plasma 5 doesn't save settings

Thu Aug 23, 2018 2:36 pm
I found some workarounds for my problems.

Name of Firefox has changed in kmenu when I changed it in firefox.desktop file in
/home/user/.local/share/applications/

Right mouse click on file, properties and edit.

For sound volume change I unmarked / unchecked option in system Settings → Workspace behaviour
Display visual feedback for status changes. But this looks like some general setting for whole Plasma.
https://i.imgur.com/8u9ELoe.png

There is an old, fixed bug but who knows maybe it reappeard
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=356899
Maybe it is somehow related.

New bug report:
Plasma 5 doesn't save some settings
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=398008

My Plasma also doesn't save qtcurve settings.
knone
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: Plasma 5 doesn't save settings

Wed Aug 29, 2018 7:34 pm
Hi, I have the same issue. My plasma-workspace version is 5.13.4-2
And I cannot save settings under Default Applications -> Web Browser.
Issue was not present in previous release.
apache
Registered Member
Posts
273
Karma
0
OS

Re: Plasma 5 doesn't save settings

Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:39 am
As David asked in my bug report all issues should be reported separately in appropriate place.
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=398008

Please report here
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=394835
This seems to be the same problem to yours.
Remember to add information about your Plasma version and distribution.

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: 4m, Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Brokeneagle, DaniilDragon, Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot], hellozee, lshoravi, m4TZ, mcoudert, rblackwell, Snudl, TG, TheraHedwig, thunder422, Underrr, vishalrao