Reply to topic

Issues with Updater interface

User avatar NginUS
Registered Member
Posts
58
Karma
0

Issues with Updater interface

Fri Jun 09, 2017 5:08 pm
I've recently installed neon-devedition-gitstable-20170523-1311-amd64 & the updater interface has been empty [1] until I ran aptitude upgrade today. Now it's no longer empty, but its size cuts off its content from view [2].

I tried setting KDE's "More Actions > Special Window Settings / Special Application Settings > Size & Position > Size > Apply Initially" to a sufficiently large size, & it didn't change anything. Having noticed the window's title changing a few seconds after it opens, I tried again using a 5 second delay, but it still didn't work.



Screenshots:
[1]
https://imgur.com/a/hbzzh

[2]
https://imgur.com/a/KIh6e
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: Issues with Updater interface

Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:15 am
@cbartels Come here viewtopic.php?f=309&t=140594, please. I want this thing settled once n for all.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
User avatar scummos
Global Moderator
Posts
1137
Karma
7
OS

Re: Issues with Updater interface

Fri Jun 16, 2017 11:51 am
raddison wrote:@cbartels Come here viewtopic.php?f=309&t=140594, please. I want this thing settled once n for all.


I don't see what that has to do with the topic of this thread. Please do not hijack threads in this way.


I'm working on the KDevelop IDE.
vishalrao
Registered Member
Posts
146
Karma
0
OS

Re: Issues with Updater interface

Sat Jun 17, 2017 2:08 am


"Thou shalt not follow the null pointer for at its end madness and chaos lie."
User avatar NginUS
Registered Member
Posts
58
Karma
0
Fixed it a few days later with 'sudo aptitude upgrade'. Now it spawns a window with visible content like it should, although it's too small to be useful but that's another issue.
User avatar NginUS
Registered Member
Posts
58
Karma
0

Re: Issues with Updater interface

Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:52 am
cbartels wrote:Now it spawns a window with visible content like it should, although it's too small to be useful but that's another issue.


FYI to anyone interested, I solved the window size issue by launching the 'Discover' menu entry located at "Application Launcher > Applications > System > Software Center (Discover)", after which I navigated via right-then-left-clicks to "Titlebar > More Actions > Special Window Settings", checked both the "Maximized horozontally" & "Maximized vertically" checkboxes, set both their corresponding drop-down items to "Apply Initially", then selected both of their corresponding "Yes" radio boxes then saved it by clicking 'OK" at the bottom.

Now both the 'Discover' software management app opens maximized, as does the updater dialog from the system tray, at least when I manually select "See Updates" from the system tray icon's right-click menu.

Note that I have yet to test whether it opens maximized via accessing the tray icon when it's alerting to available updates. Maybe I'll come back & report on that once I can confirm it as well. EDIT: Indeed it does. :-)

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], boudewijn, claydoh, DarkFoss1, edward.81, Gallaecio, googie, Google [Bot], kamathraghavendra, Mamarok, mauromol, moreaupi, Sogou [Bot], TheraHedwig, wind_rose_2, Yahoo [Bot]