Reply to topic

WPS Office not working

raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Tue Sep 19, 2017 6:40 pm
Have been noticing spikes in KeySysGuard under Network History on launch. Sending packets seemingly but ... who knows? Suggestions?

Last edited by raddison on Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:12 pm, edited 3 times in total.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
User avatar waynes
Registered Member
Posts
118
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Wed Sep 20, 2017 6:13 pm
Actually I've just noticed that the "open" button isn't working. The one on the far left of the task bar. It works fine in Xubuntu. Can someone else concur with this?
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Wed Sep 20, 2017 9:01 pm
waynes wrote:Actually I've just noticed that the "open" button isn't working. The one on the far left of the task bar. It works fine in Xubuntu. Can someone else concur with this?


@Waynes It's way too buggy. Can't insert a picture (can you?). No, that button isn't working, you're correct. Yet another thing: it doesn't support .odt, which is bad.

If they make it free software for GNU/Linux (so people can help them improve it), I'll use it. Otherwise not. I like it but it fails on a number of things. Sorry.

Edit: Seemingly, you don't have to install libpng12-0. Fresh-installed Neon (lts), fully updated it and found it already installed.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Thu Sep 21, 2017 7:59 am
@Waynes Go to the KaOS forum. Seems a community member has packaged the binaries quite recently. Maybe they have had better luck and can provide some advice/suggestions (top-notch support and a nice community). I'll meet you there. Let's find out if it worked for them. ;)


Proud to be powered by Plasma
User avatar waynes
Registered Member
Posts
118
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:32 am
As you say, a number of bugs seem to be surfacing on KDE. It's no deal breaker for me as it works as it should in Xubuntu, which I dual boot with.
I knew it never supported .odt files. The reason it's so useful, is that it covers all bases. (Windows, Linux, Android, Mac). So you can create & pick up documents on any device, & they render perfectly. (Unfortunately LibreOffice hasn't covered mobile devices as yet).
I will have a look at KaOS forums & see where they are with it.
Could you post me a link to where the binaries are packaged.
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Sun Sep 24, 2017 8:47 am
waynes wrote:As you say, a number of bugs seem to be surfacing on KDE. It's no deal breaker for me as it works as it should in Xubuntu, which I dual boot with.
I knew it never supported .odt files. The reason it's so useful, is that it covers all bases. (Windows, Linux, Android, Mac). So you can create & pick up documents on any device, & they render perfectly. (Unfortunately LibreOffice hasn't covered mobile devices as yet).
I will have a look at KaOS forums & see where they are with it.
Could you post me a link to where the binaries are packaged.


@Waynes
So It works as it should in Xfce. Don't know. Why does it have issues in Plasma?
Perhaps it would be useful to find out whether it works as it should in KaOS. https://github.com/KaOS-Community-Packages Ask them.
Correction: seems it hasn't been packed recently.
Note: You should be aware they have their own package format but what's relevant is whether WPS works as it should in KaOS (Plasma-related aspect).
https://github.com/KaOS-Community-Packa ... e/issues/1


Proud to be powered by Plasma
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:16 am
@Waynes Seemingly the only way to insert an image is to drag & drop it into the document. Talking about WPS.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:27 am
Could, please, someone have a look at this https://github.com/KaOS-Community-Packa ... r/PKGBUILD and make necessary mods so one may build a package that is tailored for Ubuntu with Plasma on top of it? Much appreciated in advance.

Last edited by raddison on Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:19 pm
I just want you to know that WPS Office works FLAWLESSLY in Mate (Solus). CONCLUSION: WPS Office not working or partially working is definitely not Kingsoft's fault. We must be doing something wrong or the software is incompatible with the Plasma desktop.

I shall install it on KaOS, then we shall know more.

Last edited by raddison on Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Wed Sep 27, 2017 4:01 pm
1. Download .deb
2. Open up Konsole and type cd /home/name/Downloads
3. then sudo dpkg -i *.deb
... wait ...
4. System Stettings > Application Style > Widget Style > Applications > Widget Style: GTK+ Style > Apply > Reboot (just 'cause)
5. Check WPS. Works (including what Waynes and I have pointed out upstream as not working). But at what cost :D ?
Notes:
1) You don't need qt4-qtconfig or anything else. Just the .deb from Kingsoft.
2) WPS office will not work with Widget Style > Breeze.
3) WPS will work in all GTK-based (brrr!) desktops without any issues whatsoever.

Tell me that I'm wrong and why.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Sun Oct 01, 2017 8:15 pm
@Waynes Actually I've got WPS working flawlessly on Kubuntu 16.04.3 with backported Plasma version 5.8.7. Only some minor stuff not rendering correctly color-wise but the the open folder and insert image worked (Kdiolog). Couldn't replicate it on Neon though. I think this subject is exhausted so if you don't have anything more to add, let it sink to the bottom.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
jingmx
Registered Member
Posts
1
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:16 am
Find solution from WPS community: http://bbs.wps.cn/thread-22946485-1-1.html
It seems wps-office-10.1.0.5707-1.a21.x86_64 has some trouble with Qt GUI. Use

wps -style gtk+
wpp -style gtk+
et -style gtk+

for force choosing GTK+ as backend and then all works well !
If you want to launch WPS from KDE launch menu, modify default launch command
from "<app_path> %f" to "<app_path> -style gtk+ %f" will let them work !
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Tue Oct 10, 2017 9:18 pm
jingmx wrote:Find solution from WPS community: http://bbs.wps.cn/thread-22946485-1-1.html
It seems wps-office-10.1.0.5707-1.a21.x86_64 has some trouble with Qt GUI. Use

wps -style gtk+
wpp -style gtk+
et -style gtk+

for force choosing GTK+ as backend and then all works well !
If you want to launch WPS from KDE launch menu, modify default launch command
from "<app_path> %f" to "<app_path> -style gtk+ %f" will let them work !


Sounds great but it's too technical for me to understand it. Please take us through the whole process step-by-step. Let's make it a case study.
1. Have KDE Neon User installed (stock)
2. Open up Konsole (terminal)
Please post every single line (separately) one has to type into the terminal (make use of the
Code: Select all
code
button).


Proud to be powered by Plasma
User avatar waynes
Registered Member
Posts
118
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:49 am
@raddison..
Jingmx is talking about starting wps from the command line with the above commands.
WPS will open, but I personally still have the same issues mentioned above.
So problem not solved for me. See how you go.

With regard to your saying it works flawlessly in kubuntu, that tells me that we're missing some package somewhere. But what it is I've no idea.
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
515
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:29 pm
With regard to your saying it works flawlessly in kubuntu, that tells me that we're missing some package somewhere. But what it is I've no idea.


@Waynes By "flawlessly" I mean: "functionally flawless" but "visually sub-optimal". In Kubuntu 16.04.3 + backports. Perhaps we should move this discussion somewhere else. I think it's on the verge of not being tolerated much longer. There are rules that we must obey. This forum aggregates a lot of data and what we're discussing right here might be noise for some. We could take it to GitHub.


Proud to be powered by Plasma

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], claydoh, farid, Google [Bot], jacksong, joebuckley, Moldmaker, Section_8, Sogou [Bot], zfazylz