Reply to topic

WPS Office not working

raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Fri Jul 13, 2018 6:56 pm
@waynes & friends

Open up a terminal and type in:
Code: Select all
touch /tmp/temp.log

Code: Select all
watch -n 0,5 "sudo netstat -tupn | tee -a /tmp/temp.log"


Then open and close WPS a number of times.
Then read the log and tell me your opinion. :D


Proud to be powered by Plasma
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:15 pm
@waynes

If you're using wps on ubuntu budgie 18.04, update to the latest libpng12-0 (1.2.54-1ubuntu1.1). It's been fixed quite recently (had a security flaw).
https://packages.ubuntu.com/xenial/libpng12-0
http://changelogs.ubuntu.com/changelogs ... /changelog


Proud to be powered by Plasma
User avatar waynes
Registered Member
Posts
77
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Mon Jul 23, 2018 4:02 pm
Hi Raddison..
re your last post. what are those commands meant to do? And what are we looking for in the logs?
re your libpng post, thanks for the info.
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:04 pm
waynes wrote:Hi Raddison..
re your last post. what are those commands meant to do? And what are we looking for in the logs?
re your libpng post, thanks for the info.


@waynes
Whenever you're launching wps (and you're connected to the internet) wps establishes a connection with a server. Just for a second or so.
The Docer on-line template service seems to have been dropped though for the Linux version of the software.
It would be beneficial to follow the tcp stream and find out what it contains (if anything).
If it does contain any data, it would be beneficial to know what the data is (it might be plain text or it might be encrypted).
I assume it's some sort of telemetry and usage stats but that's just a theory and nothing else.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
User avatar waynes
Registered Member
Posts
77
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Thu Sep 13, 2018 3:14 pm
Just information...
A new version of WPS is available:
http://wps-community.org/downloads
Same installation rules apply as per thread, but the libpng12-0 package is now NOT needed.
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Fri Sep 14, 2018 11:36 pm
waynes wrote:Just information...
A new version of WPS is available:
http://wps-community.org/downloads
Same installation rules apply as per thread, but the libpng12-0 package is now NOT needed.


@waynes Thanks. Indeed. Seems to be working without issues. Just clicked on it and Discover installed it. This particular install is based on preview build 50 User Edition, which lacks QApt. I know I can install it but they should include it into the ISOs.

As for the new WPS Office, I think it needs further testing as well as some forensics. Anyways, this is just a test machine so anything goes. ;D
Same installation rules apply as per thread

Indeed. One has to make those changes in the KDE Menu Editor or else it won't work. But at least it doesn't require libpng12-0 anymore.

Last edited by raddison on Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:24 pm, edited 2 times in total.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
User avatar waynes
Registered Member
Posts
77
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:27 am
Hi Raddison,
As per your last post. I got the update info as a message as soon as I opened up WPS. So I assume that must be what the connection to the server is that you mention. It's the program looking for updates.
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:38 am
waynes wrote:Hi Raddison,
As per your last post. I got the update info as a message as soon as I opened up WPS. So I assume that must be what the connection to the server is that you mention. It's the program looking for updates.

Yeah, probably. The joys of closed-source software. :D


Proud to be powered by Plasma
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:39 pm
@waynes Been using it a little but I'm not particularly impressed. Which do you find better, the latest or the previous version? The latest seems more feature-reach but the previous one felt snappier. Don't know. And was that update forced on you?


Proud to be powered by Plasma
User avatar waynes
Registered Member
Posts
77
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Sat Sep 15, 2018 7:52 pm
I personally find the latest version very snappy. A few more features. Update wasn't forced, I was just informed a newer version was available. Either way I still prefer it to LibreOffice. After LO updated to 6.x.x. I find it dog slow, & not that stable. I'll be sticking to WPS while it has linux support.

A reason you may find it slower. I found I had to delete all the previous config files in my Home folder. It responded much quicker after that.
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Sat Sep 15, 2018 8:00 pm
waynes wrote:I personally find the latest version very snappy. A few more features. Update wasn't forced, I was just informed a newer version was available. Either way I still prefer it to LibreOffice. After LO updated to 6.x.x. I find it dog slow, & not that stable. I'll be sticking to WPS while it has linux support.

A reason you may find it slower. I found I had to delete all the previous config files in my Home folder. It responded much quicker after that.



I've also noticed much more network activity while using the latest version but it's a very capable piece of software for sure. Anyways, thanks.


Proud to be powered by Plasma
linkboy
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:39 pm
I'm having an issue with WPS on a fresh install of Kubuntu 18.04 and I was wondering if someone could help. I have it installed and working properly thanks to raddison.

The issue I'm having is in relation to the default formats for Presentation and Spreadsheet. They're linked together as OLE2 compound document storage and any changes I make to one file type, effects both. I was wondering if anyone knew how to fix them so they'll open in their proper applications.

Thanks again for the help.
User avatar waynes
Registered Member
Posts
77
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Wed Oct 17, 2018 7:46 am
The 4th post down by Miku, should resolve your problem. Be sure to reboot after you have done it.
https://forum.manjaro.org/t/how-to-asso ... ns/33528/5
linkboy
Registered Member
Posts
3
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:03 am
waynes wrote:The 4th post down by Miku, should resolve your problem. Be sure to reboot after you have done it.
https://forum.manjaro.org/t/how-to-asso ... ns/33528/5


Sorry, I should have clarified a bit more. I've got the MS Office formats working properly, it's the default WPS formats that I'm having issues with. Spreadsheet uses a .et format and Presnetation uses a .wpp format. The two formats are linked and I can't set them to open in their respective applications since the changes I make to one, effect both.

It's not a huge deal since I don't plan on using the formats much, I was just wondering if anyone has seen an issue like that.
raddison
Registered Member
Posts
513
Karma
0

Re: WPS Office not working

Thu Mar 21, 2019 1:53 pm
@waynes

How do you find the latest WPS Office released this month (2019-03-09)?

http://wps-community.org/downloads


Proud to be powered by Plasma

 
Reply to topic

Bookmarks



Who is online

Registered users: Baidu [Spider], bartoloni, Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], fullmontis, gfielding, Google [Bot], ianp5a, kyrhammer, mcoudert, thunder422, YaCy [Bot]